We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guest house with great owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House
Ranked #1 of 15 Killorglin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great guest house with great owners”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just back from staying here for 3 nights, the house is set in beautiful grounds and a convienent location. The room and breakfast were fantastic and the owners were friendly and accomodating. Well worth a visit and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    22
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
60
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed with Fergus and Delia from Friday to Monday during a family weekend celebration and wished we could have stayed much longer as we could not have asked for more. We were an "allsorts family party", an elderly (89 years) couple, middle aged couple, young couple and a young mum with 2 children aged 13 and 9 years. From start to finish we were made welcome and nothing was too much trouble for Fergus and Delia. The house is truely beautiful and all our rooms were spotlessly clean, very spacious and comfortable. The gardens and the view from our rooms over the river were fantastic and some of the best we have seen over quite a number of years travel and we never stay anywhere less than 4 star. Breakfast was plentiful and really well cooked and I enjoyed the chats that Delia, Fergus and our family had over the weekend. My 9 year old grandson made a friend with Rosie the dog and is missing her so much. We look forward to visiting again and for much longer this time!!

Room Tip: Ask for any room overlooking the river - they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loganberry97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay here. The house is beautiful and the grounds are lovely. We really enjoyed our room as well as our hosts, and breakfast was very good and plenty ample.

A short walk from downtown, we were able to explore Killorglin on foot which was very nice. And Killorglin is very conveniently located between Kerry and Dingle Penninsulas so we were able to get around very easily from the house. Parking is a tight squeeze and had we stayed longer than the one night we'd have had to juggle the car since parking behind the house is only available from 6pm-9am.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Just one night here, room 9 on the ground floor. Expected an ordinary B+B for the price, got an immaculate, almost Manor like home! Beautiful public areas, fabulous gardens and wonderful river views. The room was spotless. Huge. Well furnished, with a great bath and strong powerful shower. Having read a previous review re the poor breakfast, I can only say this was the best breakfast I think I've ever had! I was embarrassed at the amount and variety of food the owner left out when there was just the two of us staying. Cereals, fruit, yogurts, hams and salami, a big variety of cheeses, home made scones and muffins, home made soda and wheat breads, nutella, jams and marmalades, marmite, you can't imagine it! And I thought great tho they won't do the cooked breakfast. Boy was I wrong. Full Irish? Scrambed eggs with smoked salmon and capers? Eggs any style? Pancakes with honey and fruit? I went for the open sandwich with local ham and cheese, pineapple and peppers, and it was divine! My friend had the salmon and organic eggs. Best breakfast ever served by the owner, a wonderful Kerry lady who liked to chat and who was in the kitchen baking because she was bored! Wish she'd be bored nearer to me more often!!! I loved it. Can't wait to return there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomthetank67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Apartment itself was beautiful, clean, modern and well furnished. It was ideal for walking to the town and touring beautiful Kerry. The various switches for the underfloor heating and hot water were explained briefly to us on arrival, however, we were not warned about how expensive it could get. We thought we were very careful, but our bill at the end of the ONE WEEK WAS 93 EUROS!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We booked this B&B based on the reviews in Tripadvisor and were really disappointed. The room was cold and dated. The bathroom could have been cleaner and the sheets and pillowcases, although had been washed, had old ingrained stains. The duvet cover masked the smell from the duvet itself, which was not very pleasant. The breakfast was'nt great either. The cereals and food from the buffet were limited. I ordered poached eggs and bacon - the eggs were fine but the bacon was not fresh - it didn't taste right. My husband ordered the full Irish and he had the same complaint. My son ordered pancakes which were only fair - we left alot of food after us. I really don't understand how this B&B got such rave reviews - we couldn't wait to leave and would not return. It needs a good lick of paint and the bathroom could do with an overhaul.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrasnaNaDunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2011

From accepting a last-minute reservation through to the last minute of our stay, the Grove Lodge was ideal. A friendly and open greeting, a beautiful, well-appointed, airy room; a garden to die for; lovely walks along the river; and a delicious, varied breakfast. The other travelers we met there were very interesting, as well. The Lodge also has condo-like facilities for families and longer stays. My husband is dreaming of a golf trip with friends based at the inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killorglin
0.5 mi away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
126 reviews
8.9 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
942 reviews
5.9 mi away
Murphy's Farmhouse
Murphy's Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Boolteens
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Coffey's River's Edge
Coffey's River's Edge
#2 of 15 in Killorglin
132 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast
Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 15 in Killorglin
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House

Property: Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House
Address: Killarney Road, Killorglin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killorglin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Killorglin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing