We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced mediocre food”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Zest Bistro

Zest Bistro
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Shannon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$32
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Zest Bistro was established in May of 2010 and is part of Shannon Knights Bars which was established in 1972. Our idea behind Zest was to offer customers a relaxed casual dining experience in a visually rich environment with fantastic affordable food and excellent customer service. Head chef Clifford Ryan has but together a deliciously tempting menu to suit all tastes. Zest also offers an all-weather outdoor dining area. Zest is open daily from 10am-9pm.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced mediocre food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

€12 for a chicken caesar salad which consisted mainly of salad leaves & €7 for a starter chicken & mushroom vol au vent which was tiny. Ridiculous prices. And it was the day menu which didn't show prices.

Helpful?
5 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shannonknights, Manager at Zest Bistro, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Claire,

Thank you for your recent review of Zest Bistro. We are sorry to hear your experience with us was not to your satisfaction.

We hope to see you again soon at Zest.

Regards

Zest Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    50
    16
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munster
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food, service average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

At here with business colleagues on a Christmas get together. the food is good value and well presented, however there were many items on the menu that were just "off" on the night. There was no explanation beforehand that the menu choices were unavailable and our waiter just said "they are not available so pick something else"!!!
The restaurant opens up into a nightclub so best to eat a bit earlier than we did as we had hardly finished desserts before the crowds came pouring through.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Fish and chips are to die for, nice atmosphere, nice people, lovely staff and a reasonable price, would definitely recommend a trip :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

You are always guaranteed a great feed when you go to Zest Bistro. Staff lovely, always friendly & polite and very accommodating. Love going there, always a great experience

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Give it a miss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

A group of 3, we were returning home after a great day out and decided to get some tasty grub. Unfortunately we decided to go to Zest. We were pretty famished and did some research on tripadvisor for decent eateries. Zest had pretty good ratings and a decent looking menu. On arrival we were greeted by a waiter and brought to what was an unappealing seat in a half full restaurant. The seats were plastic and tacky and would not look out of place in a school canteen. Overall, we spent close to 2 hours here, because the service was so slack. At one stage, we were sitting down with finished plates for nearing 15 minutes. Starters were a highlight, main course's were greasy but veg & mash were quite nice. Desserts were mainly sweet n stodgy and tiramisu was presented in a Smirnoff Mojito glass! Toilets were nice, and it appeared to be a kid & family friendly place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sadbhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shannonknights, Manager at Zest Bistro, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Sadbhy,

Thank you for your review of Zest bistro. Sorry to hear of your recent experience at Zest, this is not the norm here and we pride ourselves on excellent customer service and food.

I am not sure which seats you are referring too in your review. We have a outdoor furniture that we sometimes bring into the bistro.

I hope to see you again soon at Zest!

Regards

E Quish

Zest Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zest Bistro also viewed

Shannon, County Clare
 
Shannon, County Clare
Shannon, County Clare
 
Bunratty, County Clare
 

Been to Zest Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing