We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OAKWOOD ARMS HOTEL SHANNON COUNTY CLARE IRELAND”
Review of The Oakwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oakwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Spent four nights at the Oakwood Arms Hotel the staff are absolutely fantastic, all the guys on the reception, Susan, Brid in the Restaurant and the staff in the Bar, the Owner should be very proud of his staff, they all do a brilliant job. Breakfast was more than enough to say the least, as usual took to much, lots of varieties from standard cereals, fruit to a full irish which was always piping hot. The rooms are fine could do with a bit of a vamp in the bathroom, the bed was soo comfortable, we stayed in room 236 and it was massive again like to thank all the staff. I work in the travel industry myself and the staff really couldnt do enough for you. Would definately stay again. good job guys well done :))))

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

we spent a week end in this hotel on a dealrush offer and felt it was great value for money. we had upgraded to a suite which was spacious, clean and comfortable. we ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay and felt the food was good for the price. the staff in the restaurant were particularly helpful and pleasant which added to the enjoyment of the trip. it is in a good location to explore county Clare and for Shannon airport.

Room Tip: the suite was not very much extra and was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

After another 2 night stay on the 1st & 2nd September 2013, It was a pleasant experience once again

In my humble opinion, this hotel has a lot going for it and a few minor issues which should be looked at

Without doubt, the staff at the Oakwood arms are superb, They are friendly, knowledgeable and courteous.

The hotel is a superb location for visiting County Clare and is about a 5 minute drive from Shannon Airport

We found the restaurant good vale with good food, but it closes at 9PM at night, its not open on Sunday nor bank holiday evenings, which is strange. "Sophie's Lounge" is the bar in the hotel and bar food can be had here if the restaurant is closed.

On the evening of 2nd Sept we walked into an almost empty restaurant at 8Pm to be told it was fully booked out and told politely that we could eat in the bar if we wished.... this was all very well, except that the restaurant was as good as empty and we saw no "big group" going in later

A couple of small niggly things that really should not happen in any hotel were evident ...

Supplied towels were old and worn, although clean and fresh.. but worn and old!

Some tiles in the bathroom require replacing, and the shower was awkward to control

Some of the rooms are seriously lacking in power points, especially beside the beds. The power points beside our beds had 3 pin ROUND plugs, something I have not seen for years and are useless for plugging anything into

The staircase to the 2nd level rooms nearest the reception area really needs to have an automated light switch. On a few of our stays we used these stairs when there were no lights illuminating the stairs. Either they are set to come on too late or are switched on too late

Overall though, I would and will stay again. The hotel has a lovely "Old World" atmosphere to it, has personality AND some of the best staff of any hotel I have stayed at. It most definitely has none of the clinical, staid appearances of more modern hotels

I know I have pointed out some issues, but overall I do like the place and will have no hesitation in staying again

A note to the hotel management .. please give me extra power points in my room and lastly, "Keith" (Hope I have his name correct) in the bar is a gem., I hope you realise how lucky you are to have such a courteous, good humored and friendly guy working for you

Room Tip: Try the "Hot Chicken" salad starter ..... its amazing The free WiFi is great and worked w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flame01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to departing from the Shannon airport.

We felt it had potential, but just wasn't where it could be. The rooms are nice sized, but not the cleanest, and the towels look like they have had much better days (dingy and yellow).

The food was not good, so look for something else nearby.

The staff are very kind and helpful, which is why it has so much potential.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank csgerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

On the plus side, food and staff were very good and the hotel is in a good location. BUT, the first room smelled so bad, we had to ask for another room. Receptionist was very prompt in giving us a second room and that one smelled ok. Hotel has a very odd layout. There are two stories and an elevator but one still has to carry luggage up and down at least 6 steps for the rooms we were assigned. Shower control knob came off in the shower but was still able to use the shower. Water pressure and temperature changed dramatically without touching anything and then could not turn off the shower until the control knob was put back on. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, make sure you get a room that does not require using stairs. Need to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLH585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is close to the Shannon airport but is in need of remodeling. Our party had three different rooms and each of them had issues. In order to get to the rooms we had to walk up several stairs, then take an elevator up one floor and then walk down some stairs. This made it difficult for all of us with our luggage, especially the seniors in our group. The food, however, in the dining room was good and the waiter also provided good service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyJohnsonAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed one night because it was very close to the Shannon airport and had an early flight. Rooms were very much in need of updating. Towels in bathroom were in very poor condition.
Shower did not work properly. Could only get cold water out of the shower. Rooms were on the second floor and even though there is an elevator, there were five or six steps that needed to be navigated with luggage. Very inconvenient. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RL4543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,489 reviews
10 mi away
Old Ground Hotel Ennis
2.5 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakwood Hotel

Address: Airport Road, Shannon, Ireland (Formerly Oakwood Arms Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Price Range: £66 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oakwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakwood Hotel is newly refurbished hotel located less than 3 minutes from Shannon Airport. The hotel has 100 well appointed bedrooms with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and free parking for all guests. The hotel is the perfect place to stay for business close to local business district with 100MB Wifi and a warm relaxing newly designed Bar serving food and beverage all evening. The hotel is also the perfect base to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and its surroundings. The hotel is centrally located between Bunratty Castle & The Cliffs of Moher. The Wild Atlantic Way is just a 40 minute drive from the hotel. Bunratty Castle is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. Limerick and Ennis are less than 10 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Wood Arms Shannon
Hotel Oak Wood Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing