We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kingstown House - Clifden”
Review of Kingstown House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingstown House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2008

This B&B is centrally located in Clifden which is an ideal base to explore the West of Ireland. Clifden is a quaint little village with a nice high street and a few good restaurants. The B&B is located just off the high street (about one minute's walk), although not noisy at all. Kingstown House is clean, rooms are of a fair size and bathrooms en suite. It is well priced for what you get, which includes a scrumptuous Irish breakfast prepared by Jim. The owners are friendly and will do their utmost to make you feel at home. Keen about the Connemara ponies? Just ask Jim to give you all the information that you will need. We can definitely recommend Kingstown House should you ever be looking for accommodation in that area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nguni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2008

We had a lovely stay at the Kingstown House. It is a clean and comfortable B&B that is within walking distance to everything in town. The full Irish breakfast was a delicious way to start the day, and they had several vegetarian options to choose from. The host and hostess were very accommodating and helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annetastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Upon arriving at Kingstown House, Jim and Regina the owers welcomed us. Their knowledge of the town, its history and places to see was truely helpful.
The rooms were spacious and had a private bathroom, with plenty of room for myself, my husband and my two children. They had a nice sitting area with fresh tea.
Traditional Irish breakfast was out of this world with rashers and sausage and excellent homemade brown bread and jelly.
The sites of sky lane looking over the ocean was spectacular.
close to stores in the town of Cliffton, and easy access to take day bus trips to Galway City .
Thanks for the Great stay. our family will never forget your hospitality and making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrldtravpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

We had a great experience at Kingston House. Great location to explore Clifden and the surrounding area. The rooms were lovely and the breakfast was excellent.
The hosts were very helpful and friendly even sending on something we left behind.
We have already recommended this to friends travelling to the area and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZTripper08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hexenbiest G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank PP6440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michauve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clifden Bay Lodge
Clifden Bay Lodge
#18 of 45 in Clifden
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingstown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingstown House

Address: Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Clifden
Price Range: £74 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a B&B located within the Town Centre and within easy walking distance of all shops, restaurants and pubs. A long standing family owned B&B - Regina was born and grew up in the house. We take pride in our hospitality and always try to ensure that our guest enjoy their stay. Please ask if we can help out in any way. Kingstown House B&B is located in Clifden, the Capital of Connemara and is wonderful central base for touring all of Connemara. All the bedrooms are located on the first or second floors. If you prefer a room on the first floor, kindly let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Kingstown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing