We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Campsite for the Ring of Kerry” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenross Camping & Caravanning Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenbeigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenross Camping & Caravanning Park
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Perfect Campsite for the Ring of Kerry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We selected the Glenross site for our 7 night stay while visiting the South-West of Ireland as we wanted to be close to the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle peninsula, and found the cleanliness of the site, location, and friendliness of the owners absolutely outstanding. We were welcomed by Kathy with plenty of information about local attractions (including a discount to the Kerry Bog Museum!), and allowed to choose any of the free hard-standings available. The view of the sea and the mountains is not that easy to see from the touring caravans (the surrounding hedge is too high), although the static caravans higher up in the park probably have an amazing view! The village of Glenbeigh is really full of useful places, like the Glenbeigh Hotel next door which serves very reasonable and tasty meals in convivial surroundings (try the seafood chowder), and the Centra supermarket and filling station that serve home-made pizza and other ready snacks as well as a full range of groceries. The nearby beach of Rossbeigh is quite lovely and horse-rides along the beach are available for those interested. The caravan site has a games room with two billiard tables, a well-equipped laundry room, and a rather draughty shower and toilet block (showers are €1 for 8 minutes), with the most useless hand driers in the world. Our caravan would not pick up a TV signal (still analogue in this part if Ireland for a while), but the friendly Kathy was happy to lend us a TV and aerial which worked fine, which was very kind of her. The Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula are stunningly beautiful, especially when the weather is good, and, apart from the endless stream of coaches, exceeded our expectations for interesting places, good food, and friendly people. If you don't mind going seriously off the beaten track, try going across the mountains of McGillicuddy Reeks for total solitude and breath-taking views. Altogether, a caravan park and a holiday to remember.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank John080347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Theys, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stay one night here, it is very clean and well maintained. A little bit too expensive when adding shower coins. Prefer put your tent on the top rather in the bottom because the grass is very wet even without any rain during one week.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenjaminFromFance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

The layout for this site is fantastic. Even though it's full, it feels very private with the positions of the pitches. We could only stay one night. The facilities are great and spotless. Highly recommend it for touring the beautiful ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tessiebear40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We spent four nights camping in August 2012. We initially planned for two nights but stayed because it was such an excellent touring location for the Ring of Kerry, Killarney and the Dingle Peninsula.
This is a quiet family run site and no noise late at night. There were electric hooks ups available for campers at a small extra charge. There is an excellent laundry and the toilets and showers are immaculate and cleaned frequently during the day. The pot wash and dining area had a communal fridge/ freezer, microwave and kettle and a large dining area with table and chairs.
The owners, Sean and Kathy went out of their way to help us book a boat trip to the Blasket Islands- many of the tour operators were fully booked because of the good weather, so he phoned around several operators and eventually booked us onto an Eco Tour departing from Ventry where we saw whales, dolphins and seals. Glenbeigh is a lovely town with a good selection of bars and restaurant. My husband forgot his expensive Berghaus Windstopper Fleece in the potwash- we phoned them and they posted it back to us in Northern Ireland-this is a truly excellent site and look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sheena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

What a wonderful site! Our visit started with a really friendly welcome from Cathy as we arrived, she and Sean couldn't have been more helpful throughout our five day stay. They advised on places to visit, (and where to ask for discounts), where to eat a special meal, they seemed to be on duty all the time. The situation is ideal, there are beautiful views from the site and it is ideally placed for touring the Ring of Kerry, the Dingle Peninsula and the Kilarney National Park. The site is really well cared for and kept spotlessly clean. Although the weather was pretty bad the wash rooms were always clean. Water and electric on or very near to each pitch, free Wi Fi available in the caravan. Now we've 'done' SW Ireland it is unlikely we will return but I whole heartedly recommend this site.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I stayed at Glenross for 2 nights camping in July 2012, the site is located on the Ring of Kerry in the village of Glenbeigh, it has all the facilities a camper or caravanner would need. Toilets/showers, laundrette & play room it also has a campers kitchen & dining room with a kettle, microwave and fridge/freezer free to use. The view is of Dingle bay & peninsula lovely. The owner Kathy Fleming makes you feel very welcome, and is on hand to advise of places to see. The village is quaint and has a petrol station, restaurants, cafes and shops. The beach is a 5 min drive away, there is lots to do close by and as i said your on the Ring of Kerry so you have to do it. Great location for touring the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beanmuncha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

One of my favourits sites in Ireland. Facilities immaculate - great location - great size pitches. Owner very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajh1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenbeigh
0.7 mi away
Towers Hotel
Towers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glenbeigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sleepy Camel
The Sleepy Camel
#1 of 5 in Glenbeigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
6.2 mi away
Strand @ Inch Beach
Strand @ Inch Beach
#5 of 9 in Annascaul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Fleming's White Bridge - Caravan & Camping Park
3.8 mi away
Ard na Sidhe Country House
Ard na Sidhe Country House
#1 of 2 in Caragh Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liosderrig House
Liosderrig House
#3 of 9 in Glenbeigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenross Camping & Caravanning Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenross Camping & Caravanning Park

Property: Glenross Camping & Caravanning Park
Address: Glenbeigh, Co. Kerry, Glenbeigh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glenbeigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Glenbeigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overall Park of the year 2009, Glenross Caravan Park is situatedon the Ring of Kerry overlooking Rossbeigh Beach and theDingle Mountains. Quietly located before entering GlenbeighVillage this award winning Caravan Club affiliated site isattractively laid out with hard standing pitches for touringcaravans/motor homes - some with stunning views of the seaand lovely camping section for tenters.Facilities include: Modern toilet block and laundry, newcampers dining area with wash-up facilities, fridge-freezer,microwave & electric kettle, open air drying room. Easyaccess waste disposal station for motor homes. Children’sgames room, public telephone, free wifi access on allpitches, also bicycle hire on site. Dog walks nearby and onthe beach.Mobile Homes are also available to hire on site with TV/DVDPlayers included in price. Also luxury holiday houses for rent.Glenross is ideal base for touring the Ring of Kerry, Dingle,Skellig Heritage Centre, Valentia Island, Killarney & NationalPark, located on the Kerry Way for walkers. Dooks & KillorglinGolf clubs nearby. Water sports, fishing, horse-riding, cycling,walking and climbing are all within a short distance of thePark. The main attraction to this village is the superb Blue Flagbeach, Rossbeigh, which stretches over four kilometres withviews across the bay. Only five minutes by car from the site thisbeach provides idyllic conditions for swimming and walkingwith some fantastic bird watching. On the beach is a brandnew children’s playground, basketball, soccer and tennis court.This area is a haven for the outdoors.The Glenbeigh Hotel is located beside the Park & serves fooddaily with music & trad. sessions during the season. A pint ofGuinness somehow in the Emerald Isle always seems to tastefiner and more smooth. The village is a 5 minute stroll fromthe Park with shops, bars, takeaways and supermarkets.ICC/Failte Ireland Award 2010 Best Seaside ParkICC/Fáilte Ireland Award 2009 Overall Park of the YearICC Failte Ireland Award 2001 - Best 4 star parkChosen as: The Caravan Club Site.Recommended by: Reputable Guides & our customers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing