We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oakwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oakwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here from 8th to 10th November on a Dealrush deal. €99 for 2 people for 2 nights B+B with a 3 course meal included.

Check-in was quick and efficient despite arriving at 11pm on Friday night. Room was big, roomy and fully equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, a plasma tv with internet. Although free on-demand movies was advertised this wasn't working the weekend I stayed. The room was toasty warm and spotlessly clean. Although the bathroom was a little dated it was fully functional and everything in working order.

The hotel has an aeronautical with vintage RAF uniforms and old ads for airlines and aeroplanes lining the corridors, interesting stuff for those with a love for all things aeronautical! Breakfast was served in the restaurant - a full Irish buffet with everything you could ask for all hot and cooked perfectly.

The dinner that was included was the real surprise of this stay. The restaurant was beautifully presented, the staff were efficient and polite and the food - amazing. I had the goats cheese starter followed by hog duo and my other half went for the barbary duck and apple tart dessert. I can honestly say I've been to restaurants that would charge the €99 just for this dinner and not present as good a meal as Pier 17 restaurant did. Both the hog and the duck were quality meat cuts, cooked to perfection and plentiful in size.

Following the meal we retired to the bar for a couple of after-dinner drinks, again staff were efficient and polite, the drinks were really reasonably priced and on the Saturday night that we were present a trad group played excellently in the bar for the enjoyment of patrons.

The hotel's location is perfect for anyone staying over for a flight from Shannon airport. It's a few minute's drive from Bunratty castle, Ennis, Ennistimon, the Ailwee caves and within 30 minute's drive of Lahinch, Doolin, Lisdoonvarna etc etc.

Just to point out I have no affiliation whatsoever with this hotel or Dealrush, just wanted to compliment the Oakwood on an excellent weekend at a simply amazing price. In my opinion, during a difficult economic time, any business like this that's really giving it everything to keep going deserves to have their hard work publicised.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    228
    116
    72
    40
See reviews for
189
284
54
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Wonderful rustic lodging, lots of airline & aircraft history on walls. (interesting to us as husband retired from customer service of an airline) Very large interior surroundings, all very interesting with huge amounts of paintings and pictures on walls. Room and bath large and nice (bath had warm water from cold faucet). Desk staff very cordial and helpful (not too many tours from hotel, seems like Limerick is the origin for most of the tour operators, but cab to airport or Bunratty Castle only 10 euros). Did not eat at Restaurant, but Sofia's Lounge was superb. Great food and wait staff excellent. Excellent value for price paid.

Room Tip: Very quiet on 2nd floor, but stayed in off-season,(early November) so can't comment too much dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreekladyNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just back from weekend break in oak wood arms, shannon. Lovely hotel, but a little dated! When we checked in we were offered "smoking" or non smoking! I thought this was done away with, but my hubby being a smoker opted for the smoking, and boy would you know it!! It reeked of smoke. The room itself was very small but comfortable. However, the decor is very 70's! and the sink in the bathroom was cracked all the way across. Not a good look! The tv was advertised as having free movies whenever you wanted, but this didnt work! Despite many calls to reception, and they did deal with it promptly, it still didnt work! Pity there is no pool either, as having a steam and sauna seems crazy without a pool?? The service was excellent, friendly staff, always happy to help. The food was also excellent, and very reasonable. We ate in the bar on saturday afternoon, and the menu was lovely. When the meal arrived it also was gorgeous. There was music in the bar saturday night, a traditional band with harp and violins and accordions, but no mike! Hard to hear the guy singing.Very near to shannon airport, but otherwise no town as such to shop! Enjoyed out stay, but as it was lashing we were a little bored stuck in our small hotel room and no pool or leisure centre to hang out! Would not go back!

Room Tip: Dont go for smoking rooms, as we think you get a small dingy room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Springs poking out of the side of the twin bed mattress scratched my leg. The shower didn't drain which meant one stood in water. Light covers were missing in bathroom, and no a/c. The cincher was it was billed as an airport hotel but had no commuter service. Taxi service was $15 to the a/p, about 15 min away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller1947291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

stayed here for two nights recently and we had a lovely time friendly and helpful staff lovely breakfast and charming hotel,we used it as a base for visiting bunratty castle and we were glad we did overall i have no complaints about this hotel and would recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinek138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fermoy, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights because we got a super deal which included 2x nights B&B and dinner! When we arrived we were given a smallish double room which was very clean but was very dated. Chipped paint was evident etc....! Following some drinks in the bar we returned to our room smelling of cigarette smoke! As we don't smoke I found this hugely surprising and wondered if someone had entered our room. Rang Reception & they were extremely helpful & following a check of the CCTV assured us no one had entered our room. However they also decided to move us and " upgrade" us to the " bebhinn suite". This was a much bigger room and thankfully a lot warmer than our previous room. On the downside though this room was also terribly outdated and grotty. The worst part of the room though was a freaky picture of a young girl that looked like something out of the film the "exorcism of Emilyrose"!!! She followed me around the room whereever I went and when I slept!!! Get rid of this picture!!! The service was super however & I must commend the food! We are both very fussy eaters & like to eat in the best restaurants but I must say that dinner in the hotel was excellent - we were really surprised!!!! Can't fault the staff- top class customer service but the decor is hugely outdated and a bit if a turn off and that picture has to go ASAP!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edujbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at Oak Wood Arms Hotel the last night in Ireland for our Honeymoon because it was so close and convenient to the Shannon Airport since we had a very early flight out the next morning. We were VERY HAPPY with our choice! The food was decent in the pub and we had a few Guinness as well of course! Quiet stay and we got a great night's sleep! Very satisfied at how easy it was to get to the airport early the next morning!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motown07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
2.8 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakwood Hotel

Property: The Oakwood Hotel
Address: Airport Road, Shannon, Ireland (Formerly Oakwood Arms Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oakwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakwood Hotel is newly refurbished hotel located less than 3 minutes from Shannon Airport. The hotel has 100 well appointed bedrooms with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and free parking for all guests. The hotel is the perfect place to stay for business close to local business district with 100MB Wifi and a warm relaxing newly designed Bar serving food and beverage all evening. The hotel is also the perfect base to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and its surroundings. The hotel is centrally located between Bunratty Castle & The Cliffs of Moher. The Wild Atlantic Way is just a 40 minute drive from the hotel. Bunratty Castle is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. Limerick and Ennis are less than 10 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Wood Arms Shannon
Hotel Oak Wood Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing