We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay. Recommended.”
Review of Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Towers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenbeigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed here mid July when the weather was fabulous. I'd recommend the Superior rooms which are more spacious and have an outside patio area. Don't expect 5* luxury. This is a great hotel, with great service, in a great part of the country. What more could you want?
Avoid the over priced bar food if possible and opt instead for a 3 course meal for €25 in the Hotel restaurant (early bird served all evening). Breakfast is great too.
Located within falling distance of 3 bars. On a summer weekend evening it was very lively as people enjoyed the late evening sunshine, but in an enjoyable, join in the fun kind of way.

Room Tip: Superior rooms which are more spacious and have an outside patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Member,
Thank you very much for your response, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Towers and we hope to welcome you back in the not to distance future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Towers Hotel in Glenbeigh. The staff was very friendly and helpful, providing information on the local area and any requirements we had were looked after with no delay. The breakfast was good and service also. We enjoyed our trip a lot. We will certainly be back. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AnnaVismann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear AnnaVismann,
Thank you very much for taking the time out to review our property . We really appreciate comments (both positive and negative). We hope we get to welcome you back to the Towers again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed in the towers for 3 nights bed and breakfast while we were visiting family and friends in Kerry. Plenty of things to do in the area, with walks and activities plus Rossbeigh beach only 5 min drive away another must see! Can't fault this hotel at all, staff were so friendly and helpful, rooms spacious and spotlessly clean. Bar and restaurant equally as good with full menu and great daily specials. Would recommend for families and couples alike. I know we will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scania730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Scania730,
Thank you very much for taking the time out to review the Towers. We are delighted you got to see all that the Towers and Glenbeigh has to offer and we would only be delighted to welcome you back to the Towers again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just back from an originally planned 3 night break with hubby and 2 kids. So enjoyable we stayed on 1 extra night. Hotel is very quaint, clean and staff extremely friendly. Price for family room very reasonable. Bar food overpriced but family meals out in Ireland are very expensive. Wifi could certainly be improved but this not the fault of hotel.
Beautiful part of Ireland and we will return to hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquelineburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Jacqueline,
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope that you call to see us again soon...All the best from the staff at the Towers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I recently stayed in Towers Hotel, Glenbeigh, with family members. For the money we paid, the quality and service was very disappointing. This hotel is located in a beautiful spot in Kerry, and right on the Ring of Kerry route. It should be the star of the town - but unfortunately it feels more than a little unloved.

Our room smelled musty and damp, and it definitely was so, evidenced by my asthma becoming quite pronounced over our days there. There were wet marks on the VERY worn chair in the bedroom. The room was definitely damp.
Also, I saw a lot of storage heaters: not great for heating a place when the weather is cold. The heat is gone out of them by late afternoon, and there's not heat again until morning.

You get a nice hot, strong shower in the morning - but not a chance of one in the afternoon or any time later in the day. This isn't very satisfactory, particularly if you've just spent some time on the nearby beach. The water pressure is very bad in the afternoons and it barely gets above tepid.

Breakfast is also disappointing. Interestingly, on the bar menu is an item called 'full Irish breakfast'. So if you're passing through,you can order this. But if you're staying as a guest in the hotel, believe it or not, the full Irish isn't on the breakfast menu. Yes - you can get the sausages, bacon, fried egg and grilled tomato; but NOT the black and white pudding which is available as part of the 'full' Irish breakfast to those NOT staying in the hotel.
By the way, if you're having the poached egg, better to order it as plated without the toast. It is so full of water, the toast becomes quite soggy. We could pour the water off the plate.

Our double bed was made up from two singles put together: quite a common practice in hotels. Pity though the two beds that were put together weren't of the same height! Some of our party was in a twin room and had nice bed throws over the bed coverings. But it seems when you have a double bed, you don't get that. Just a plain white duvet and nothing else. Pity! The rooms are so bland that little bit of colour from the bed throw would have made a lot of difference.

We chose not to eat our main meals in the hotel - quite honestly because the food looked stodgy. We did have an afternoon snack there and were very disappointed in the service.

Overall this hotel feels outdated and lacking in attention to detail. It also doesn't feel or seem as clean as one might expect. We certainly feel we didn't get value for money.
Finally - there is no excuse for the small 1980's style portable TVs in the bedrooms. One guest stay per room (or less at the prices charged) would pay for a decent modern flat screen TV.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryJoEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear MaryJoEllen,
Thank you for the review posted on our hotel. I appreciate your opinion and would like to highlight some of the issues that you have raised.
The room being cold - As you are aware when you stayed with us in July we experienced one of the hottest summers in a long time. If anything I would have thought the room could have been too hot but I do understand that some people can be of a cold nature and if you had requested extra blankets we would have been more than happy to provide them all you need do was ask. This also brings me onto my second point:
The Storage Heaters - We have not operated storage heaters in the Towers in over 20 years. It is a central heating system operated and if you needed extra heating turned on we can do this instantly and even on a room by room basis....again all you need do was ask.- Photos of our heaters can be provided if necessary.
Hot Water - As you can see from all of our reviews we have never has a hot water problem in our hotel. Our water system is of the highest standard and very rarely if ever causes us problems.
Breakfast - I am baffled as to why you think you couldn't get a Full Irish Breakfast in the hotel. We are one of the very few hotels in Ireland that are not serving a buffet style breakfast but a freshly made to order breakfast which includes bacon,egg,sausage, tomato, and also puddings (black and white). While we offer a full Irish in addition to this we also have pancakes, Fresh fish of the day, Omelettes of your choice, French Toast and maple syrup to name but a few, and if needed a copy of the menu can be posted.
The last item I would like to clarify is the beds. We recently refurbished many rooms and some of the beds replaced were zip and link beds. The room you stayed in did in fact have a brand new zip and link bed which made it impossible for the beds to be of a different height.
I hope I have covered everything and if you have any further queries please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

As Chairman of our club i would just like to thank the Hotel for our 4 night stay. Anything you asked for you got it and always with a smile should it be going down for your breakfast and having a bit of craic with the cleaning ladies who were always smiling or LATE on when the bar staff were looking after you. First class food, first class drink,clean and a happy atmosphere. The most important bit for myself was the way you made all our young player's, their families and the rest of our party feel so much at ease and at home in your surroundings.

Tony mc Collum

Room Tip: Anywhere in the hotel just go and enjoy yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Tony,
Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Towers. Your group were fantastic and we would only love to have them back again in the future.
Wishing you all the best for next years competition.
Kind regards,

Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our Group from Kickhams Creggan GAC Co. Antrim stayed last weekend while taking part in the John Egan U14 Tournament .From the moment we arrived we were looked after so well by the friendly, accommodating staff of the Towers. We ate in both the Bar and the Restaurant and all agreed the food was excellent and great value for money. We had fabulous weather and the children enjoyed the garden and the nearby Rossbeigh strand. Staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them!! We had such a good time at the Towers no-one wanted to leave!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 3 is large and airy!! Garden rooms are great if travelling with children as they can play outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiseRandalstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear LouiseRandlestown,
Thank you very much for your review and I have to say the pleasure was all ours in looking after your group!
We are delighted that all the kids and parents enjoyed their stay and the atmosphere around the hotel was brilliant for the whole week. I am thrilled that everyone enjoyed both the dining-room and the bar food as it does give people plenty of options on what they would like to eat. I hope that we get to see some of the faces again as they really were a fantastic group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenbeigh hotels
0 mi away
Kerry Ocean Lodge
Kerry Ocean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Glenbeigh
105 reviews
0 mi away
The Village House B&B
The Village House B&B
#8 of 9 in Glenbeigh
30 reviews
0 mi away
Liosderrig House
Liosderrig House
#3 of 9 in Glenbeigh
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lissadell Lodge
Lissadell Lodge
#3 of 5 in Glenbeigh
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sleepy Camel
The Sleepy Camel
#2 of 5 in Glenbeigh
160 reviews
0 mi away
Hillcrest House B and B
Hillcrest House B and B
#4 of 9 in Glenbeigh
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towers Hotel

Address: The Village Centre, Glenbeigh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glenbeigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenbeigh
Price Range: £55 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an old world victorian style family run hotel, situated in the heart of picturesque Glenbeigh Village on the famous Ring of Kerry.We are famous for our fresh food with fine dining in The Curra restaurant as well as more relaxed dining in The Loft restaurant and our Olde Bar.We are delighted to announce that we are now fully certified certified for private and civil weddings in our very own unique chapel 'The Little Belfry', call or email us for details on our wedding package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kerry Glenbeigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing