We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming place”
Review of The Oakwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oakwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My colleagues and I stayed in this hotel for more than two months (midOctober-November-December 2013) while being in Shannon on a business trip.
The hotel is absolutely lovely with its antique interior and old-fashioned decorations! My room was located on the ground floor, rather big and very cosy :)
All the stuff were very friendly, helpful and nice, loved them! And what's more, I got a lovely present for Christmas - a box of chocolates and a greeting card signed by all guys working there! That was so sweet! And the Christmas dinner was amazing!
The food was very tasty, though I had only B&B, I often went to the hotel restaurant after work to have dinner there.
There's also a gym, a room with computers and printers, some meeting rooms in the hotel.
What was also very important, I never had any problems with the Internet there: good wi-fi connection in the room.
All the rooms have either an air conditioner or a radiator (which was very useful in winter).
The only disadvantages were two different taps for cold and hot water in the sink in the bathroom, and no fridge in the room, though there was a kettle.
There's a big shopping centre SkyCourt nearby, a Lidl supermarket, a petrol station, a bus stop, a McDonald's cafe, and a beauty salon Beaty Rooms... So everything one might need for living :)
In general, I would recommend staying in this hotel, you will surely enjoy it. A very charming and comfortable place!

Room Tip: Try to choose the farthest ones if you don't want to be disturbed by people walking along the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

we had booked to stay for two nights at this hotel and to say what a disappointment is an understatement ,our room was so stuffy we could barely breathe and that was leaving the window open all night,the bathroom was like something under renovation with lights over the mirror without shades on them and the toilet roll holder inside the door on the wall which meant you take the toilet paper before you sit on the toilet otherwise you would need an extendable arm to reach it .the worst part of our stay was the breakfast the food was sparse and what was available was dried up and cold we ended up having toast which was an ordeal in itself as it had to go in to the toaster machine four times to get a bit of colour,i just opted to having cereal the next morning to which I ended up spitting into a tissue as the milk was sour we tried to tell the the guy that was resetting tables for lunch but he just took the jug of milk and put it on the table beside the toaster overall a very disappointing stay ....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BLING999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

we stay here on the 19 of july 2014
check in was fast and staff very friendly even though the hotel was very busy and fully booked that night
we booked a family room and we were delighted the room was big and bright and really was a suite as it was 2 room with sitting room tv kettle ect and bed room with one double and three single beds
only negetive really was that the room was very warm (no ac) and the carpet was a bit dirty
the staff could nt do more for us and the food was really good

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

stayed for 2 nights in what was described as the hottest of the year , and our room 238 had an out of control radiator out side in the corridor , not codding you the heat was unbearable , our complaint fell on deaf ears as the cleaner said: its broken a long time, breakfast,,over cooked sausages , dried tomato , mushy scrambled egg , I had the cod for my meal and the mixed veg was cold . to be truthful this hotel needs a major overhaul its old, tired , dark , best only for a over night stay near shannon airport.

Room Tip: avoid 238,236, that end of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DublinEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Oak Wood Arms exudes class. The interior is handsomely decorated with photos and mementos from aviation. The room was well-furnished. The wi-fi worked great. There is no airport shuttle. The taxi ride from Shannon Airport wants a flat fare of €8 - 10. The food served in the restaurant in the hotel was good but somewhat pricey. We saw no alternative restaurants nearby. This hotel is a good choice for visitors using Shannon Airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rakkasan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for the night before a morning fly-out from Shannon. But if you have enough time to stay at a nearby B&B instead, that would be nicer. The hotel is very shabby and dark. Sink and bathtub didn't drain, smelled like smoke all through the building, and no way to get air into our stuffy room except opening the window. We love fresh air from open windows, so we did this despite being on the ground floor, but the window didn't open very far and we were gasping for air. Had to ask for facecloths as none provided. Towels gray, scratchy and actually had holes in them. Depressing place, but we were on time for our morning flight. Handy to have a petrol station right next door.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I was here recently for a wedding and what a superb place it is. it is slightly old fashioned but I think this adds to the atmosphere. The lobby area is bright and airy with loads of light coming in. I found the staff to be so courteous and friendly. The function room itself is large and also spacious with a nice well stocked bar. The food was delightful and very well presented. great cocktails too. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lucyyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear lucyyeah,
Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Oakwood Arms Hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us while attending a wedding. Your positive feedback regarding the staff, excellent location, bedrooms and fantastic food quality is most rewarding for all the team..
I will be sure to share your feedback with the team, so they can see how their attention to detail and great customer service pays off. We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.

My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,483 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,647 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakwood Hotel

Address: Airport Road, Shannon, Ireland (Formerly Oakwood Arms Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Price Range: £67 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oakwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakwood Hotel is newly refurbished hotel located less than 3 minutes from Shannon Airport. The hotel has 100 well appointed bedrooms with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and free parking for all guests. The hotel is the perfect place to stay for business close to local business district with 100MB Wifi and a warm relaxing newly designed Bar serving food and beverage all evening. The hotel is also the perfect base to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and its surroundings. The hotel is centrally located between Bunratty Castle & The Cliffs of Moher. The Wild Atlantic Way is just a 40 minute drive from the hotel. Bunratty Castle is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. Limerick and Ennis are less than 10 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Wood Arms Shannon
Hotel Oak Wood Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing