We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location”
Review of Kerry Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kerry Ocean Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenbeigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and had a fantastic time. The room was a nice size and the shower was powerful. The only drawbacks were that the bed was a bit uncomfortable and squeaked when you turned over. New mattresses needed? And the small TV was perched on top of a wardrobe so hard to see, although we barely turned it on. The location is amazing and very quiet. We ate at a local pub which is a 5 minute walk away. The breakfast was lovely with a lot of choice. Eugene was friendly and very helpful. I would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gershwin087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I stayed her for 4 nights with our walking group(Go Ireland -Hidden Kerry) and it was a great spot plus we were very well taken care of by Eugene and all his Staff. Lovely freshly cooked breakfasts and packed lunches also . Another great thing is the drying room when the wet weather hit- terrific especially for shoes and boots. Luckily it fined and we had some lovely weather as well. It was nice to stay in Glenbeigh as it is more of a village and quieter than other centres in Kerry eg. Killarney

Room Tip: It is a long way up the stairs with luggage but probably quieter on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had an excellent time here. Beautiful location, a couple of minutes from the centre of Glenbeigh village with a mountain in the background (Towers Hotel Glenbeigh, Bar & Restaurant not recommended for food ). The room for the 3 of us was more room than I expected, good shower, clean towels. The outside yard is lovely with a great view of the ocean. Cons - Very uncomfortable bed, squeaky and lumpy - I was going to tell the owner but did not get the chance as we were out most of the time but really think the beds / mattresses need updating. On the whole though I would recommend as I found it value for money and the settling was lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing little place with great value for money. We paid 50 euros for double rooms.

Rooms: everything seems new, rooms are very big, well maintained, with big showers and tv.

Location: some distance to the bigger places in Kerry that have restaurants/pubs but really worth it if looking to save. Just be ready to drive back and forth after your meals etc

Relax! Really nice place to just sit back and relax, great view outside the hotel with a small garden and a nice dog, owners are really nice.

Breakfast was just 7 euros for a veggie meal and open buffet with fruits/cereals/juice and coffee/tea!

There's a big room for guests to watch tv, play chess or other games.

Ideal for a group of friends on a Roadtrip or a couple looking for an "escape" place away from big villages.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hicham Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had an excellent time here. The room for the 3 of us was more room than I expected, we have been pretty crammed before. The outside yard is lovely with a great view of the ocean. Our GPS couldn't find it but the village is small and a local pointed us in the right direction. The location is great for Ring of Kerry travelers and its a quiet town to have dinner and pints in and experience some great local personalities and music with a homey, non-tourist feeling. We loved the town and the experience.
We did not have the breakfast served in the Lodge, not for any particular reason, just didn't.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Pros - Beautiful location, a couple of minutes from the centre of Glenbeigh village with a mountain in the background.
Huge garden, picnic tables, washing line.
Nice big rooms, good shower, clean towels and beds made daily.

Cons - Very uncomfortable bed, creaky and lumpy - I was going to tell the owner but did not get the chance (and see below) as we were out most of the time but really think the beds / mattresses need updating, unless this was just the one creaky one but I don't think so as have read another review which mentions the same problem.

I found the proprietor a little standoffish in manner, no warmth in the welcome, quite brusque and quiet, maybe we caught him at a bad time but this being Kerry I really did expect a bit of friendly chitchat but none was forthcoming.


On the whole though I would recommend as I found it value for money and the settling was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyOfThePen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This place is really overselling and overcharging as a luxury b and b. It is a moderate budget style guest house. I am a bit mystified by previous reviews. My room was small, spartan and very basic.The decor throughout is tired and old-fashioned. It is all pretty devoid of any homely comforts. The TV was a tiny ancient portable with no remote control. Bath towels were also tiny, which is such an annoying fault. Really does it save money not to supply full sized bath towels? The host was somewhat mercurial- gruff or effusive. I would not stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speranza927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenbeigh
0.0 mi away
Towers Hotel
Towers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glenbeigh
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
768 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
590 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerry Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerry Ocean Lodge

Address: Main Road, Glenbeigh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glenbeigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenbeigh
Price Range: £52 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kerry Ocean Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerry Ocean Lodge is located in the village of Glenbeigh on the famous Ring of Kerry route. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is available and there is also a lounge area for relaxing. This is an ideal stopover for walkers, golfers, tourists etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kerry Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing