We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enough for a night in Clifden” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingstown House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingstown House
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enough for a night in Clifden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed for a night at this B&B which is right at the city centre in Clifden. Regina greeted us upon our arrival and was very friendly throughout our stay. She gave us maps and directions, and also phoned some guys to check the weather on a trip that we were planning. The rooms are basic but clean and contained all the amenities required. The only faults in the room were that the bed sheets contained several stains, the hair dryer wasn't functional and some power outlets weren't working. Nothing serious, but it would be nice if they are fixed and taken care of.

The breakfast prepared by Regina was excellent! It was freshly cooked and plentiful. There are various options to choose from and the white pudding and jam were delicious.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend a dinner at Marconi, which is just 2 minutes on foot from the B&B. The food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livermagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    26
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
70
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Regina and Jim. Hospitality was first rate, from arrival to departure. Very much enjoyed Regina's home cooking and coffee time in the lounge. The location of their B & B, which we found to be comfy and spotless, was very convenient to the town centre. Their attention to guests needs was exemplary. By far one of our nicest experiences during our trip to Ireland and UK.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We checked in earlier today and I will say that we were early and the hostess generously accommodated us. Our room was ready but the bathroom hadn't been cleaned yet, which was fine. However I noticed the bath smelled strongly of mildew which in my experience doesn't happen overnight, that's something that builds up over time and cleaning wasn't going to fix that. I asked if it would be possible to move to a different room, Regina readily agreed but reminded me the bathroom hadn't been cleaned yet. We moved up to the 3rd floor and were given our choice of rooms. They were all small but it was just for a night so we picked one.
Here's the deal, this place is fine for a night. The beds are hard (that's subjective but I personally don't like hard beds) and the water pressure is so weak I doubt I will be able to wash my hair because I don't think there is enough pressure to get it rinsed. It's an old house, I get it, but again, in comparison to our other experiences at B&B's on this trip, this isn't acceptable to me. The location is good, we reached Kylemore in 18 min. I'd suggest choosing a different place.

Room Tip: I'd suggest asking for a room at the back of the house as this is in town center and you may hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bschoenherz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luck, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Regina and Jim Hopkins B and B was one of the nicest stays I've had in Ireland. They are truly a pleasant and accommodating couple that will help you in every manner regarding your stay with them including whatever suggestions or information you require on driving Connemara. The breakfast is what really shines and I do not believe I have ever stayed at another B+B that actually gives you a menu, spoiled for choice...delightful. The beds were very comfortable for as little time as a I stayed in them and the sitting room was a great spot for a bottle of wine, cheese and wifi catch up and planning day trips

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicopernicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I highly reccommend this B&B to anyone. Everything about it is top class, perfect location, lovely place, spotlessly clean, warm & cosy but top of the list has to be the warm welcome we got from Jim & Regina. It was like visiting family. thanks guys from Derek & Joanne

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westawake2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

The Kingston House is quaint and well maintained with a great central location in Clifden, but what really makes it special are it's owners, Jim and Regina. From the moment we arrived, they did everything they could to help us get parked and settled. They gave us great tips about what to see and do around Clifden, but most of all they were so warm and welcoming they felt like long lost friends. We only spent one night in Clifden, but they made us wish we could have stayed longer! Before we left, Regina served us a delicious breakfast, and she even gave us a copy of the recipe for her yummy homemade scones. We would definitely recommend staying at the Kingston House when visiting Clifden.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WalterFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Normally, one tries to save the best for last. However, that was not the case on our recent vacation in Ireland. My wife and 5 children (the youngest is 19) spent 9 nights in Ireland. It was divided with the first 3 in Clifden, the next 3 in Dingle, and the last 3 in Dublin.
Without a doubt, our stay at the Kingstown House was the best of the three (and the other two places were also very good, BTW). The establishment itself is very charming. It was decorated just like a beautiful older home would be. The rooms were very comfortable, the amenities complete, and the showers nice and hot. There is also free parking just a short walk from the B&B.
The breakfasts were very generous and delicious. I now have a new appreciation for white pudding. In addition to the food itself, our hostess Regina had every detail covered, including silver napkin rings around linen napkins. She also used linen table cloths. These are all things that my wife appreciated.
Speaking of Regina, she and her husband Jim could not have been any nicer. They are both very friendly, always with smiles on their faces, and very helpful, offering us great suggestions on what to see and where to go shopping. My whole family fell in love with them, and we still laugh when thinking about our experience with them.
I would absolutely not hesitate to recommend the Kingstown House to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.1 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dun Ri Guesthouse
Dun Ri Guesthouse
#11 of 50 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingstown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingstown House

Property: Kingstown House
Address: Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a B&B located within the Town Centre and within easy walking distance of all shops, restaurants and pubs. A long standing family owned B&B - Regina was born and grew up in the house. We take pride in our hospitality and always try to ensure that our guest enjoy their stay. Please ask if we can help out in any way. Kingstown House B&B is located in Clifden, the Capital of Connemara and is wonderful central base for touring all of Connemara. All the bedrooms are located on the first or second floors. If you prefer a room on the first floor, kindly let us know. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing