We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attention to detail always wins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tahilla Cove Country House
Ranked #2 of 9 Sneem B&B and Inns
Priors Hardwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Attention to detail always wins”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I was the first guest of the 2014 season so doubly blessed with an empty house for a day or so such the undivided attention of my hosts too. The weather too was kind so much was in a favourable light. A truly delightful stay. I arrived stressed and left totally relaxed such is the hospitality and thoughtfulness of the owners. Great location, so peaceful and wonderful views in all directions. I'd be happy to return and it's not often that accolade leaves my pen!

Room Tip: Room seven known as Brackross is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We were lucky enough to spend 5 nights in Tahilla in September…….and we are still treasuring the memory! Our hosts were delightful, the breakfasts were great, with an excellent choice, and many "extras"…. We loved the little bar for a pre-dinner drink, simple dinners, when on offer (we had three evening meals there in five days…..) very fresh fish each time, and coffee served in front of the fire in the lounge afterwards…..It is a bit of a time warp here, the rooms are hung over from the fifties….which for us added to the feeling of peace and security(!)…..might be a generation thing!….though I would have appreciated a bigger bed instead of the middle-sized bed plus the extra single in our room.... and in a totally perfect world a small rowing boat available for guests (at own risk) would have been amazing…The cove is sublime and it would have been wonderful to be able to explore it from the water….Staying in Tahilla is like visiting a favorite auntie, and being spoilt rotten! Go there to find out for yourself!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estherl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Found this place by fluke as we were going to stay in the Parknasilla for the night. Beautiful location with our room looking out onto the water, the weather was beautiful and it was like been abroad. An added bonus was the little bar attached to the house so it was very relaxing to be able to have a glass of wine and sit by the sea. The lady of the house was lovely but found the husband could have been a little bit more mannerly as he rushed us out of the bar at the end of the evening and had the light offon the porch before we reached the room and my mum was elderly she could easily have tripped, but apart from that fab stay, loved it and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed as paying guests of Dr Waterhouse and her husband some time ago. We know the area very well and wanted just to stay and relax rather than drive and sight see. It was a last minute decision. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay, even if one pays quite a premium for it. It was somewhat disappointing that evening meals were not available when we stayed and so we went to the Lemon Tree restaurant in Kenmare.

The accommodation was quaint but very comfortable and away from the main house a short distance. The setting was beautiful and the gardens and lapping water from Kenmare Bay were bewitching at sunset. The midgies were a major problem, so if you are out and about in evening time or leave bedroom windows open you are likely to be bitten. One of us was severely bitten and required GP attention on returning home. A word of warning or a sign would help in this regard.

Breakfast was good and we enjoyed meeting one or two other travelers. It was very quiet when we stayed - perhaps five or six guests in total.. Dr Waterhouse was most gracious, as was her son. The bar area was small and homely and we enjoyed a drink or two there. We must say that we found Carrig Country House on Caragh Lake (further westwards on the Ring) a little more enjoyable. But let's not take from Tahilla Cove. We would certainly return and will do so in the autumn, hopefully.

There is lots to do in the local area - walking, swimming, golf, cycling, equestrian centre locally and both fresh water and sea angling.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coolnacarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

If the Ring of Kerry means tour buses and chain hotels then you haven't been to Tahilla Cove. Quiet, palm trees, gracious hosts and a great breakfast every day make this a truly special place. There is a stone pier out on the water and every day I went out there intending to read but it was just too peaceful to do anything but relax. The rooms are not filled with precious antiques but they are extremely comfortable and immaculately clean.
I'd suggest arriving in daylight, for the view and because the road down to it is a little hairy at night at first.

Room Tip: There are two buildings. Food is served in the main building but the smaller building has perfect pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I have travelled to many hotels bot abroad and in Ireland for busniess and pleasure and I have to admit that Tahilla Cove Country House has to be one of the most special places I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The atmospehere is home from from home - superbly cosy and the friendliest hosts you can imagine. I cannot recommend this hotel enough !!

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a sea view that is a bonus !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gulliver077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Why did I let such an age go by before I returned to Tahilla ? "Young James " even remembered my tipple is gin and bitter lemon ! With my friend from Vancouver, we had a memorable stay with Deirdre and James, the same wonderful hospitality as before. The rooms are so comfortable and the views superb. We enjoyed our evenings in the bar, James makes a mean omelette and chips ! We will be back again next year and for many years after that I hope. As a base for discovering Kerry, it couldn't be better and the walks in the vicinity are lovely. It is great to see a family tradition being carried on with such success.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daphne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sneem
21.8 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
20.9 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
8.3 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
7.9 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahilla Cove Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahilla Cove Country House

Property: Tahilla Cove Country House
Address: Ring of Kerry | Sneem/Kenmare, Sneem, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sneem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tahilla Cove Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahilla Cove Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing