We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carrygerry Country House
Ranked #1 of 10 Shannon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Went for dinner to Carrygerry House this week with 17 in our group of ladies .Normally its hard to please everyone in large numbers, but no complaints all very satisfied with their meal . And staff more than helpful , Nice menu and food good .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwife087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrygerry, Manager at Carrygerry Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review I am delighted that you and your group enjoyed your evening with us and hope we will see you again soon in Carrygerry. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

Carrygerry is perfect for staying at as long as you have a car. It is within 10 mins of Shannon airport and views from the grounds overlook the River Shannon, giving you the feeling that you are miles away in the heart of the countryside.
The owners are great and very helpful. Food is lovely too (porridge with whiskey for breakfast - fantastic!!).
Only downside is that the wifi is limited to communal rooms, however, this gets you to meet other guests and therefore you stop using your gadets and talk!!! It takes you back to the old days, sat in a real Irish parlour.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SOR_036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the Carrygerry Country House on the last day of a two-week Ireland trip, leaving from Shannon the next day.

In a word: Carrygerry was stunning! It exceeded all of our expectations. It’s a lovely, immaculately maintained, very old house situated in the middle of a small, family-run working farm. Our bedroom was large with a four poster bed and beautifully furnished with antiques. The view from the bedroom window was of a vast and purely lovely countryside, The bathroom was lovely and consistent with the style of the age of the house. The first-floor common areas were charming and extensive. We were offered a drink from an old dark wood bar in the living room while we waited short time for our table in the dinning room. The historic style was elegantly maintained throughout the house.

The hosts and staff were warm, gracious and welcoming while hosts were simultaneously managing, along with their kids, to tend to their farm. Dinner and breakfast (both delicious, and both highly recommended) were served in a newer addition of a glassed-in section with sweeping views of fields, trees, and other farmhouses, along with two horses grazing and galloping playfully in the near distance.

And every now and again a 747 ascended noiselessly in the distance, seemingly out of the trees and fields, but actually out of Shannon airport.

Which brings us to the wonderful paradox of Carrygerry: it is -- and we can say this without hyperbole -- pretty much literally, the most peaceful place we’ve ever stayed -- and yet it’s no more than a mile or so from a busy international airport. We couldn't figure out how this could be true, but it is. We took a couple-of-miles walk -- again the most peaceful of our entire trip and perhaps ever -- along narrow Irish country roads, following a triangular route, one leg of which was actually the northern border of the airport. Even that leg was so tranquil that we could scarcely believe that the airport was right beside us!

In short, if you're coming into, or leaving out of Shannon, and you want to stay nearby, you have the choice of the absolute antithesis of a standard airport hotel! It’s a 10-minute drive to the terminal and feels as you're miles from nowhere. We look forward to a second trip to Ireland just so we have an opportunity to stay at the Carrygerry Country House again.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell, all rooms have similar, lovely, tranquil views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gloftus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Couldn't have been better. We would recommend to everyone arriving or leaving Shannon. It was beautiful, welcoming, such a great find. We arrived, met great hosts and settled in. 4 couples from around the world, we all met in living room, had cocktail and then went into D.R. For a fantastic dinner. Great menu, romantic setting, quiet dinner. Wonderful evening to end our 17 day trip. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 15,912,013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Conveniently located 10 minutes from the airport and situated in a very quiet and beautiful setting. We thoroughly enjoyed talking with one of the owners while relaxing in the courtyard. It was a wonderful way to spend our last night in Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The staff is friendly. The rooms are pretty nice and breakfast was delicious. The free internet was one of the fastest of all the hotels I stayed at in Ireland, which is certainly a plus when watching Netflix at night :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMNEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

In order to get there try to go in the direction to the Aerospace Center. Then go to the end of that road and turn right until you get there. The place is charming and the personal service is outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ramon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
837 reviews
5 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,493 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,575 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
431 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrygerry Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrygerry Country House

Address: Newmarket-on-Fergus | near Shannon Airport, Shannon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Shannon
Price Range: £68 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrygerry Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrygerry Country House has 11 bedrooms with a restaurant which is open for dinner from Tuesday to Saturday each week. Licenced bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carrygerry Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrygerry Country House Hotel Shannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing