We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dun Ri the place to be”
Review of Dun Ri Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dun Ri Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dun Ri the place to be”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

For the third time now we have spent a couple of nights (three, this time) in Dun Ri Guest House, Clifden. The fact we return here the last couple of years when we stay in Clifden says it all. A beautiful house with own parking (might be needed in Clifden), nice, clean and spacious rooms. Very kind host and hostess (Michael and Eileen) and an excellent location to explore Clifden as wel as the Connemara and county Galway. If you like to be treated well as a guest who is looking for a good place to stay, book here and you will not be disappointed. Thanks to the good care of the owners, the well served breakfast in the morning and the perfect acommodation, the succes of your stay in Clifden can only become bigger by staying at this place. Located a less than a two minute walk from the center of Clifden where you can find pubs (with live music), restaurants and all kinds of shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013Chris57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    44
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
87
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Dun Ri is a guesthouse and not a B and B. it is more like a little hotel, which is fine, but it lacks the friendliness that you find at Irish B and Bs. Pros: large spacious clean room, very comfortable firm bed, hot shower, very close to town but on a quiet street, generous amounts of parking. Cons: busy breakfast room with a very average breakfast selection - nothing exceptional, no particular charm to the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmmtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed two nights and had a very enjoyable time. Parking is just outside and free, our room was well furnished very clean and comfortable. A good location in town with an easy walk to shops and pubs. Our breakfast was great, would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyndCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

On a very cold and miserable Connemara day when we cancelled plans to go to Inishmore and called in to the Clifden visitor centre for somewhere warm and cosy to stay, how glad we were that they suggested amongst others, Dun Ri Guesthouse. It was indeed, warm, welcoming, well located and with adjacent parking so that we did not have to splash through the rain with cases in hand. Our room was very well appointed and maintained with obvious attention to detail. The family run hosts were helpful and use of their guest computer saved us lugging in electronic devices in the rain. Tea, coffee, a generous biscuit supply, and ample reading material were all supplied, as well as the usual TV, etc. Breakfast was hot and hearty with plenty of staff to look after our needs. We left with fond memories and no complaints. Good value for money too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

A bit pricey for the low season, but the service was ok, the rooms are nice, warm and clean with a "classic Irish family house" like interior, but...the breakfast that is so boasted about at some popular guide books was a disappointment. The quantity of food served is far away from what I know as a "Full Irish Breakfast"... I thought that a "cheese plate" I was served was a starter, but it actually turned out to be the main course! I left the place hungry.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaksei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Excellent location for the money. Room and bathroom nice. Breakfast was wonderful. Would recommend. Loved looking at the sheep behind the hotel! We were greeted warmly and given excellent advice for dinner. I would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmondattorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

It was absolutely lovely. Nice, homely place. Comfortable rooms. Great breakfast. Everybody was so friendly and helpful. We can highly recommend this cute little guesthouse and will be back!
Connemara is so beautiful. The guesthouse is close to the famous Syk Road. Views you will never forget!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.0 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Inn to the West
The Inn to the West
#10 of 45 in Clifden
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dun Ri Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dun Ri Guesthouse

Property: Dun Ri Guesthouse
Address: Clifden, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dun Ri Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal treatment—without paying a king’s ransom. Tucked away in our quiet corner of Clifden, we offer a tranquil haven of rich comfort and classic Irish hospitality—a peaceful refuge just 93 steps from the vibrant buzz of Clifden Town Centre. It’s the ideal location for you and your family to relax and recharge after a day exploring the breath-taking Connemara mountains and seascapes or touring Ireland’s beautiful West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dun Ri Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing