We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stop but very illustrative”

Kerry Bog Village Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$265.17*
and up
Ring of Kerry Private Tour from Killarney
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Glenbeigh
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Short stop but very illustrative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This small recreation of a village illustrates very well how the life of the people in the area would had been a long time ago.
If you have no time to stop in Bunratty which is similar but much bigger, don't miss the opportunity to see this one.
You can also go to the pub beside it. Its very friendly but try to skip the hours in the morning when all the tour coaches block the place

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margarita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    65
    37
    20
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
458 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Recreated Bog Village Is a Treat to Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our tour stopped here as we traveled on the Ring of Kerry, and I'm glad it did. Although they're recreated, the bog houses give you a feel for what it must have been like to live, work, and die in an original bog village. My wife and I took tons of pictures, and I also took a short video of a young woman playing the violin in one of the houses. The sights, sounds, and most of all smells of the village seemed completely authentic. If you're doing the Ring of Kerry, the Bog Village is definitely worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank psychprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good for pictures”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

and as a place to pas an hour on a wet day. The village is small, well laid out and the person taking tickets on the entrance gate was friendly and helpful. However the information available is limited, and the lady in the gift shop was not very friendly to us although she had been to the American visitors just in before us. Perhaps she guessed, correctly, that we weren't going to be busying any of the tourist tat that seemed to be all that was available.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank niamhsfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Interesting stop to start our Ring of Kerry tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our first stop on the peninsula tour. We enjoyed seeing how villagers lived back in the day. Also, it was interesting to see the Irish Wolf Hound and Kerry Bog Pony conservations.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

An unplanned stop brought us to Bog Village which contained several cottages, a gypsy caravan, a blacksmith shop and the smell of burning peat. Lovely chance for close-up photos of Irish cottages. The bog ponies were interesting, too. Don't know that I would make Bog Village my destination for the day but it certainly was interesting enough for the low entry price. Only live person aside from the ticket taker was an Irish musician who only played if you stepped in to her cottage. Seeing how tiny the cottages are and trying to imagine how people lived in such close quarters was interesting. It's a nice way to stretch your legs and is a nice, level surface if you have mobility problems.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kerry Bog Village Museum also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
County Kerry, Province of Munster
 

Been to Kerry Bog Village Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing