We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific "home-base" while in Shannon”
Review of The Oakwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oakwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

One would be hard-pressed to find better accommodations in Shannon at the price than Oak Wood Arms. Located literally a few minutes from the airport, we found our stay at Oak Wood Arms to be a perfect "home-base" from which to explore much of southern and western Ireland. Our family of four booked adjoining rooms and took advantage of the full-breakfast each day prior to our various day trips. The rooms were clean and comfortable (especially considering the heat-wave being experienced in Ireland at the time).The pub in the lobby was a wonderful place each evening to kick back, have a drink and listen to some live music prior to retiring. The staff members were quite helpful and friendly. As long as you know this isn't a "5-star resort" property...you will be pleased with Oak Wood Arms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfglistens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear jfglistens,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Oakwood Arms Hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Your positive feedback regarding the beautiful hotel, excellent location, spotless bedrooms and fantastic food quality is most rewarding for all the team.
I will be sure to share your feedback with the team, so they can see how their attention to detail and great customer service pays off. We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.

My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Mobile. 086 3747 576

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Booked a family room, upon arrival I was given adjoining rooms instead. I was told the family rooms had been booked!! Raises the question how was I able to book a non existant room? The room was hot but the windows were locked shut. I asked the reception staff to open the window. I was told the manager had to open the window. I returned to the reception over an hour later to again request an open window. The male member of staff who came to my aid was very helpful and brought us a fan to help cool the room. Breakfast was good, parking and access was also good

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geri71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Geri71,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at The Oakwood Arms Hotel. As part of the hotel, policy we read our reviews closely and use them for both employee recognition and to ensure that you our clients are receiving the highest level of service. We really are disappointed when people feel let down with their stay in the hotel. We’re generally better at looking after people and giving good service. I would like to chat directly with you to go through the specifics. My direct contact telephone & email are below
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Mobile. 086 3747 576

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Can't understand how this place has the rating it does. They put smoking rooms across the hall from non-smoking rooms. Guess what? The hallways smell FABULOUS!!!! (not). There is no hot water and the purported A/C doesn't work either. I know it's Ireland and A/C is usually not necessary but it would be nice, if you're supposed to have it, if it worked. On a positive note, the bar was lively. Now if I could only sleep and take a shower. Wait a minute! Maybe that's why there's no hot water! So I can take a freezing cold shower to compensate for no A/C. Genius!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kaidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Although it is a XIX century hotel, the rooms are clean, comfortable and clean.
The location was strategic for us, because it was close to the Moher Cliffs and Burren.
Our staying was short, just 2 days. So, it was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deda78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Deda78,

Thank you for kindly taking the time to write your review on Trip advisor. We are delighted when our guest take time out to express their appreciation .With the location being so close to many of the major attractions as you experience it make a great holiday base . We very much appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you in the Oakwood Arms Hotel in the near future.

We would be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip.

Kind Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here for location. Hotel was much larger than I anticipated. Long hallways and difficulty finding room. Room was nice and clean. The main problem was there were clicking and popping noises in the walls constantly and through the night! (plumbing?). This was very irritating. Shower was hard to regulate and kept turning hot and cold while showering. We had two meals in the bar and the service was extremely slow and inattentive. Each time it took approx 1 1/2 to 2 hrs for a meal and we were very tired and ready to go to bed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceanluvr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear oceanluvr23,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at The Oakwood Arms Hotel. As part of the hotel, policy we read our reviews closely and use them for both employee recognition and to ensure that you our clients are receiving the highest level of service. We have spoken to both the housekeeping & bar manager s in relation to issues raised and appreciate you bring the issues to our attention. Thank you once again for reviewing your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again
My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I regularly eat out and would be considered "particular and not tolerate poor value" but I think the value for money in this hotel, particularly in the dining area is excellent.
Very good entertainment also at the hotel with very high standards recorded

Room Tip: Drop in anytime and don't be afraid to tell them what you think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merc350sl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Good afternoon PKOK1888,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Oakwood Arms Hotel. I am extremely happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments all of which I will be happy to report back to all members of the team here at the Oakwood. Thank you also for your kind recommendations. We sincerely hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you and yours again very soon

My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Mobile. 086 3747 576

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Lovely looking hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. We had a family room which was essentially a suite with a large bedroom (could sleep 5) and a reasonably large lounge area. Not sure if we got the usual price for the family room but it was very good value. On the downside, there wasn't a lot of natural light, just one window in the lounge area. The electrics were a bit flaky (dangerous?): sockets that wouldn't allow a plug to be fully inserted and some small gaps in the wall around the fittings. For the size of the suite the bathroom, while adequate, seemed a bit small and the plumbing wasn't always terribly effective and could be very noisy. Despite the plumbing, the shower was great, albeit let down by a curtain rather than glass panel.

My biggest complaint would be the breakfast. They tended to make lots at a time and it would then dry up as it waited for guests to arrive and eat it. At no point while we were there was the dining area ever close to capacity so the food became increasingly unappetising (rubbery eggs; brick hard black pudding; curled up cheese slices, etc.). They need to get the balance right so that food is prepared almost fresh even in a buffet-style environment. I also couldn't understand why they would offer hash browns in preference to the far superior Irish potato cakes - a real disappointment.

We were there for a wedding and the food at that function was more than acceptable. There is meant to be a health suite but we never found it. I'm sure it exists but the hotel is a bit of a maze.

Room Tip: We were at the far end of the hotel so pretty much unaffected by noise. I'm not sure that would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PKOK1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear PKOK1888,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at The Oakwood Arms Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that all the team look after you during your stay from the restaurant to reception. Our staffs are our greatest asset to our business and I will certainly pass on your feedback on the breakfast to our head chef and also to our accommodation manager regarding the issues rasied .We will certainly strive to keep up the good work .
Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Kind Regards
Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Mobile. 086 3747 576

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
0.5 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
355 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,577 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,308 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakwood Hotel

Address: Airport Road, Shannon, Ireland (Formerly Oakwood Arms Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Price Range: £58 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oakwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakwood Hotel is newly refurbished hotel located less than 3 minutes from Shannon Airport. The hotel has 100 well appointed bedrooms with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and free parking for all guests. The hotel is the perfect place to stay for business close to local business district with 100MB Wifi and a warm relaxing newly designed Bar serving food and beverage all evening. The hotel is also the perfect base to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and its surroundings. The hotel is centrally located between Bunratty Castle & The Cliffs of Moher. The Wild Atlantic Way is just a 40 minute drive from the hotel. Bunratty Castle is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. Limerick and Ennis are less than 10 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Oakwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Wood Arms Shannon
Hotel Oak Wood Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing