We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for overnight stay prior to USA departure”
Review of The Oakwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Certificate of Excellence
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good choice for overnight stay prior to USA departure”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

After reading reviews of other "hotel" options in the area, we decided on Oakwood Arms and were glad we did. Check-in was seamless, the junior suite we'd reserved was ready on arrival. Unfortunately, no elevator in that part of the building but porter service was offered. The room was quite large, very clean and comfortable. At the end of our vacation, we appreciated having a loveseat and soft chair to relax in. We chose the hotel because it also had an on-site restaurant - wanted minimal driving on the night before an early flight out. The food was good (steaks) and plentiful. We were also happy with the option for a continental breakfast prior to 7am, when their normal breakfast service begins.
It was a short drive to the airport, would highly recommend for pre or post flight layover!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    240
    120
    77
    44
See reviews for
206
300
55
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This is a great place to stay for flying out of Shannon airport. We had a large room with 2 twin beds. Bathroom had a shower/tub with great water pressure. There was a TV/computer in room. Wi-fi is free. Use of the computer was 3 euros for 24 hours. We left to early to have the included breakfast. Airport is about 10 minutes away. Bunratty is about a10 min drive. There is a gas station and McDonalds next door. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here on a website deal which gave fantastic value for money. Like the tardis, the hotel appears quite small from the outside but is much larger once inside. There are over 100 bedrooms and a number of conference facilities etc. The room was a good size, clean and well equipped. The bed was excellent, very large and very comfortable.
The hotel staff were lovely, polite, smiley and helpful.
The shower was nicely powerful but unfortunately the temperature wandered a bit. This meant that it started nice and hot but became much colder at intervals during the shower.
The bar is pleasant with generally good food although the chicken curry was a disappointment, too much sauce, not enough chicken and the spices in the sauce were not well blended. At weekends a local family come and play music in the bar which was really nice.
The restaurant was only open for one night of our stay and was completely empty when we went to eat there but we were able to eat the restaurant food in the bar which was busy enough to have an atmosphere. The food was good without being great and was good value at the price.
Here's where the confusion comes in, each time we ate there we ran a tab until the end of the evening and then paid, on each occasion the bill was wrong, once in our favour and twice in the hotel's. They forgot to charge us for a bottle of wine (which I pointed out), they charged us for food we didn't have and then charged us for a dessert which the menu said was included.
When we came to check out they initially tried to charge us for a food and drink bill which we had already paid. All of this was dealt with amicably and corrections were made but it does suggest a system that isn't working and makes one wonder how the hotel stays in business.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donbeshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Having previously stayed in other Bunratty/Shannon area hotels we were looking for a change. And the Oak Wood Arms provided just that. The hotel is deceptively large so it was a bit of a hike to our room (one of the suites at the back of the hotel). But once we figured out the parking lot and the back door access things were better. The room was large and a bit of a step back in time but was comfortable and provided a peaceful sleep. The restaurant provides a very good breakfast with quality food provided, and the best black and white pudding ever eaten in a hotel. We had dinner in the restaurant on our last night and we were not disappointed. In short we will be back.

Room Tip: Very close to the airport and Bunratty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinDToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Martin D Toronto,
Thank you for your review on The Oakwood Arms Hotel and Pier 17 restaurant. It was a pleasure to read that all the team look after you during your stay from the restaurant to reception. Our staffs are our greatest asset to our business and I will certainly pass on your feedback. We will certainly strive to keep up the good work.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Kind Regards
Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Mobile. 086 3747 576

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed one night at the Oak Wood prior to our flight to Edinburgh. The front desk area is not apparent when you enter the hotel, so it was a little confusing. It's also a long circuitous walk from the elevator or stairs to the front desk.

Our room was a decent size with a good-sized bathroom. The bed was comfortable and there is a business center where you can print out your boarding passes. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was offered buffet-style. Fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads and hot dishes were all offered.

There is a gas station next door, so that's very handy for filling up the rental car before returning it at the airport. There is no airport shuttle offered, so you have to take taxi if you're not renting a car.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Calsand,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your good experiences at The Oakwood Arms Hotel. As part of the hotel, policy we read our reviews closely and use them for both employee recognition and to ensure that you our clients are receiving the highest level of service. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team, so they can see how their attention to detail and great customer service pays off. As you are now part of our hotel's history, I hope you will return on your next visit.
My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Mobile. 086 3747 576

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is a great hotel that is close to Shannon Airport. I loved everything about it. The pub was great and my greek salad was divine.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMandieMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
MsMandieMae
I would like to thank you for writing a review on the hotel, our philosophy is great service and quality at affordable prices. We delighted when our guests take time out to express their appreciation and I will be sure to share your comments with our team.

We really hope to welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards
Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Mobile. 086 3747 576

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Room good size, Food very good, Service Excellent,Value for money good,Music on saturday night could have been better,Public Areas need to be checked more often for cleaning, Seats in bar/lounge need cleaning in the crevices of the seats.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
0.6 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
333 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,154 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,291 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakwood Hotel

Property: The Oakwood Hotel
Address: Airport Road, Shannon, Ireland (Formerly Oakwood Arms Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oakwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakwood Hotel is newly refurbished hotel located less than 3 minutes from Shannon Airport. The hotel has 100 well appointed bedrooms with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and free parking for all guests. The hotel is the perfect place to stay for business close to local business district with 100MB Wifi and a warm relaxing newly designed Bar serving food and beverage all evening. The hotel is also the perfect base to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and its surroundings. The hotel is centrally located between Bunratty Castle & The Cliffs of Moher. The Wild Atlantic Way is just a 40 minute drive from the hotel. Bunratty Castle is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. Limerick and Ennis are less than 10 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oakwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Wood Arms Shannon
Hotel Oak Wood Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing