We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, not fussy, pricey and beautiful location. No evening meal available when we stayed.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tahilla Cove Country House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tahilla Cove Country House
Ranked #2 of 9 Sneem B&B and Inns
County Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Quiet, not fussy, pricey and beautiful location. No evening meal available when we stayed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed as paying guests of Dr Waterhouse and her husband some time ago. We know the area very well and wanted just to stay and relax rather than drive and sight see. It was a last minute decision. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay, even if one pays quite a premium for it. It was somewhat disappointing that evening meals were not available when we stayed and so we went to the Lemon Tree restaurant in Kenmare.

The accommodation was quaint but very comfortable and away from the main house a short distance. The setting was beautiful and the gardens and lapping water from Kenmare Bay were bewitching at sunset. The midgies were a major problem, so if you are out and about in evening time or leave bedroom windows open you are likely to be bitten. One of us was severely bitten and required GP attention on returning home. A word of warning or a sign would help in this regard.

Breakfast was good and we enjoyed meeting one or two other travelers. It was very quiet when we stayed - perhaps five or six guests in total.. Dr Waterhouse was most gracious, as was her son. The bar area was small and homely and we enjoyed a drink or two there. We must say that we found Carrig Country House on Caragh Lake (further westwards on the Ring) a little more enjoyable. But let's not take from Tahilla Cove. We would certainly return and will do so in the autumn, hopefully.

There is lots to do in the local area - walking, swimming, golf, cycling, equestrian centre locally and both fresh water and sea angling.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coolnacarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

If the Ring of Kerry means tour buses and chain hotels then you haven't been to Tahilla Cove. Quiet, palm trees, gracious hosts and a great breakfast every day make this a truly special place. There is a stone pier out on the water and every day I went out there intending to read but it was just too peaceful to do anything but relax. The rooms are not filled with precious antiques but they are extremely comfortable and immaculately clean.
I'd suggest arriving in daylight, for the view and because the road down to it is a little hairy at night at first.

Room Tip: There are two buildings. Food is served in the main building but the smaller building has perfect pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

I have travelled to many hotels bot abroad and in Ireland for busniess and pleasure and I have to admit that Tahilla Cove Country House has to be one of the most special places I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The atmospehere is home from from home - superbly cosy and the friendliest hosts you can imagine. I cannot recommend this hotel enough !!

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a sea view that is a bonus !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gulliver077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Why did I let such an age go by before I returned to Tahilla ? "Young James " even remembered my tipple is gin and bitter lemon ! With my friend from Vancouver, we had a memorable stay with Deirdre and James, the same wonderful hospitality as before. The rooms are so comfortable and the views superb. We enjoyed our evenings in the bar, James makes a mean omelette and chips ! We will be back again next year and for many years after that I hope. As a base for discovering Kerry, it couldn't be better and the walks in the vicinity are lovely. It is great to see a family tradition being carried on with such success.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daphne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Tahilla Cove Country House is nice for a lovely getaway. The scenery is just stunning when you walk out to the backyard and you have the bay at your feet! The wildlife and the pure beauty of the place is fantastic! If you love to take photos, this is a great place to have a go!
The house is very large, a little outdated with the decor, however, it is comfortable and clean. James and Deirdre are great hosts. At supper time they cooked us a great small meal that did the trick and breakfast was truly a treat. Cute little bar area for G&T's and a pint of Guinness, but we chose to sit out the back on the Terrace and look at the sunset!
I do have to say a little expensive, but it was our wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: Ring ahead and chat with the owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

We picked Tahilla Cove Country House as it looked very quiet, right on the seas edge for good views, was small enough to be personal, yet large enough to have a bar and the offer of snacks during the day - important in an area that can be very wet and keep you indoors too much.
We were very happy with the choice, a hearty breakfast to literally keep you going all day - we never needed lunch - and an offer of 'supper', a small selection of simple but good food, prepared as needed.
Do try the home made bread, the home made black pudding, the heather honey on your porridge, and take in the view while eating - if not too busy enjoying the chat from other guests or the owners themselves.
Highly recommended, for good company, good service, good facilities, fantastic views and peaceful walks, and of course the full Ring of Kerry on the doorstep too.
It was great weather while we there for a week, that's not guaranteed!

Room Tip: Some downstairs rooms can be a little noisy from the balcony doors sliding, but not a major problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank libertia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greencastle, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Recently, my husband and I stayed with the Waterhouses at Tahilla Cove for several days. It really was a perfect experience. The room was beautifully appointed (as was the rest of the house), of a good size, had a very comfortable bed and a lovely view. The breakfasts were very good, and we had a couple of dinners there that were equally tasty. The grounds are absolutely lovely, with a wonderful view of the cove. It was a pleasant surprise to meet and get to know several of the other guests, who also were most enjoyable. Add to that meeting some of the people from the neighborhood, who also turned out to be interesting and fun to talk to. Perhaps the best part of the experience was interacting with the Waterhouses - James, Deidre, and Charles. We can't say enough about what perfect hosts they are. We've stayed in other B & Bs and this experience by far outweighed any others. We'd go back and stay with them in a minute!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sneem
20.9 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
21.9 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
8.3 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
19.0 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahilla Cove Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahilla Cove Country House

Property: Tahilla Cove Country House
Address: Ring of Kerry | Sneem/Kenmare, Sneem, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sneem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tahilla Cove Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahilla Cove Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing