We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keldun B&B is the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Keldun House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keldun House
Ranked #1 of 4 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Dixon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keldun B&B is the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We arrived in Tarbert late in the evening assuming that the town with a ferry crossing would have a number of hotels to choose from. Wrong! We ended up at Hanrahan's Pub by the Ferry ramp. They suggested Keldun's. It was between that and a Hostel for my husband and my 11 year old daughter and me At that point we were just hoping to find a bed. Then Bernadette opened the door and invited us into her home. She was the most warm, friendly, delightful person we have have met on our trip. Bernadette put us in a beautiful, clean spacious room, asked us what we wanted for breakfast, then recommended a wonderful Asian restaurant for dinner. The beds were comfortable, the room spacious, the breakfast delicious!! Highly recommend staying at Keldun's!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
28
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Travelling to the south of Ireland, I needed a quick overnight stay in the Tarbert area. Enter trip advisor, which highlighted the Keldun House....23 reviews and all excellent! It seemed a no-brainer, but could it be that good?. Right from the moment of arrival to when I left, Bernadette and her husband were the perfect hosts. I booked (and paid for) a single room, but actually had a family room with aces of space. It was spotless, very comfy bed and great shower. Advice was sought and given on where to eat in the evening (The Swanky) and the breakfast the following morning was great. Can it really be that good...? Most definately "Yes"!

Room Tip: A room at the rear of the house is quieter as its away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turbinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We missed the second last ferry of the day and decided to stay in Tarbert for the night taking a chance on this B@ B in the main street. It was perfect, good room, everything worked, perfect hostess Bernadette, lovely breakfast and not a thing to complain about.
Parking out the back, helpful advice given, it was all good.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Bernadette is a wonderful hostess. We arrived late in the afternoon and were shown to a sparkling clean, well decorated room with a spotless en suite. We were given advice on evening dining options, tourist info and ferry timetables for the morning. In the morning she cooked the best porridge I have ever tasted. Nothing was too much trouble and always with a smile

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. We were at the front which wasn't a problem until morning. Can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Irish hospitality at its best! Lovely clean room with tea making facilities. The breakfast was great and cooked at a time of your choice. Nothing was too much trouble. Tarbert is small but offers several bars and shops aswell as walks and fishing,and of course the ferry over to Clare, it's an ideal place to stay while on your travels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed there last year on our bike tour through Ireland. We arrrived quite wet after a windy and rainy day, and it was such a luxury to find a room so beautiful and clean. Our hosts were friendly and also interesting to talk to. The breakfast was also just wonderful.
They also had a safe place in their backyard for our bikes.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmliebstenmitRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We loved our brief stay at this B&B. Bernadette was one of the most welcoming hostesses we had while touring Ireland. Very friendly and engaging. We had a triple room, which was very comfortable. Breakfast was to-order and wonderful. Parking in back was very convenient. While Tarbert may not be a destination in itself, it is convenient place to stay when using the ferry to Kilrush. Would stay again just to enjoy the company of Bernadette and her family.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CML0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
10.0 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 8 in Listowel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
13.2 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Kirby's Lanterns Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast
5.0 mi away
Castle View House Bed and Breakfast
3.8 mi away
Knights Haven
Knights Haven
#3 of 3 in Glin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keldun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keldun House

Property: Keldun House
Address: Main Street, Tarbert, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keldun House is a beautifully restored two hundred year old townhouse ideally located in the centre of Tarbert village in County Kerry within two minutes drive of the Tarbert/Killimer Shannon Car Ferry. Keldun House Bed and Breakfast in Tarbert is offering top quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation with excellent facilities on offer. Tarbert is located in the northern part of County Kerry right on the River Shannon. Its on the N69 coast road from Limerick City to Listowel along the Shannon estuary.Tarbert offers a number of lovely walks and great golfing and angling possibilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keldun House Ireland/Tarbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing