We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Shannon”
Review of The Oakwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oakwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel is just beautiful, lots of oak everywhere. Very comfortable. And the staff could not have been nice or more helpful. It is a great place to spend an overnight when you have a morning flight out of Shannon. The airport is a short cab ride away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear bonnie c,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at The Oakwood Arms Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that all the team looked after you during your stay from the restaurant to reception. Our staffs are our greatest asset to our business and I will certainly pass on your feedback We will certainly strive to keep up the good work .
Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Kind Regards
Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just needed a place near the airport for our flight to the States.
Friendly safe. Clean and comfortable room. Even a fitness center with wet and dry saunas!
If you need an American fix, there is a McDonald's next door.
Love all of the old airline memorabilia

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear C S,

Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Trip advisor.
Our philosophy is great service and quality at affordable prices. We delighted when our guest take time out to express their appreciation and I will be sure to share your comments with our team.
We very much appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you in the Oakwood Arms Hotel in the near future.

We would be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip.

Kind Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

There is no soundproofing at all, I requested a quiet room and was put in the back of the hotel but after the screaming, running children went to bed the drunks took over. I could hear walking above and singing laughing and talk in the hall. Got little sleep for an early morning flight. stay away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear jgscott,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. I apologise sincerely that you found it difficult to get a good night’s sleep prior to your early flight; I wish to assure you that this is certainly not the usual experience of our guests. We are pleased that many other aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction and the overall you enjoyed your stay.
We have addressed your feedback with all the Team here and in particular our Front Office Team in relation to the room allocation. We hope that you will consider returning to us again in the future.

My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Mobile. 086 3747 576

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

fantastic hotel for a wedding , my daughter had her reception. here last Saturday it was beautiful . the food was first class , reception room was lovely , couldent meet nicer staff anyware hotel rooms were spotless I would recommend this hotel to any one , ps thanks to ria for everything you did for us on the day xxx

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deelimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear deelimerick,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely personal review on your daughter’s recent wedding. Our wedding planners at the hotel strive to ensure that each couple experience their dream day right from the beginning. It is a great pleasure to read such kind words about the hotel and the various departments and the staff you encountered.
The Oakwood Arms Hotel had its origins as a family owned run business and we enjoy creating that special bond with each couple. Your daughter and son in law are now part of our extended family and we look forward to welcoming you all back on any occasion that you are in the area.

Kind Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

For a one night stay I was satisfied but not pleased. There was mold in the shower and and the shower went from freezing to scalding on its own. Decent attached bar and restaurant. Pleasant enough staff. Strange to see linens in the halls but I guess that's just an Ireland hotel thing.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Justin G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at The Oakwood Arms Hotel. As part of the hotel, policy we read our reviews closely and use them for both employee recognition and to ensure that you our clients are receiving the highest level of service. We have had housekeeping manager review the room and appreciate you bring the issue to our attention. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team, so they can see how their attention to detail and great customer service pays off.
My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, the rooms were very comfortable and clean, we found all the staff to be very polite, friendly and helpful,especially Mansha on reception. we ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent i take my hat off to the chef, my only small complaint would be that there was no entertainment in the bar, i will definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends and will stay there again myself.

lisa

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear lisa t,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. As always we are thrilled when our guests enjoy their stay with us. We deeply value your relationship with the Oakwood Arms Hotel and are committed to providing our guests with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.
We very much appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you in the Oakwood Arms Hotel in the near future

My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

One would be hard-pressed to find better accommodations in Shannon at the price than Oak Wood Arms. Located literally a few minutes from the airport, we found our stay at Oak Wood Arms to be a perfect "home-base" from which to explore much of southern and western Ireland. Our family of four booked adjoining rooms and took advantage of the full-breakfast each day prior to our various day trips. The rooms were clean and comfortable (especially considering the heat-wave being experienced in Ireland at the time).The pub in the lobby was a wonderful place each evening to kick back, have a drink and listen to some live music prior to retiring. The staff members were quite helpful and friendly. As long as you know this isn't a "5-star resort" property...you will be pleased with Oak Wood Arms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfglistens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear jfglistens,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Oakwood Arms Hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Your positive feedback regarding the beautiful hotel, excellent location, spotless bedrooms and fantastic food quality is most rewarding for all the team.
I will be sure to share your feedback with the team, so they can see how their attention to detail and great customer service pays off. We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.

My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Mobile. 086 3747 576

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,483 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,647 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakwood Hotel

Address: Airport Road, Shannon, Ireland (Formerly Oakwood Arms Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Price Range: £67 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oakwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakwood Hotel is newly refurbished hotel located less than 3 minutes from Shannon Airport. The hotel has 100 well appointed bedrooms with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and free parking for all guests. The hotel is the perfect place to stay for business close to local business district with 100MB Wifi and a warm relaxing newly designed Bar serving food and beverage all evening. The hotel is also the perfect base to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and its surroundings. The hotel is centrally located between Bunratty Castle & The Cliffs of Moher. The Wild Atlantic Way is just a 40 minute drive from the hotel. Bunratty Castle is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. Limerick and Ennis are less than 10 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oakwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Wood Arms Shannon
Hotel Oak Wood Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing