We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel”
Review of The Sleepy Camel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sleepy Camel
Certificate of Excellence
Horst
1 review
“Very good hostel”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I stayed for three nights at this hostel and I had a great time.
Jenny and Chris are very friendly and helpfull.
Also the room was very clean and orderly.
You can make wonderful walks from this hostel.
I advise this hostel to anyone who stays in the neighbourhood of Glenbeigh.
Greetings,
Ida Geurtjens

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank IdaHorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    24
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
43
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed for one night on our honeymoon, really liked the place. The staff (Chris & Jenny) were very friendly & helpful, the rooms were clean (linen & towel provided), the kitchen spacious and very clean. Easy internet access, books, patio & backyard (which we didn't use due to rain). We got there at the end of a 3-day bank holiday weekend, so there were only a few of us; very peaceful which was perfect for us! Also met a few other lovely backpackers. Great place to make base camp for Ring of Kerry, Dingle Peninsula, or Killarney National Park. We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: We had a double ensuite, which we really recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isisking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2011

The Sleepy Camel is indeed a gem! It is more like a hotel than a hostel. Remarkably spacious, light and airy, it is clean and maintained to a very high standard. It has good self-catering kitchen facilities, free breakfasts, a fantastic sitting room and another seating area facing the large garden. The toilets are clean and the beds clean and comfortable. There is also free WiFi, laundry facilities for a small fee, and a book rental service with the money going to charity. Located on the Ring of Kerry, the hostel is close to beaches and is well-situated for people walking the Kerry Way or cycling around the peninsula. Glenbeigh itself is a pleasant village with shops and cafes, a post office, petrol station and supermarket, and some nice pubs. The Sleepy Camel is probably the best hostel I have ever stayed in and I can recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at back or overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTully037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2011

The Sleepy Camel is more like a B&B than a hostel. We had a private en-suite room at a great rate. The location is perfect, right in the middle of Glenbeigh. The facilities are top class and Chris and Jenny were very helpful. Free WiFi and Internet access PCs in the lounge were an added bonus. Glenbeigh is a great location for exploring the area and this hostel is the perfect base.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2010

A wonderful place for backpackers and families alike! Great location for sight-seeing around Kerry, with beaches, pubs and scenic hikes all within walking distance! The lovely couple that own The Sleepy Camel were incredibly kind & helpful, and the spotless kitchen, large common room, dining room and garden were quite impressive for the price! Will certainly be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KS_UK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I recently stayed at the Sleepy Camel on a hill-walking trip to Glenbeigh with Limerick Climbing Club. Considering the low cost of their budget accomodation, I was pleasantly surprised by the comfortable twin rooms, spotless bathrooms and great cooking facilities. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. They really do offer modern accomodation that is very affordable and ideal for groups or individuals. I think our entire group enjoyed the Sleepy Camel and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madonna86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krefeld, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Super place to stay. Especialy after a hiking day. perfect location in middel of Gelenbeigh. Even the personal service was nice and friendly, when you have a problem. Ask and you´ll get the nessecary help. The rooms are clean and you find all facilitys for making your own dinner or breakfast. For a hostel it´s really a high standard. I asked myself if I booked wrong, as I asked for a Dorm bed, and finaly had a two bedroom for myself. Very kind and nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenbeigh
0.2 mi away
Towers Hotel
Towers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glenbeigh
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kerry Ocean Lodge
Kerry Ocean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Glenbeigh
93 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#1 of 47 in Killarney
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Village House B&B
The Village House B&B
#9 of 9 in Glenbeigh
29 reviews
7.5 mi away
Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House
6.1 mi away
Strand @ Inch Beach
Strand @ Inch Beach
#5 of 9 in Annascaul
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sleepy Camel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sleepy Camel

Property: The Sleepy Camel
Address: The Village, Glenbeigh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glenbeigh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Glenbeigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your The Sleepy Camel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing