We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dun Ri Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dun Ri Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 50 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent, great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed for one night at Dun Ri and it was lovely. Their location is perfect for the main street of Clifden and as a base for seeing Connemara. The rooms were spotless, with comfy beds that have amazing pillows! The breakfast was really lovely, freshly cooked with eggs just the way you want. Exactly what you want from a Guesthouse.

I would definitely recommend the Dun Ri Guesthouse to anyone wishing to visit Connemara.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    42
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
80
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

If you are going to be in the Clifden area do yourself a favor and stay at Dun Ri Guesthouse. This is a first class place to stay!! The rooms are super clean, and the breakfast is GREAT!!!
Michael and Aileen are wonderful host! This is the place to stay in Clifden--Look no More!!!
A large guest area, with coffee and a TV!
Stay at Dun Ri Guesthouse!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hhwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed for just one night last week. Lovely, comfortable rooms, quiet but very near pubs and shops. Owners very helpful, their eating recommendations good. Despite pouring rain we had a good stay. A real positive was the breakfast: hot, fresh, plenty of choice and delicious. Very good value. Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav10176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed one night at the Dun Ri. The rooms were wonderful--great beds! The guesthouse is in a great location in downtown Clifden, but is far enough away from the pubs and shops to be quiet. The breakfast was good and the innkeeper was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryc93_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Michael is a great innkeeper and very helpful. The building is away from the town centre noise but a 2 minute walk to all the restaurants, pubs and music. There are many rooms to choose from and excellent breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DanielFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here for the Clifden Traditional Music Festival, and we are glad we did. It is only a few steps from the main streets with great bars, shops and restaurants, and yet so tucked away as to be secluded and peaceful. The whole house is clean and well decorated and the rooms are spotless - including the linen on the very comfortable beds. The breakfast facilities are good, and our full Irish was perfectly cooked. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business recently & I was really surprised with the comfort and homely feel about the place.The first thing that hits you when you enter is the lovely smell of peat in the open fire in the reception area.I was greeted by very friendly staff that made me feel very welcome.The room was spacious & spotlessly clean.Breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty.A wonder full place that felt like home from home

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.0 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dun Ri Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dun Ri Guesthouse

Property: Dun Ri Guesthouse
Address: Clifden, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dun Ri Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal treatment—without paying a king’s ransom. Tucked away in our quiet corner of Clifden, we offer a tranquil haven of rich comfort and classic Irish hospitality—a peaceful refuge just 93 steps from the vibrant buzz of Clifden Town Centre. It’s the ideal location for you and your family to relax and recharge after a day exploring the breath-taking Connemara mountains and seascapes or touring Ireland’s beautiful West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dun Ri Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing