We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Accomodation, Wonderful Owners, Can't...”
Riverside Holiday Homes riverbank location with panoramic views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Riverside Holiday Homes riverbank location with panoramic views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Riverside Holiday Homes riverbank location with panoramic views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Killorglin, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Cycleman0...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodation, Wonderful Owners, Can't Wait to Come Back”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My partner and I found our stay at Riverside exceptionally good for reasons that I will explain briefly, later in the review.
Firstly the "nuts and bolts " of the information:
Killorglin: Is an excellent centre to explore the extensive peninsula that is encompassed by "The Kerry Ring" as well as other attractions in County Kerry and County Cork.
It offers excellent food shopping, a variety of great places to eat and drink and all other conveniences such as pharmacists, banks etc.

The Location: Riverside Holiday Homes are on the banks of the River Laune close to Killorglin Bridge enabling guests to observe river life at close quarters, fish, waterfowl, herons, even sometimes an otter and a seal, whilst giving the convenience of a short walk across the bridge into the town
The Accommodation: Is immaculate , spacious and ample for 6 people, large and separate sitting and dining areas, very comfortable bedrooms, a large and well equipped kitchen and an extensive riverside terrace with table and chairs for al fresco eating.
We were in Southern Ireland for a cycling holiday and Riverside proved to be perfect for our purpose.
Most importantly I must now say that the way in which we were looked after by the owners,
Angela and Jer was exceptional. From the outset they were very welcoming and helpful;, allowing us to check in when we arrived at 3.15 PM (normal check-in is 4.00PM) and taking time to demonstrate to us the operation of the various appliances in the house and give us advice on where to shop and eat.
We were to appreciate their assistance even more when my partner was injured whilst cycling in the locality. She unfortunately sustained a broken collarbone and injuries to her head and limbs. Thanks to Angela and Jer , on discharge from hospital she was made as comfortable as possible in the house and they were solicitous in making sure that we had everything we needed in order to facilitate her recovery. We therefore stayed on for the full week as we could not have been better looked after had we been at home. The period of rest that this gave enabled us to make our long journey home to Cardiff at the end of the week without problem. We will be eternally grateful for the way in which we were looked after and will most definitely return to Riverside to continue our exploration of this lovely country. I cannot recommend this place and these lovely people more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very hard to pick one thing. Location, facilities, Owners all wonderful
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeronikVH
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, spacious house with a great view”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved our stay in this spacious, well equipped house. Angela is really a lovely person, she gave us some useful information on what to see in the area.
The children loved the jacuzzi (we weren't all that lucky with the weather).
The terrace is huge, Wifi excellent...the house is in a central location. When you're there, I would definitely recommend a boat trip to Skellig Michael, absolutely a once in a lifetime experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A
Portadown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class accommodation.”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The situation of these cottages is fabulous,, right on the banks of the river Laune. Each home has an extensive wooden patio complete with table and chairs, perfect for relaxing and enjoying the river which is wide, clear and full of wildlife. Kilorglin town is a short walk away, and is a charming little Irish town right on the ring of Kerry. The house was well equipped with everything you could need and then some including wi-fi with good reception. Our hostess Angela was very attentive and went the extra mile, nothing was a bother to her. This was one of our most enjoyable, and relaxing holidays to date in a part of Ireland which has just about everything. If you were blessed with good weather ( which we were ) I can think of nowhere nicer to be.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sappers62
Riga, Latvia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Hard to beat”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in September 2014

This was our 2nd stay and we all had a fantastic time; as ever helped enormously by Angela. The setting is perfect and the scenery difficult to beat anywhere else globally, given the right weather! The fixtures and fittings in the properties are all of a high standard, a good cable or Sat TV system would be a nice addition though. The town of Killorglin is on your doorstep and offers everything that you could want. We will be going back. Apologies for the long delay in the review Angela but I thought I had written one back in Sept!
See you again next year, with Betty!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Condition of pots, pans etc
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scriobhai
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the swans”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The house is 2 story with 3 bedrooms. Each bedroom has its' own bath/shower. The beds were comfortable with good pillows. The kitchen is huge with a dishwasher! But the real gem of this property is the deck which overlooks the river. To sit on the deck with morning coffee or wine in the evening and watch the swans swim by was heaven. The location is great for walking to town, stores, pubs. The fish market had some of the best shrimp I've had in a long time. A very good experience (and great wifi).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the deck
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrissieF...
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE place to stay when touring the Kerry region”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the perfect place to stay when touring the SW area of Ireland. Centrally located with easy access to Killarney, Ring of Kerry, Dingle Peninsula. The cottage is great with everything we needed and more, very comfortable and very peaceful on the edge of the river with great views of the mountains but also walking distance to town so need to have a designated driver when visiting the local pubs.
Angela is the perfect hostess, on hand to help out and recommend places to visit.
We will be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomasSche...
Scheessel
1 review
“A wonderfully scenic and relaxed location”
Reviewed 27 February 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Can only agree with all the other reviews: a beautiful house in a pretty Irish town on the bank of a river with a wooden terraced area directly over the river. Lovely place.
Great hospitality. Walking distance to shops and pubs. Great scenery all around. A perfect break for everybody. Our kids loved it. Green area nearby for running around. We spent a week there and will certainly go back if we ever make it to Kerry again. The hosts are kind and responsive and, with a rental car, all of Kerry is within easy reach. Also found some pretty beaches nearby. A whole-hearted recommendation and thanks to Angela and Ger for their kindness.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing