We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“West Coast Perfection!”
other travellers have booked this property
Magnificent view of The Salt Lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Magnificent view of The Salt Lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Magnificent view of The Salt Lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Clifden, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“West Coast Perfection!”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We visited Clifden this Easter with 2 young children and stayed in fabulous Dooneen. Before I even start on the house, let me mention how amazing the surrounding country side is, I've posted a photo below of the scenery from our bedroom window. It shows perfectly the unique beauty of Connemara and Clifden. The house itself is spacious, beautifully finished, extremely comfortable and has everything you could need on a trip....and travelling with two children that's saying something! Our hosts were super helpful and gracious and provided a travel cot and baby essentials, gave us excellent local advice on where to eat (great seafood in Mitchell's restaurant and gorgeous breakfasts, healthy lunches and coffee in Steam cafe but they are reviews for another day!) and made us feel very comfortable and at home. The kitchen is gorgeous and very well equipped should you feel like cooking, the bedrooms are filled with little extra touches, cushions, throws and the whole house has a welcoming and relaxing feel. Dooneen is a little outside Clifden but it's an easy and pleasant walk into the town with gorgeous countryside and friendly animals peeking out from fields along the way. If you are thinking of exploring beautiful Clifden village then this is the house for you!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you stay in our house and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Best wishes,
Laura and Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A really super house in a great location; just outside the town of Clifden the three bedroom, three bathroom house has a panoramic view of the surrounding countryside and Ballynakill Lough. The house boasts all the normal needs – washing machine and tumble dryer, dishwasher, large electric Aga oven and gas hob, microwave in a lovely kitchen-diner with lots of space. A large living room for reading or watching the large TV finishes the great package. We had a super week staying here and if returning to Connemara would certainly rent this house again. The photographs on the web site don't do the house justice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Thank you Rita for your lovely comments. It was lovely to meet you all and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes, Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisandD...
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views from this super house”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a super week in Dooneen, Clifden. The house was amazing-stunning views and beautifully presented throughout. The kitchen was exceptionally well equipped and was spacious and comfortable which made eating in a real pleasure. Laura went out of her way to accommodate us and the two babies in our party. Couldn't recommend it highly enough!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thank you Louis and Deirdre for your lovely comments. You and your friends were super house guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary K
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnifique”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A haven of tranquillity yet only a short walk to the bustling town of Clifden. A credit to Kevin and Laura who have created a home to be proud of, over looking a picturesque Atlantic inlet complete with majestic swans and sea trout jumping for flies on summer evenings.
Complete with every modern amenity including powerful WiFi and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, bar my own , so look no further than Swan View Cottage for your stay in Connemara.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view over the salt lake through the front floor to ceiling windows.
Liked least: Poor condition, in places, of the access road to the cottage.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thank you Gary for your lovely feedback and for looking after our house so well. I am delghted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes to you all!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentF...
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely review Marion. It was lovely to meet you and your family and we look forward to welcoming you again next time that you are in Clifden.
Best wishes, Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesZ37
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
Merci Yves. Nous sommes heureux que vous avez apprécié votre séjour dans notre maison . C'était vraiment sympa de te rencontrer. Espérons que vous avez apprécié le reste de vos vacances en Irlande .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing