We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oakwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oakwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Bois Colombes, France
Level Contributor
156 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

What to say .... there's only 3 hotels in Shannon , so the choice is extremely limited.
From the other reviews this is the "best" hotel in Shannon , ok , but best does not mean great.
This will be ok for a couple of nights but I would get seriously depressed if I had to stay for more than this.
There's nothing really wrong in that hotel , but everyting is so old fashion ,dark and tired : the rooms , the corridors , the breakfast ....
The bar is probably the "best" part of the hotel , I mean the most "lively" part.
I was happy that I only had to stay for a couple of days there.
At least , it was not too expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roybe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    226
    113
    71
    41
See reviews for
185
282
53
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a business trip for three nights . Room was comfortable and very clean. The staff is very friendly and professional. They really made me feel welcome. Went for dinner, chef had excellent menu and good preparation. I would definitely recommend them for a good stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. All of the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel and our room was very clean with everything we needed. The bathroom was spotlessly clean. The breakfasts are excellent with lots of choice of well cooked and fresh food.
The location is convenient and atmospheric- 10 mins walk from town with lots of bars, restaurants, shops etc.
Overall it was a great experience and definitely will recommend others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nitin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

arrived on a sunday all though part of our offer was free meal the restraunt was closed which was a let down after travelling all day we had bar food instead we had to wait 45 minutes for our food but food was good a little overpriced barman keith was very friendly however him and many of the customers was talking about other members of staff and guests which i found very rude room was very hot and we couldnt open the windows as they were locked booked to use the sauna but wasnt working breakfast was awful burned and no taste decor very out of date no entertaintment the two nights we were there very disappointing wont be going back awful trip

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Christine

As a team, The Oakwood Arm Hotel takes pride in ensuring our customer's satisfaction; unfortunately we did not meet your or our own expectations on the weekend of your stay. Upon a thorough review of the situation, the General Manager, has spoken to both the, head chef & bar manager, Richa who you meet during your .We have to accept complete responsibility for the issues raised.
I honestly appreciate you bringing this to our attention so that other guests do have the same experience
We deeply value your relationship with the Oakwood Arms Hotel and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.
I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally perhaps you can email me your contact details.
Once again that you for understanding
My Kindest Regards
Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Mobile. 086 3747 576

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I love coming to do business in shannon just because I get to stay in my favorite hotel in ireland. I always seem to get a brilliant nights sleep here.
Saying that there are a couple of things stopping this hotel from getting a 5/5 review. The breakfast is of a really poor quality for the price of the rooms and the decor is getting a bit tired now although the hotel is always clean. I can't comment on the restaurant as I eat in the bar but the food ordered in the bar is always good if not a little pricey.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here on Grab One offer and as we had stayed last year on same offer and extremely pleased with it decided to do it again. Room and reception staff was good but when we went for our dinner which was included in the offer , that's when things went downhill. I ordered soup as a starter , but when the barman brought over 4 sets of knives and forks I thought he didn't know I had ordered soup. The Manageress , Ricah , a lovely lady , brought the soup and soup spoon as she said she noticed he hadn't brought one. When my steak arrived , served by barman , I asked him for a steak knife , he looked at me and said , did you use it for your starter? A steak knife to eat soup!!!!!!!!!!!. The meals were an absolute disaster ,everything seemed to be reheated in microwave and was inedible. The waitress took it away and showed it to Manageress who said we could have one the following night to replace it. Alas , it was just as bad , steak so tough , definitely not sirloin and vegetables were almost raw and definitely supermarket prepacked ones were used , not fresh ones. Breakfast has also gone downhill from our last visit in August last year and I doubt if I would return.
R.Murray

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Ref Customer Feedback
Dear Robert,

As a team, The Oakwood Arm Hotel takes pride in ensuring our customer's satisfaction,unfortunately we did not meet your or our own expectations on the weekend of your stay. Upon a thorough review of the situation, the General Manager, has spoken to both the, head chef & bar manager, Richa who you meet during your .We have to accept complete responsibility for the issues raised.
I honestly appreciate you bringing this to our attention so that other guests do have the same experience
We deeply value your relationship with the Oakwood Arms Hotel and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.
I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally perhaps you can email me your contact details.

Once again that you for understanding

My Kindest Regards
Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Mobile. 086 3747 576

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenagh, Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight here as was at a function in the hotel. Extremely impressive hotel. Staff really friendly and helpful. Hotel well maintained and loved the old aviation themed pictures around the hotel. Meal at event was well cooked & the lemon sole divine. Bedroom very comfortable with air conditioning that was easy to use. Room was a very long walk from reception down several corridors up a short flight of steps then up in a lift and along more corridors so if you have difficulty walking I would suggest you request a room nearer reception. Otherwise absolutely no complaints and would highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Viv O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
2.8 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakwood Hotel

Property: The Oakwood Hotel
Address: Airport Road, Shannon, Ireland (Formerly Oakwood Arms Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oakwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakwood Hotel is newly refurbished hotel located less than 3 minutes from Shannon Airport. The hotel has 100 well appointed bedrooms with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and free parking for all guests. The hotel is the perfect place to stay for business close to local business district with 100MB Wifi and a warm relaxing newly designed Bar serving food and beverage all evening. The hotel is also the perfect base to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and its surroundings. The hotel is centrally located between Bunratty Castle & The Cliffs of Moher. The Wild Atlantic Way is just a 40 minute drive from the hotel. Bunratty Castle is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. Limerick and Ennis are less than 10 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Oakwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Wood Arms Shannon
Hotel Oak Wood Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing