We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here if you want the heebie-jeebies!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenbeigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Olde Glenbeigh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Glenbeigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Breakfast was good and the daughter of the owner is a very pleasant woman--that's the extent of the positive things. I believe she said the hotel building was built in the 1700s; I think that may have also been the last time that it was cleaned! Our room was gross--when I am paying to stay somewhere, I don't want to see cob webs all of the curtains and numerous bugs, both dead and alive. The place had a smell throughout and defintely looks like it could've been haunted (I think this is what some people mistake for charm!). I'm all about a charming place, but that shouldn't come with bugs and spider webs. The bed was like sleeping on a box full of springs--not comfortable at all; specially after having hiked 30 miles along the Kerry Way--we would've been better suited camping outside in the rain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

Me and my Wife have passed this quaint hotel many times over the years and heard many good accounts about the food and so when we recently dropped in for lunch we were not disappointed. All of the staff were friendly and attentive making for a warm friendly Irish welcome. Drinks and food orders were taken in a timely manner with the waiter taking the time to discuss the additional specials on offer. As it was Sunday I ashamedly opted for that famous Irish favourite of roast beef and Yorkshire pudding with the Wife opting for the salmon. Despite being fairly busy the food arrived shortly afterwards and was piping hot. An ample portion of freshly sliced roast beef arrived covered with a rich delicious gravy and a large home made Yorkshire pudding being one of the finest I have tasted!!! Vegetables consisting of potatoes,cauliflower cheese, sweet mashed parsnips & carrots, arrived as individual separate portions ample for us both. The wife's salmon was described as being perfectly cooked, delicious, and accompanied with a separate bowl of sauce to accommodate for an individuals taste. More Guinness was ordered whilst we perused the desert menu at out leisure passing pleasant conversation with the waiter. I opted for home made pavlova with fresh fruit salad and lashings of fresh cream whilst the wife opted for an equally delightful Irish whiskey cake. All in all excellent service, value for money and great food served in quaint surroundings. Will definitely call again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located just on the northern side of the ring of Kerry. It is within easy walking distance of the village where we ate at the local bistro.
The room was large, clean and comfortable and like the rest of the hotel tastefully furnished in a traditional style. The breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty. There is no cold buffet if you prefer a lighter option, just cereals. The dining room was memorable as it is decorated with assorted silverware.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed at the hotel for the first time in November of 2011, though I'd been in the pub on previous trips to Kerry for a quick meal or a drink. I keep going back, at least once a year, and it really does feel like coming home for a visit. How nice to be recognized and greeted as a friend when visiting from overseas! My favorite room in the hotel has a bay window with a great view, even in winter, of the garden and the bay. But it's still hard to stay in the room when the warmth of the pub, the atmosphere, the fire in the fireplace and the company of the Keary's and their local guests. Mary Keary's serves a lovely breakfast in the dining room of the hotel, while her son Killian and his wife Marie will keep you well fed and watered in the pub. I travelled there alone to do some writing and I've travelled there with friends. It's always a welcome respite from the road.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAMeaux3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

didn't stay in the hotel only came for meals 2x while visiting family
amazing big and taste devine
lovely friendly staff even though they knew my dad as hes local and
we enjoyed it went back again .
very friendly people and just so relaxing and nice place

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We have just returned home from a second visit to Glenbeigh and are surprised and delighted to be able to report that this visit was even better than the first. We arrived at the Hotel and were immediately recognised and welcomed by the barman who was there last year. We checked into our room (the room we had requested) which was warm and welcoming, just as we remembered it, commanding stunning views over the beautiful gardens and Dingle peninsula. The Hotel is a charming olde Hotel with a friendly and homely atmosphere. There are two beautiful sittings rooms for relaxing in, which would put "so called" superior Hotels in the shade. There is also a fabulous dining room where one of the best ever, freshly cooked breakfasts is served. Breakfast also consists of fresh brown bread, hot toast and lashings of hot coffee. We missed out on breakfast one morning and this did not go unnoticed by the staff who offered us a full cooked breakfast when we appeared quite late. Food in general at the hotel was always fresh, hot and in abundance and quite reasonably priced. There is always someone to have a conversation with and everyone has a different story to tell. The staff as well as some of the locals were always on hand to help and offer advice on trips, give directions, throw in their twopence worth...for which we were very grateful. The Hotel is a great advertisement for Kerry and the Kerry people. We were fortunate enough to have Mikey entertain us with his usual high standard of piano playing and singing....(.young Mikey is not bad either). One word of advice though, don’t ever plan an early night here, because it can be very hard to leave the bar and the craic.........worth the hangover though...! We found Marie and Cillian to be exceptional hosts and were always on hand with a smile, a friendly word and all the assistance we needed. We had not planned on returning until next year, but now we feel we cannot wait that long..So now looking forward to the next trip which is not too far away. Look out Glenbeigh "here we come".

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the gardens and the view of Dingle peninsula
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esereht59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Didn't stay in the hotal but but went in for a meal. Lovely old fashioned charming decor. For the meal, I had bacon and cabbage which was excellent, plenty of succulent bacon, cabbage and a generous side helping of veg. Others in my group were also impressed with the food they had - lasangne and cottage pie.
Intended to go back the next day for another meal but sadly didn't get around to it as we were out of Glenbeigh.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LadyOfThePen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
datura1, Manager at The Olde Glenbeigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

dear reviewer,

thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I have passed on your comments to the kitchen team. Its makes our hard work worthwhile when we get such positive feedback!

we hope to welcome you back to Glenbeigh again very soon.

kind regards,

Marie Keary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenbeigh hotels
0 mi away
Kerry Ocean Lodge
Kerry Ocean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Glenbeigh
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Towers Hotel
Towers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glenbeigh
173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rossbeigh Beach House B&B
Rossbeigh Beach House B&B
#2 of 9 in Glenbeigh
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Liosderrig House
Liosderrig House
#3 of 9 in Glenbeigh
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sleepy Camel
The Sleepy Camel
#2 of 5 in Glenbeigh
160 reviews
0 mi away
The Village House B&B
The Village House B&B
#8 of 9 in Glenbeigh
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Glenbeigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Glenbeigh Hotel

Address: 1 Avenue Drive | Curraheen Little, Glenbeigh V93 K0W9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glenbeigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Glenbeigh
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel in the beautiful village of Glenbeigh, Co. Kerry. The Hotel is just 2kms from Rossbeigh Beach on the Wild Atlantic Way. It's centrally located to tour The Ring of Kerry, Visit Skellig Island or walk the Kerry Way. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing