We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the restaurant the locals choose.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marconi's

Marconi's
Ranked #5 of 33 Restaurants in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maldon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“This is the restaurant the locals choose.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We paid two visits for dinner to Marcon's, the first because it was recommended, the second because it was so good the first time!!
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they have an excellent Merlot as a house wine. On the first visit I had an excellent slow roast pork belly followed by a delicious black berry and apple cheesecake..On the second visit grilled breast of duck followed by chocolate lava cake both were superb. I would highly recommend Marconi's.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanMaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    109
    22
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
328 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Nicer the first time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Loved our first visit on a buzzing Sunday night. Staff were attentive, though they did bill us for 5 glasses of wine rather than 3. Next visit on Wednesday was more low-key and poor service. Food pretty good, especially the mussels and the tarte tatin.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice dining experience, but overcooked pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The setting and decor of the restaurant is elegant but comfortable. The staff is very attentive and professional. Like the extra touches: basket of bread on the table, sample of wine before the glass is poured. My husband and I ordered the seafood tagliatelle. The dish was plentiful with a good selection of seafood and a very flavorful cream sauce, but by Italian standards the pasta was much too overcooked and would suit the diet of a person with no teeth.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KitttyKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor all round”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This restaurant had been recommended to us but unfortunately they got the orders wrong on both the kids dinners, the lamb for the main course was not cooked as per our request and they also got the bill wrong. Nice, friendly staff but not run very well I'm afraid

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RFRaheny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Brilliant food, great service and a joyful experience in Clifden. Plus, the restaurant is huge so we managed to find a seat there even though everything else was fully booked on Easter Sunday!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank minkykishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marconi's also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Marconi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing