We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable country house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carrygerry Country House
Ranked #1 of 10 Shannon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I spent one night here after arriving in Ireland at Shannon airport.
It was mid afternoon by the time we arrived and we hadn't had lunch. The staff at Carrygerry House quickly and pleasantly provided us with hot soup, bread and drinks in the sitting room in front of the open fire even though they were very busy dealing with a large party.
Our room was very comfortable with a large four poster bed and a good bathroom.
We had a very pleasant dinner that night and a delicious breakfast next morning.
All the staff were friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble.
We are still enjoying the homemade blood orange marmalade that we were given as we left.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripleart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

Thank you so much for making our recent Anniversary such a memorable occassion.
The staff for their care and attention to Gillian for all the extra touches which made
everything so special and last but not least to Niall for the fabulous food.
You made this a very time for family and friends. Well done.

Room Tip: Main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marienaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Didn't stay the night, just had dinner but it was great. Very good choice, staff excellent and very good value as well.

Thank dileman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Dining experience was terrific,rooms are comfortable,staff are extremely friendly.
2 points for the owners,maybe coffee making facilities in the rooms and leave the guests adjust the heating themselves.
Definitely a place to revisit,recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The pleasure starts with the owners, a young couple who go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Husband, Nial, is the chef and a very good one. Meals are delicious, So is the setting. Wine in the loungeb before dinner is an added pleasure. Wfe, Gillian, goes out of her way to be helpful, with your planning and anything else you need or want..The setting is beautihful ,peaceful and fifteen minutes from Shannon Airport. It's also near the main roads north, as to the Cliffs of Mohr and Galway. I can't conceive of a trip to the west country without staying there.

Room Tip: Main house preferable to annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesSteele28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Everything about the Carrygerry House is wonderful. It's owned by a lovely couple and comes complete with it's own BAR and restaurant! The house has real character - and is less than 10 minutes drive from the airport. The B&B has all modern conveniences, but retains it's beauty and the owners have restored it so that you know you're in a very old & special home, yet you are comfortable. We were the only guests as it was the middle of winter, and it was wonderful to get to chat with the owners and get to know them. This is a charming B&B that is somehow very luxurious as well! Any time I fly into Shannon I will most certainly check right into the Carrygerry House!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMV1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is a real opportunity to stay in a nice old country house rather than a bland modern hotel around Shannon. It is very convenient for the airport and they will make a big fuss of you in such a cozy atmosphere. The food is also excellent.
Remember it is a country house so it is a little way out of town but there is no airport noise .

Room Tip: I prefer those in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilgrim143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
843 reviews
5 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,500 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
435 reviews
2.9 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
363 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrygerry Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrygerry Country House

Address: Newmarket-on-Fergus | near Shannon Airport, Shannon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Shannon
Price Range: £68 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrygerry Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrygerry Country House has 11 bedrooms with a restaurant which is open for dinner from Tuesday to Saturday each week. Licenced bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carrygerry Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrygerry Country House Hotel Shannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing