We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Accommodation near Ring of Kerry & Dingle Peninsulas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 16 Killorglin B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation near Ring of Kerry & Dingle Peninsulas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We were greeted at the door by Irma who was very friendly. Our room was very clean and spacious. The setting was delightful with large common areas and beUtiful garden. This B&B is ideally suited for those who wish to explore the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsulas. Of course, Irma's hearty breakfasts got the mornings off to a great start. Her local knowledge was extensive and very useful for travellers wishing to explore this great area of Ireland. We should have stayed longer than our two nights there, but Irma's reasonable rates combined with the very good standard of accommodation, will see us return in the future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KenMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
37
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

A very warm welcome and great advice on things to do & where to go made our stay here very enjoyable. The room was excellent and the breakfast was first class. The location puts both the ring of Kerry & Dingle bay within easy reach, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a great time in this B&B. The rooms were comfortable and spotless. The house is just outside Killorglin and even if it is close to the road it is very quiet and we had a good night sleep!
The owner is a lovely lady who gave us many good tips about where to have diner and the good places to visit in the ring of Kerry.
We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lightwater
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our first visit to Ireland and this was our first B&B on our 7 day tour. Irma made us very welcome for our one night stay and offered us a larger room on the first floor but we opted for a smaller room on the ground floor. This was fine for an overnight stay - clean and with lovely country views. We weren't bothered by any traffic noise. Irma graciously reduced our bill because we had the smaller room. The outside decking was great for relaxing in the early evening sun after our long drive and there was a comfortable lounge. Breakfast was very good and Irma helped us with planning our next days drive. One Austrian couple we met there had stayed at this guest house for seven years so Irma must be doing something right!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnLightwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent 2 nigths in this B&B and we had a great stay! The owner, irma, is a very nice person. She helped us to plan our next destinations and one morning, we had to leave before the usual breakfast time, there was always something ready to eat for us!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beubeu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We went for 3 nights in August bank holiday and I have to say it was brilliant choice. Irma, the owner, is absolutely fantastic to help you with planning your trip for the day. The b&b is close to Killarney, ring of Kerry, Dingle - that's the main points of this part of Ireland.

B&b is just a little bit to close to quite busy road and is a little bit to noisy while you are sitting at the deck in the garden, but around 7-8pm is quiet enough to enjoy the evening and beautiful sunset over the mountains.

The sitting room for the guests is very comfortable and cosy and the owners do not have any problem if you want to stay to watch tv - we did (obviously!) and really enjoyed. Bedroom is nice and comfortable and we slept like a babies in the bed. The interior in the b&b is quite outdated, but spotless clean and to be honest, you will feel very cozy and comfortable, just like a home.

Breakfast is absolutely delicious! And after breakfast Irma will help you to plan your day of exploring Co. Kerry. I have to say this is very helpful, as she knows all the little roads, which you usually will avoid looking at the map, but with Irma's help you will find the most beautiful places in Kerry!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarzenaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Fern Rock is a terrific B & B !! Spotlessly clean....very comfy room...convenient location for all our touring. Our friendly hostess, Irma, went out of her way to make us comfortable and
to help us with our touring adventure. She knows ALL the best restaurants, shared maps, brochures, even helped us to book our Ring of Kerry bus tour. We were welcomed at the door not as strangers but as friends. We felt at home, immediately. Hot tea, freshly baked scones, good company or privacy...whatever we needed was right there. We highly recommend including Fern Rock on your Irish trip. We will be back as many times as possible.

Room Tip: Any room will have a lovely view. I prefer the sheep out the back but my husband prefers the mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aromaherb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killorglin
1.7 mi away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.3 mi away
Murphy's Farmhouse
Murphy's Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Boolteens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Coffey's River's Edge
Coffey's River's Edge
#2 of 16 in Killorglin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lakeshore Lodge at Caragh Lake
1.9 mi away
Torine House
Torine House
#6 of 16 in Killorglin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast

Property: Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast
Address: Tinnahalla, Killorglin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killorglin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Killorglin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
could you please change on my listing that children over 12 are welcome. Please remove baby sitting facilities (which I do not provide) Regards Irma (Fern Rock B and B) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing