We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We drove up to Castle View and collectively...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Glenbeigh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kaseinsy
cape cod
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We drove up to Castle View and collectively gasped!!"”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our group of 11 just returned from a holiday in Glenbeigh where we stayed at the Castle View House. It is absolutely spectacular...beginning when you pull through the gates and witness the breathtaking view of the bay and the castle and horses. The house was immaculate and much more spacious than it looks in the pictures. The kitchen is very large and has everything you need to cook and feed a large group. The long kitchen table overlooks the water and castle as do both living rooms and two of the upstairs bedrooms. The master bedroom is huge and the bathroom is as well with a jacuzzi that also offers a view of the water and castle. You can walk right down the hill to several pubs and the drive to the beach is only a few minutes. The owner Eileen was very responsive to several small requests. Our entire group cannot offer up enough praise on how much we loved staying at the Castle House....please feel free to contact me if you would like a more detailed review/reference.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2015
Thank you for your kind review. I look forward to you staying in my home again.
Kind Regards to all. Eileen & Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Declan K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning house, stunning location”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This house is fantastic, in a stunning location within walking distance of the beautiful village of Glenbeigh. The house itself has everything you could want and more. Top quality accommodation with beautiful views. Our family have stayed here twice before and love it so much are returning again this year. Eileen the owner is friendly and accommodating and willing to help in any way. We have stayed in many holiday homes in Ireland over the years but Castleview House is by far the best . Can't wait for this year.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2015
I look forward to having you stay again. Thank you, Eileen & Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJayneS
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!!”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was our second stay at Castle View and again it was fabulous. It certainly won't be our last! The house is beautifully clean, spacious and extremely well equipped with everything you could possibly need. The views from the house are amazing. The village has everything you could need - petrol station with supermarket, post office, pubs and restaurants. The only shop missing was a pharmacy, so we had to go into Kilorglin just a 10 minute drive away where there are several . As we did last year, we enjoyed several meals in Rumours and The Glenbeigh Hotel and enjoyed a Guinness in the Towers. The weather was good for the first few days and wet for the last. This did not keep us in and we thoroughly enjoyed driving around the Ring of Kerry, the Wild Atlantic Way, up into the mountains and going to Bantry Bay. The Ring of Beara is beautiful even on a wet day. As I said last year, 'We really must go back to Glenbeigh and Castle View in summer'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, the space, the views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2015
Thank you for returning to Castle View House, I'm delighted you love Glenbeigh.
Kind Regards, Eileen & family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaSusil...
Maldon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, amazing view, perfect location.”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This house was lovely. Very modern, clean and everything provided. Eileen Sheahan was very friendly and helpful. The house is in a good location in the village with a wonderful view. I could not recommend Castle View more highly.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind review. Eileen & family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D
Pittsford, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional property and location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We planned a family vacation to Ireland including 6 adults and 5 children ages 8-16. The property owner / manager was very organized and prompt in her responses and was available during our stay if we needed her. The property is really exceptional. We pulled in after a long travel day and were greeted by a beautiful landscape and horses grazing just beyond the back yard with a castle ruin behind them, breathtaking view to have coffee in the morning with.

The house was immaculate, well equipped, and spacious, including modern appliances and satellite TV and WIFI. It's location is about a 5 minute walk to the charming village of Glenbeigh where several pubs had live entertainment on most evenings and a little grocery store where our kids wandered to to get treats daily.

We were able to hike up a mountain from the house on the Kerry trail and walk to a horse riding stable to ride on the beach. A 30-45 minute drive to Killarney, 15 minute drive to Killorglin, a much larger village. Centrally located to explore the ring of Kerry, Dingle peninsula and the Killarney National Park.

If there where a 6th star rating, this property would deserve it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind review. Eileen & Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R0n7
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A terrific house and location”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent 9 days with our extended family in Castle View. Having rented properties in Portugal and the USA, compared to them, we were really impressed with this property. The house is in pristine condition and the fully equipped kitchen and washing facilities made it home from home. Eileen was a pleasure to deal with and I recommend this house to anyone.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind review. Eileen & Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianeh207
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a marvelous first trip to Ireland!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

my brother and I booked this house for 12 family members travelling to Ireland to celebrate my daughter's 17th birthday, as it was somewhere she had always wanted to go. We were not disappointed!! The house was magnificent and the view was amazing! Eileen the owner even kindly ordered a beautiful birthday cake and had it there with candles for when we arrived. My daughter loved it!! I could not fault the owner, the house or the surrounding area. The local people were lovely and we had a good last night in the Towers pub and restaurant. Overall an amazing stay and a fantastic holiday letting. Can't wait to return!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views and the amenities
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2015
Thank you for booking Castle View House. Hope to see you again in Glenbeigh.
kind Regards, Eileen & Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing