We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kerry Way stopover”
Review of The Sleepy Camel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sleepy Camel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kerry Way stopover”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly small and friendly hostel. Good kitchen facilities if you want to cook. Very accommodating staff - the girl in charge printed out the boarding passes for our return flight, which had been a worry. Loads of space in the very pleasant lounge. Basic but very nice place to stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    24
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
43
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, md, usa
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Beautiful setting, kind and professional staff, and lovely amenities. Due to some confusion before I arrived, my booking online went through but when I got into town late that night all the rooms had been filled - some sort of system error on Booking.com. The owner and his staff were incredibly understanding, kind, and concerned. After calling all the guests who hadn't shown up yet and other hotels around time to try to find a vacancy, they finally settled on bringing a bed down from upstairs and letting me sleep in the common room - assuring me that I shouldn't worry and I could count on having a bed to sleep in and a roof over my head that night. They set me up free of charge and gave me a comprehensive tour of the place, which is much more like a hotel than a hostel. Breakfast is free and begins at 7 and goes until 10 or so, and the people filing in and out of the place are very sweet, inviting, and generally very nice to strike up a conversation with. Definitely recommend staying here! What a kind and lovely reminder of Ireland at its best.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purdacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

They were very friendly and pleasant. Lovely place to stay for a reasonable price. It around a lovely little small town, very good for a quite walk. It's not far from a beach to have a walk along. The other guests were also very friendly. I would reccomend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely welcoming staff, I really could not give them enough praise. Very clean rooms & bathrooms, showers were powerful and lots of hot water at all times. Located in the centre of the village. Plenty of craic in the local pub 'ashas'

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Although described as a hostel, what you get at the Sleepy Camel is far in advance of what is on offer at similarly described venues. Our en suite room was spotlessly clean with a comfortable double bed which we didn't have to make up or strip on arrival/departure, and the pleasant decor and furnishings were more akin to a small hotel than a hostel. There was a good powerful shower with plentiful hot water. Bread and butter, juice, tea and coffee were gratis, and the communal kitchen was well appointed, clean and roomy. The manager is a great asset to the place, friendly and welcoming, and there is plenty of space to kick back and chillax in the lounge or conservatory after a long day's walking on the fabulous hills nearby. We had a quiet stay and good wifi was much appreciated. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hostel, which is a cut above what you would normally expect, to fellow hill walkers and will definitely check in again when next in Glenbeigh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KernowPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in the Sleepy Camel before and after doing the Glenbeigh Horseshoe walk (27km and 14 hours of walking). Excellent facilities and although only coffee and toast are available for breakfast we supplemented these with our own food. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcrtchly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Great value and ideal location. Really welcoming and relaxed place,clean and comfortable, all needs catered for. Its right on the ring of Kerry and beside the Skellig Ring too. Ideally situated for exploring Kerry and 2mins walk to pubs and restaurants. Stunning beach down the road. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenbeigh
0.2 mi away
Towers Hotel
Towers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glenbeigh
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kerry Ocean Lodge
Kerry Ocean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Glenbeigh
93 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#1 of 47 in Killarney
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Liosderrig House
Liosderrig House
#3 of 9 in Glenbeigh
58 reviews
6.1 mi away
Strand @ Inch Beach
Strand @ Inch Beach
#5 of 9 in Annascaul
47 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lakeshore Lodge at Caragh Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sleepy Camel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sleepy Camel

Property: The Sleepy Camel
Address: The Village, Glenbeigh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glenbeigh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Glenbeigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your The Sleepy Camel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing