We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful Little Hostel”
Review of The Sleepy Camel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sleepy Camel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Sleepy Camel Hostel was a great place to stay. The rooms were all very clean and it provided quite a bit for the low room charge. The was a nice living room with couches, a TV, and plenty of books. The was also a well stocked Kitchen and a nice dining room for the included breakfast. The staff wer all very nice and incredibly helpful. I did not rent a car and flew into Keryy airport. When I booked my room at the Sleepy Camel one of the staffsent me an email asking if there was anything he could do. i mentioned needing a ride to the hostel and one of the staff actualy came to pick me up. The hostel lies in a small and quite little village. Only a small store, and a handful of resturaunts and pubs in town. There was a very nice beach within walking distance though and Irish drivers here are not afraid to pick up hitchikers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here for a night while cycling around the Ring of Kerry. The owner, Con was very helpful and kind. I had booked a dorm room but he gave me a private one without any additional charge. The hostel is spotlessly clean, lovely sitting room with Internet, TV and lots of books. The breakfast area is in a conservatory and beautiful on a sunny morning. They have a lock-up basement for bikes. The Sleepy Camel is in the heart of the village and everything you need is only minutes walk away. Overall, a great stay and I will definately be back.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank GJKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My friend and I stayed here overnight and it was perfect for us! Everywhere was lovely and clean, the staff were very friendly, the kitchen was well equipped and there was a good selection of food for us to choose from. Great location with stunning views, I would definitely recommend The Sleepy Camel to anybody :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Very nice hostel in middle of glenbeigh, close to pubs and small supermarket, friendly owner and good facilities.

We did the 3 (first and best?) days of Kerry Way, parked car in Glenbeigh and after a night in Sleepy Camel we took bus to Killarney and walked back to Glenbeigh by Kerry Way (and picked up Car to drive Ring of Kerry. Very good way to combine walking and sightseeing

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janneke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Me and my girlfriend often work around Glenbeigh and as such we needed accommodation so we checked into this spot. The staff are very friendly and it has a very relaxed atmosphere. There are a few pubs just down the road serving food. The village is great with many exceptional walks around, and if you are into that trek up the mountain just in front of Glenbeigh, spectacular views! Rooms are comfy and the wifi is good. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Get up to the summit of the mountain overlooking the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewcallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed last week for 2 nights , and went back a couple of nights later for another night. Very friendly and clean ,also kids friendly. Being able to go back in the evening and cook your dinner just like home. Also its in a great location to visit glenbeigh, kells etc. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slaneytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

After a beautifull, but unexpextedly tiresome cycling day we arrived at The Sleepy Camel for our stay. We had made jokes how wonderfull it would be to have a hot bath. We were pleasantly surprised to find one for us in the Sleepy Camel. This, the kind and exellent service, low price and good facilities, made this our number one hostel during our two week stay in Ireland!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenbeigh hotels
0 mi away
Kerry Ocean Lodge
Kerry Ocean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Glenbeigh
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Towers Hotel
Towers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glenbeigh
173 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rossbeigh Beach House B&B
Rossbeigh Beach House B&B
#2 of 9 in Glenbeigh
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Liosderrig House
Liosderrig House
#3 of 9 in Glenbeigh
62 reviews
0 mi away
The Village House B&B
The Village House B&B
#8 of 9 in Glenbeigh
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lissadell Lodge
Lissadell Lodge
#3 of 5 in Glenbeigh
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sleepy Camel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sleepy Camel

Address: The Village, Glenbeigh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glenbeigh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Glenbeigh
Price Range: £20 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Sleepy Camel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing