We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coffey's River's Edge Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 15 Killorglin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We have been in Killorglin last August and we had a wonderful experience because of the kindness of the people and and beautiful location just on one side of the river.
We were very lucky because during our stay there was the local fest called "King Puck" with music, horse show and a big funny market.
Nice host and quiet rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2010

We stayed here for one night after touring the Ring of Kerry, before moving further north. Killorglin is not much of an attraction, compared to many other town in the area, but the town is well placed for Kerry, Dingle, North Kerry, or transitioning among them. The B&B in right on a main road, below street level, looking directly at the bridge over the Laune. This is a nice, if not a spectacular, setting.

We arrived right at 6PM. Our first impression was very good, as Anne greeted us with glowing warmth, overflowing with suggestions for dinner and relaxation -- much welcomed. We took one of Anne's suggestions for dinner (Sol y Sambra) and liked it very much.

The room we were in had a nice little sitting area in front of a picture window looking out at the bridge, and hardwood floors. It was visually appealing on the surface, but underneath had many problems. Two shelves were hanging loose from the walls, as if improperly installed or pulled loose and not repaired. A shower fixture was unpleasantly rusty at the base. The towels were matted down, like ours get if we forget to put soap in the machine when we wash them. One hand towel was actually dirty. All of these things could be fixed with some minor maintenance of the use of better quality fixtures. Overall it left us with an impression, correct or not, that corners were being cut.. It wasn't nasty or repulsive (well, the dirty towel was a little off-putting), just disappointing.

We couldn't get into their wireless from our room, as we were in a separate part of the building, so we went to the sitting room for the evening and planned the next day. Didn't mind doing this at all. Breakfast was a good quality B&B meal. There were self-serve breads and cereals, juiced, and a menu of items to order. We left with happy bellies.

I am disappointed to not be able to glow about this place, because Anne and Finn were really nice hosts. But the room that we stayed in would need some work before we could give full marks.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rileycoyotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

The very hospitable and amiable Coffey family run the River’s Edge Bed & Breakfast. In addition to providing tastefully decorated clean rooms with all facilities and a substantial breakfast. The Coffey family offer the use of the riverside balcony and decking area with a superb view of the river Laune to enjoy your own drinks and pre dinner nibbles which can be purchased from the well stocked shops within walking distance. Your hosts Anne & Finbarr Coffey have a wealth of local knowledge and information on local pubs and restaurants to cater for all tastes in food, music and televised sports action and will do their best to book you tables at local establishments. The B&B is ideally situated for walking holidays in Kerry with the MacGillycuddy's Reeks, Mountains of the Iveragh and Dingle Peninsula within in easy reach.
John Holland
Chelmsford, Essex.
PS Can provide details and maps of walks of varying length if required mobile: [-]/ email: hollandfamily@tinyonline.co.uk

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountain_Goat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

I had the pleasure to stay at this lovely bed and breakfast place for 2 weeks in May. I was travelling with an officemate on a business trip. We came from a 15 hour flight from Manila. Both Finnbar and Ann were very gracious hosts. They warmly welcomed us to their place and at the onset, we felt very much at home. Their place had a great view, overlooking the river. Everyday, I had the chance to simply stare at the water watching the ducks and swans, occassionally spotting a seal unexpectedly. My recollection of my stay in Killorglin would not be complete without my fond memories of this place. I would also miss the hearty Irish breakfast which I had everyday for 2 weeks. I hope to come back to this place someday to relive the memories. Thank you Ann and Finnbarr for simply being the perfect hosts and imparting with us true Irish hospitality. 3 Cheers !

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

After a beautiful but long drive around the Ring of Kerry, we were more than lucky to land and this charming B&B. Without reservations, the owners were more than kind, and quickly put up a cot (crib) for our 4mo old in our private downstairs room. Finn and his wife Anne were just wonderful and helped with directions to local establishments. I didn't find Killorglin particularly that interesting, but it served as a good base for us to bounce from the Ring of Kerry to Dingle...and, as luck would have it, we found a WONDERFUL restuarant in a revamped church, as well as a local shop with wine and cheese, that we enjoyed at the B&B's private patio overlooking the river. Great spot.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ptucc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We were fortunate to find a vacancy and we stayed for four days. Our room was warm, clean and comfortable with excellent en suite facilities. There were people staying there who were regular guests of long standing which, to me is recommendation in itself! The food was well cooked and plentiful with multiple choice. Anne and Finbarr directed us to the local restaurants and gave us excellent advice in our quest to see the best of the local scenery. We began to feel like part of a large family and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rivers Edge! We would love to return to see more of the beautiful Ring of Kerry and would be delighted to stay with Anne and Finbarr once again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldluddite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

16 of us gents stayed there while on a golf trip. Anne & Finn are very friendly hosts offering many tips & providing a nice breakfast to start our day. We ate across the river (Finn's suggestion) and weren't disappointed. Walking distance to several nice pubs. Would certainly go back (and hope too!).

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foreiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killorglin
0.1 mi away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
130 reviews
9.2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
12.9 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House
3.7 mi away
Lakeshore Lodge at Caragh Lake
0.2 mi away
Laune Bridge House
Laune Bridge House
#6 of 15 in Killorglin
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffey's River's Edge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffey's River's Edge Guesthouse

Address: Killorglin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killorglin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Killorglin
Price Range: £61 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coffey's River's Edge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coffey's River's Edge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing