We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hospitality and helpful advice on local area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 15 Killorglin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We spent one night here on our tour of Ireland in may 2013-wished we could have stayed in the area for longer! This was a good location for Ring of Kerry and Dingle peninsula. We arrived quite early, but welcome was good and had plenty of advice for us on how to spend the rest of our time there.. Room was big enough, fairly basic, but comfortable. Breakfast was good. Recommended

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yossmitesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. My husband and I just got back from a 3 week vacation Ireland. We stayed in the Fern Rock Bed and Breakfast for 5 days while exploring the County Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula. Hands down, Fern Rock Bed and Breakfast has the warmest hospitality of all the places we had stayed. What made the Fern Rock Bed and Breakfast more special than other places we had stayed was it's wonderful and cheerful hostess, Irma. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Irma at the door like long lost friends. She was super helpful with helping us with tour arrangements. She knew the tours, the driving routes and the highlights in the area inside out. In the morning, there was a variety of breakfast you could choose from. The portions were so big that you definitely could skip lunch, Irma also know how to make you feel like home. While we were there, the weather was cold and rainy. Everyday, we would come back to a warm and cozy house that was much appreciated. There was always a kettle of water waiting in the diningroom for us to make tea with. There were also freshly made scones along with cookies on the table waiting for us as well. After a day, we felt like we were staying with relatives rather than in a bed and breakfast. Irma was also very easy to talk to. She made us feel so at ease that we were actually looking forward to chat with her everyday after we came back from a day of touring to tell her what we saw during the day. Like the previous reviewer said, she also gave you just perfect mixture of conversation and privacy. The bed and breakfast itself is prefect as well. It is located a few minutes outside of Killorglin that made this a perfect base for exploring the area. Our bedroom is very large that sleeps 4, even though there were only the 2 of us. The bathroom is small but adequate with plenty of hot water. The whole house is very clean and well kept. The large window in our bedroom looks out to the pasture ground where the sheep grazed. The dining room window also looks out to the grazing ground, and the living room window looks out to the large garden where the rabbits played. It was the perfect place to unwind after a day of touring. We had such a wonderful stay that we were actually sad to leave. I feel like I could go on and on about why we loved Fern Rock Bed and Breakfast so much. I would definitely recommend The Fern Rock Bed and Breakfast to everyone who is planning to visit the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Souschef88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I stayed in Ireland for a week and a half. This was the best of all the places I stayed. Wonderful friendly hosts with the perfect mixture of conversation and privacy and helpfulness. Wonderful setting, clean, quiet, comfortable. Fantastic breakfasts (your choice of various things). Wonderfully located for so many areas and trips. Wonderful, comfortable cozy rooms with nice bathroom. I miss it and can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: Just get in contact with Irma and you won't go wrong. If you are confused, lost, tired, whatever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

If you're looking for a place to stay in order to explore the wonders of the Ring of Kerry, i can't recommend Fern Rock enough. Irma was exceptionaly warm and friendly and if like us, you havent really done your homework on the places to visit, Irma was on hand all the way to guide us to the treasures.
Accommodation was perfect, breakfast fantastic and location stunning. Given the amount there is to see I think we'll be back in the future and Fern Rock will be our accommodation of choice!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

If you're traveling to County Kerry in SW Ireland, Fern Rock B&B is a great central location. From Fern Rock, day trips to the Ring of Kerry, the Dingle Ring, Killarney and the Dunloe Gap are right at hand. Complementing this centrality are gracious and knowledgeable hosts, John & Irma Clifford. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious and creatively varied. Kilorglen Golf Course is just minutes away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My family and I spent four nights at this BandB last August. Our room was simple and clean, the bathroom was small but spotless. The house is sorrounded by a lovely garden and by trees and flowers. What we liked best about it was the owner Irma. She's very welcoming and friendly. She makes delicious breakfasts followed by precious tips about where to go,what to see and where to have dinner. One evening she even helped me book a trip to the Skellig Islands...She is an example of the true Irish hospitality!
I highly recommend this BandB!
Barbara

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barby40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We just got back from Ireland- spent 10 great days touring this beautiful country- the highlight as far as our accomaditions had to be the three nights we spent at Fern Rock with our lovely host Irma. We ended using this as our base of operation for touring both the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Preninsula. Irma not only was our host but also served as our tour guide helping us set up our daily itinerary- this was real blessing since we were complete novices and it helped so much to have her input. The accommodations were excellent and the breakfast was great, We are already thinking about going back next year and making sure that staying at Fern Rock is part of our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haynbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killorglin hotels
2 mi away
Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House
1.8 mi away
Coffey's River's Edge Guesthouse
1.9 mi away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lakeshore Lodge at Caragh Lake
2 mi away
Torine House
Torine House
#5 of 15 in Killorglin
114 reviews
0 mi away
Westfield House
Westfield House
#14 of 15 in Killorglin
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast

Address: Tinnahalla, Killorglin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killorglin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Killorglin
Price Range: £52 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
could you please change on my listing that children over 12 are welcome. Please remove baby sitting facilities (which I do not provide) Regards Irma (Fern Rock B and B) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing