We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingstown House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingstown House
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

The Kingstown House is centrally located in the heart of Clifden. Easy to walk to anywhere in town. It is run by Jim, an American, and his Irish born wife, Regina. I believe it has been in her family for a number of years. They were both great and the breakfast was excellent. Personally, I felt the rooms needed some brightening and sprucing up, but my wife loved it. Our room was big, the beds comfortable and overall clean. We had a great night listening to music in one of the local pubs which was in easy walking distance. There is on street parking at the doorstep.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilted2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    26
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
70
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

I decided to stay in Clifden spur of the moment and wandered into the 1st B&B that I came upon. My Irish luck must have been running high because the Kingstown was everything I would want in a B&B. Regina & Jim are genuinely friendly hosts and made me feel very welcome. As others have stated, I don't think anything would be too much trouble for them. Exceptionally nice people.

My room was spacious, clean, tastefully decorated, and the bed was more comfortable than the one I have at home. Slept like a baby. Free WiFi with a strong signal. Roomy shower with plenty of pressure & hot water. I did not use the sitting room but it looked nice and homey. The breakfast room is done up with tables covered with white linens & folded white napkins just like a restaurant. The full Irish is available if you want it. I was happy with cereal, fruit, oj, tea, & toast.

There is free & plentiful parking along Bridge Street. My 2nd night I was able to park directly across from the front door. The location is central to all pubs and restaurants in the small, charming town of Clifden. There is a laundry service just up the street which will deliver your clothes to the B&B. Sky Rd, Kylemore Abbey, and Connemara NP are all a short drive away. Croagh Patrick is only about 45 minutes away using the scenic route. (Took my out of shape butt 5.25 hrs up & down)

I stayed a total of 2 nights and would gladly stay again. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrunkenYank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
138 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

Clean, comfortable rooms and some very kind hosts made this a great choice. Right in the center of town, try Griffins Bar for great craic. Breakfast options include the nicest cheese plate i've seen and that includes France! Best of all, free wifi in rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

Great B&B in most respects, with kind owners and reasonable prices. Rooms are pretty well-appointed and there was even a full-length mirror in the hallway, which is always nice to have. My only complaint would be that it was cold in the rooms, the heat was barely on but we were only there for a night so we survived...Clifden is a nice town with some good pubs and the Connemara has extraordinary scenery. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raincitysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No set address
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

Turns out the young woman knitting was Regina, owner with her husband, Jim. They took us in, my husband and I and another couple with whom we traveled. Totally wonderful! Charming rooms, great hot water, comfy bed, and the breakfast table the next morning was covered with a crisp white cloth, cloth napkins, silver butter holder and a very nice breakfast. It was a lovely beginning to a sunny day. We credit the sunshine to the Kingstown House, with their care, humor, and such attention to detail. This "port in a storm" was our favorite accommodation in Ireland!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homelessx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

This is a rather large B&B in the center of Clifden. I chose it because most places in November have closed for the season. The place was basic with fairly cold rooms, outdated furnishings, small/thin towels and some mold on the walls. But the rooms were also spacious enough and clean and the hosts were friendly. The sitting room looks out onto the street but was a great place to sit by the fire on a cold, icy day. Breakfast was basic but with plenty of food. I'd say there are other places in Clifden better than Kingstown, but if you need a place to stay, or are on a pretty low budget, this place is fine.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Stayed here in November for 3 nights. Highly recommended, very friendly and helpful owners. Clean and warm B and B and best of all pancakes with maple syrup is an option for breakfast!! Delicious. Easy to park Nice decor. Will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.1 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dun Ri Guesthouse
Dun Ri Guesthouse
#10 of 50 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingstown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingstown House

Property: Kingstown House
Address: Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a B&B located within the Town Centre and within easy walking distance of all shops, restaurants and pubs. A long standing family owned B&B - Regina was born and grew up in the house. We take pride in our hospitality and always try to ensure that our guest enjoy their stay. Please ask if we can help out in any way. Kingstown House B&B is located in Clifden, the Capital of Connemara and is wonderful central base for touring all of Connemara. All the bedrooms are located on the first or second floors. If you prefer a room on the first floor, kindly let us know. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing