We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Tired”
Review of Riverside House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killorglin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside House
Ranked #9 of 15 Killorglin B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old and Tired”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was the worst Bed and Breakfast we stayed in. Recommended by the tourist centre!!! It was tired and in need of refurbishment. Views were amazing shame the welcome and service didn't match. No coffee making facilities in the room so you have to make it yourself and go up stairs with your coffee. The only place a coffee was not offered and made for us on arrival. Many had their own baking. It felt more like a boarding house and not homely. It did not feel fresh but musty. Towels old and paper thin. Many more to choose from in the area.

Room Tip: Ground floor as steps a pain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swimmer1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    26
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
27
35
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We just happened in this little Irish Jewel in Killorglin in County Kerry.

The family was very nice and helpful, the views of the river are amazing(trestle, local rowing team, ducks, mountains, and a wonderful walking path.

Central to the town for food, pubs, and groceries.

Excellent place to start or end your trip on the Ring of Kerry, it's actually on it.

Bathroom in room, kitchenette and living room open to guests. Internet access through computer upstairs or good WiFi access.

Ring the bell at the front door and be amazed.

Toby is their dog, he stays outside and is very sweet. Definitely have me my missing my pups fix.

-Patrick

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiga31328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We came across Riverside House by accident, driving around Killorglin. We were taken with its position on the River Laune, and decided to stay for two nights, which stretched out to four. Our hosts were exceptionally helpful in many ways, especially in researching my family history in the area. The views from the house are lovely, and it is in a very peaceful locality. Good advice was given re sightseeing and nothing was difficult for Geraldine and Francis to do for us. We happily recommend it to anyone.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank E Clyde A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockport, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Great location and great advice for the ring of kerry. Also a nice tip for good food and good music. Bunkers was a great pub and lots of fun within walking distance. Accommodating and friendly, Lovely view and great value!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My fiancé and I stayed two nights here and we had a wonderful time. Very close to all the small shops and more importantly pubs. Great small town atmosphere with a great breakfast and an even better view.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoogstraten, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Recommendable B&B if you plan to stay in Killorglin ! Lying just on te edge of town, it's quite comfortable and clean, with a nice view on the nearby river. Felt immediately welcome. Must say we enjoyed breakfast in particular, especially the home-made bread.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My 78 mother and I have just returned from a two night stay, we were in Killorglin for a family event. The hosts, Geraldine and Francis opened up their home and their hearts for us, it felt like we were staying with friends. who is a charming. Our twin room was lovely, bright and spotless, the breakfast was superb, with extra trimmings such as edible flowers. Of course the view was amazing. The price was very reasonable and worth every penny. I hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killorglin hotels
0.5 mi away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House
3.8 mi away
Lakeshore Lodge at Caragh Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coffey's River's Edge
Coffey's River's Edge
#2 of 15 in Killorglin
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Torine House
Torine House
#4 of 15 in Killorglin
105 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast
Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 15 in Killorglin
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House

Property: Riverside House
Address: Castleconway, Killorglin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killorglin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Killorglin
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing