We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so disappointed”
Review of The Oakwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oakwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Certificate of Excellence
Newtownards
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“so disappointed”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here on Grab One offer and as we had stayed last year on same offer and extremely pleased with it decided to do it again. Room and reception staff was good but when we went for our dinner which was included in the offer , that's when things went downhill. I ordered soup as a starter , but when the barman brought over 4 sets of knives and forks I thought he didn't know I had ordered soup. The Manageress , Ricah , a lovely lady , brought the soup and soup spoon as she said she noticed he hadn't brought one. When my steak arrived , served by barman , I asked him for a steak knife , he looked at me and said , did you use it for your starter? A steak knife to eat soup!!!!!!!!!!!. The meals were an absolute disaster ,everything seemed to be reheated in microwave and was inedible. The waitress took it away and showed it to Manageress who said we could have one the following night to replace it. Alas , it was just as bad , steak so tough , definitely not sirloin and vegetables were almost raw and definitely supermarket prepacked ones were used , not fresh ones. Breakfast has also gone downhill from our last visit in August last year and I doubt if I would return.
R.Murray

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Ref Customer Feedback
Dear Robert,

As a team, The Oakwood Arm Hotel takes pride in ensuring our customer's satisfaction,unfortunately we did not meet your or our own expectations on the weekend of your stay. Upon a thorough review of the situation, the General Manager, has spoken to both the, head chef & bar manager, Richa who you meet during your .We have to accept complete responsibility for the issues raised.
I honestly appreciate you bringing this to our attention so that other guests do have the same experience
We deeply value your relationship with the Oakwood Arms Hotel and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.
I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally perhaps you can email me your contact details.

Once again that you for understanding

My Kindest Regards
Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Mobile. 086 3747 576

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    238
    120
    77
    44
See reviews for
205
299
54
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nenagh, Tipperary, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight here as was at a function in the hotel. Extremely impressive hotel. Staff really friendly and helpful. Hotel well maintained and loved the old aviation themed pictures around the hotel. Meal at event was well cooked & the lemon sole divine. Bedroom very comfortable with air conditioning that was easy to use. Room was a very long walk from reception down several corridors up a short flight of steps then up in a lift and along more corridors so if you have difficulty walking I would suggest you request a room nearer reception. Otherwise absolutely no complaints and would highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Viv O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island. NY
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here one night before leaving to come back to the States. There were basically 2 hotel choices, this or Bunratty Castle hotel. Since we had no hot water at Bunratty several days before, this was the only choice.

Hotel is very dark, with dark wood everywhere. Many antiques in public areas. Check in took longer than expected. We had requested a king bed , none was available. We were given a room way in the back of the hotel on the first floor.

The room decorations are tired and need updating. The big issue we had was that we felt unsafe in the room. The air conditioning wasn't working or on and the room was brutally hot. The only way to cool off was open the window but the window had no screen and would have been extremely easy for someone to climb in. I spent quite a sleepless night with that window open because it was so hot with no air conditioning.

We had breakfast the next morning which was just okay and checked out.

I wouldn't stay here again nor would we recommend this hotel for a client.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank promal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were very disappointed at the hotel
We found it rather tired and certainly in need of a major face lift
We paid extra for a suite only to find that the room was only 10 percent larger and had a grubby settee and chair although it did have a king bed
The bathroom was extremely small and not more than one person could get in.
We had hoped to stay for extra nights but moved on because we had a disturbed sleep on two nights owing to rowdy wedding guests.
Breakfast was a bit disorganised and noisy and offering was poor fruit served was all tinned
On web site it looks like the hotel has 3 different restaurants but beware there is only one

Room Tip: Stay at different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Pete j

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent stay with us at the Oakwood Arms Hotel. As part of the hotel, policy we read our reviews closely and use them for both employee recognition and to ensure that you, our clients are receiving the highest level of service.
We really are disappointed when people feel let down with their stay in the hotel. We’re generally better at looking after people and giving good service. We have spoken directly with the chef and gone through the specifics of the issues raised. We’ve taken everything said on board and will continue to try drive the consistency
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.

My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Mobile. 086 3747 576

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in this very nice and homely hotel on Saturday & Sunday night. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist, May. Our room was ok, clean but unfortunately we could only have a twin room as the hotel was fully booked with a wedding. We had a voucher for a meal and the food was delicious, and was presented so well, nothing left on the plates afterwards ! we were served by very friendly staff, especially Kris. I noticed he had time to chat and interact with all the guests, a nice touch. We had a couple of drinks in the bar earlier and afterwards, however the only slight critism was the lack of attention of some of the bar staff on Sunday evening. The one big thing that I would say to enhance their business is PLEASE REPAIR YOUR SIGN AT THE FRONT AS THE HOTEL NAME IS MISSING. otherwise, thanks for a lovely and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: As most of the rooms are on the ground level and some very close to the reception area, if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Cathy D
Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Oakwood Arms Hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Your positive feedback regarding the staff , excellent location, bedrooms and fantastic food quality is most rewarding for all the team. During the recent storms our hand crafted hotel sign was badly damaged and is currently being restored to its former glory and should be in place within the next few days.
I will be sure to share your feedback with the team, so they can see how their attention to detail and great customer service pays off. We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.

My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Mobile. 086 3747 576
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

It had been almost four years since my last stay. But the hotel has maintained the quality/hospitality that it demonstrated on that first trip. For the difference in price if you are an overseas traveler, I recommend a suite to repack and relax in advance of the journey home. Having staying elsewhere and driving in for air departure, the Oakwood is now all I will consider.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OleMissbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear OleMissbanker

Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Trip advisor.
Our philosophy is great service and quality at affordable prices. We delighted when our guest take time out to express their appreciation and I will be sure to share your comments with our team.
We very much appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you in the Oakwood Arms Hotel in the near future.

We would be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip.

Kind Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Email sales@oakwoodarms.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We celebrated my sisters 60th birthday party on Saturday the 8th March 2014 I have only praise for this Hotel. Management and Staff where superb. The function ran smoothly without a hitch, food was Excellent and the service was of a 5 star standard. Would highly recommend this hotel. Special mention to Frances and Rita.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Gina S,

Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on trip advisor following your recent family celebration.
Our philosophy is great service and quality at affordable prices. We delighted when our guest take time out to express their appreciation and I will be sure to share your comments with our team.
We very much appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you in the Oakwood Arms Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oakwood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
0.6 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
333 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,151 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,283 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakwood Hotel

Property: The Oakwood Hotel
Address: Airport Road, Shannon, Ireland (Formerly Oakwood Arms Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oakwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakwood Hotel is newly refurbished hotel located less than 3 minutes from Shannon Airport. The hotel has 100 well appointed bedrooms with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and free parking for all guests. The hotel is the perfect place to stay for business close to local business district with 100MB Wifi and a warm relaxing newly designed Bar serving food and beverage all evening. The hotel is also the perfect base to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and its surroundings. The hotel is centrally located between Bunratty Castle & The Cliffs of Moher. The Wild Atlantic Way is just a 40 minute drive from the hotel. Bunratty Castle is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. Limerick and Ennis are less than 10 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Oakwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Wood Arms Shannon
Hotel Oak Wood Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing