We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite B&B during our trip”
Review of Keldun House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keldun House
Ranked #1 of 4 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“A favorite B&B during our trip”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We loved our brief stay at this B&B. Bernadette was one of the most welcoming hostesses we had while touring Ireland. Very friendly and engaging. We had a triple room, which was very comfortable. Breakfast was to-order and wonderful. Parking in back was very convenient. While Tarbert may not be a destination in itself, it is convenient place to stay when using the ferry to Kilrush. Would stay again just to enjoy the company of Bernadette and her family.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CML0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
30
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Staying at Keldun House was wonderful! We wanted to take the Tarbert Ferry to avoid Limerick traffic and decided an early morning crossing would be best for us. Not only was this B&B just two-three minutes from the crossing point, it was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Bernadette was especially kind and we enjoyed visiting with her. We met Pat in the morning and he suggested we visit Loop Head for a close view of some of Ireland's West Coast cliffs - we took his advice and it was the highlight of our day- we actually enjoyed it more than the Cliffs of Moher. So if you miss a late night ferry, or want to take an early one, spend the night at Keldun House- you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredBoiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

You cannot go to Ireland without visiting the beautiful West Coast. From Keldun House we made daily trips to Ring of Kerry, Dingle Peninsula,Limerick, etc. Coming back to this beautiful B&B at night was a highlight of our day. Bernadette and Patrick could not do enough to make our stay comfortable and a pleasure. We looked forward every day to her breakfasts which are included in the cost of the stay. We have stayed there on 2 separate trips to Ireland and hope to make it number 3 in the future. Love them and their B&B.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely and nicely decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

As you approach the front door the windows fairly sparkle. The interior is warm & welcoming with shiny natural wood floors and authentic plaster detailing on the ceiling of this marvelous 200 year old restored home. The rooms are all tastefully decorated and quiet. The view from the breakfast room is charming with flowers in profusion in April & May. This was my second stay and there was never a question that I would return, it is like coming home. Bernadette & Patrick provide just the right balance of attention to your needs. Selections abound for breakfast, fresh fruit , Greek yogurt, and the hot dishes are excellent. Our hostess even suggested a new destination, the Ring of Beara, for us to explore. The views were breathtaking. Should you need a competent driver to show you the "real" Ireland, just ask your hosts.

Room Tip: All rooms are snug & quiet. You won't need a fitness center, challenging walking trails abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seniorstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We had reserved at Dillane's Farmhouse but they had a schedule conflict at the last minute so they arrainged for us to stay at Keldun House right in town. What a nice surprise it was, too. Bernadette was so welcoming and helpful. Our room was spotless and we had a wonderful breakfast. A great value and wonderful jumping point for the Tarbert ferry. Really felt like being at home.

Room Tip: Parking behind house is very convenient!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tandyjo_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I wholeheartedly recommend Keldun House. We were greeted with smiles, treated to a comfortable stay, and sent off with a hearty and tasty breakfast. Tarbert also features a nice restaurant and a friendly pub.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We got the last ferry across from Clare, planning to cycle on to Glin to find that there was a festival and everywhere was booked. The Kelleher family made room for us and we were extremely grateful. Great hospitality and genuine friendliness. Lovely bright breakfast room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuairteoir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
10.0 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
363 reviews
13.6 mi away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Kirby's Lanterns Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast
3.8 mi away
Knights Haven
Knights Haven
#3 of 4 in Glin
85 reviews
5.0 mi away
Castle View House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keldun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keldun House

Property: Keldun House
Address: Main Street, Tarbert, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keldun House is a beautifully restored two hundred year old townhouse ideally located in the centre of Tarbert village in County Kerry within two minutes drive of the Tarbert/Killimer Shannon Car Ferry. Keldun House Bed and Breakfast in Tarbert is offering top quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation with excellent facilities on offer. Tarbert is located in the northern part of County Kerry right on the River Shannon. Its on the N69 coast road from Limerick City to Listowel along the Shannon estuary.Tarbert offers a number of lovely walks and great golfing and angling possibilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keldun House Ireland/Tarbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing