We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food, views and delightful service......”

Jacks Coastguard Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Killorglin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$38
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Jacks Coastguard Restaurant is a landmark building overlooking Rossbeigh and Inch Peninsula in the seaside village of Cromane between Kilorglin & Glenbeigh on the Ring of Kerry route. Nestled against the Atlantic Ocean, enjoy panoramic sea and mountain views in one of Kerrys Top Restaurants recently named Best Seafood Restaurant in Ireland by well respected foodie Georgina Campbell as well as listings with Bridgestone & Michelin Guides. The Station Bar and Coastguard Restaurant successfully combine old world charm with modern elegance.Guests can linger over a drink in the bustling Station Bar or enjoy the soft tones of the piano through the restaurant by our resident pianist JP Murphy. Only the finest and freshest of seafood is used to create dishes that would rival the most discerning of palate. Signature dishes such a Cromane Mussels, Tiger Prawns or perfectly seared Scallops should not be missed. For the unwilling seafood diner, our succulent Fillet of Beef should suffice nicely.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb food, views and delightful service......”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Enjoyed a delicious meal with a business companion on Saturday night. Never been to Jack's before and on a whistle stop tour of Kerry. Wish we could have eaten here all week - fantastic quality food, wonderful atmosphere and just the right balance of helpful, friendly service from our lovely waitress who could not do enough for us.

Couldn't place her accent but reading previous reviews now know she is a Londoner called Diane - the amount of care she put into looking after us led us to believe she owned the business !! Marvellous - will try to get back asap.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 186338Grecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    50
    15
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great waitress!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Really enjoyed our meal at this restaurant! We ate on Sunday around 4pm & Diane was our waitress. She was very polite & was on hand to help us with all our needs.10 out of 10 for service! We will be coming back. Thank you!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Lovely Lunch!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

On Sunday had the best lunch with beat views and service!
Just read last review and cant believe i was in same plaice.
I and my husband were served by a lovely London lady Diane who looked after all our needs, even recommending a tasty wine.
The food was so delicious and we both thought good value for money.
It was a beautiful sunny day and the views out of the windows are so good it just added to a
great day out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No place else like it”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Fabulous place! Brian treats everyone like a member of the family even if it's your 1st or weekly visit. Food is second to none. Would recommend this place for a visit

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food wonderful, staff could do with additional training”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Firstly let me say I'm a huge fan of Jacks, and at every opportunity take friends, family and business there where possible. Today however I was disappointed not by the food because that was amazing but by the service and the staff. We ordered lunch and and a half bottle of wine and there was a nice delay between courses but usually that would bother me in the slightest, but it was boarder line neglect today. During the main course I asked the owner for a second half bottle of wine and the reply I got was "another one?" Now anyone that's savvy in the service industry knows never to pass comment on any patrons consumption and I was highly insulted by this comment. Instead of saying "of course". Also When the waiter lifted my husbands plate after mains he also said " there wasn't much left " again none of anyone's business, this is not what you would expect from a fine dining restaurant. Recently I've heard of other people commenting on the same experience and it really is a real pity, amazing food and a wonderful setting but it's the people that create a customer experience and today let a lot to be desired.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank millieme73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jacks Coastguard Restaurant also viewed

 
Killorglin, County Kerry
Killorglin, County Kerry
 

Been to Jacks Coastguard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing