We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay! Get out and Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tahilla Cove Country House
Ranked #2 of 9 Sneem B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay! Get out and Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Found this place by looking on google maps. I just followed the Ring of Kerry looking for B&B's that looked like a good place to stay. Little did I know I didn't find a good place to stay I found a great place to stay. My beautiful bride and I booked it for our honeymoon trip to Ireland. The hosts were very friendly as were all the guest. Hanging out in the evening in their little pub was a blast. Breakfast was delicious. The rooms were very clean and neat. Service was excellent all the way around.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is the place to be if you'de like to experience how heaven must feel. Such a beautiful and unique experience. The whole place breathes history and an intens warm family energy. Everywhere (in our room, in the huge livingroom, the breakfast- and diningroom) you have a wonderful view on the bay, the beautiful garden, own pier ... The food was delicious, everything fresh home made! Very spatious rooms with own terras. The lovely couple that owns the place do evertything they can to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible!

Room Tip: I guess any room there is wonderfull!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corrylaura v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

A totally unique experience in a beautiful seaside location. Spacious room with balcony overlooking the cove, great home cooked meals and welcoming and helpful hosts who achieve a perfect balance between the intimacy of sharing someone's home and the discretion of a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I and our two children stayed here for 5 nights in July 2014. What can I say, my children were very sad upon our leaving. Our room, in a second house beside the main house, was completely private, from where you can stroll 10 steps down to the pier on the lake, my son had hours of fun here fishing with his net!
In the morning we would stroll the 5 steps to the main house for a sumptuous breakfast, the porridge, fruit, breads, cooked breakfast all equally yummy!!
James and Deirdre obviously love what they are doing and so do their guests, thanks to them for an unforgettable few days, we hope to return some day :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APM439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needville, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

If staying on the Ring of Kerry, this is your spot. Lots of wonderful surprises here at Tahilla Cove. I guess my first surprise was palm trees in Ireland, I had to check the map to make sure I was still on the Emerald Isle. As others have mentioned, fantastic views, excellent proximity to Kenmare and the lovely village of Sneem. We took the motorized kayak tour which was very close as well. If on the Ring this is your home away from home. The only thing more dazzling than the location in the genuine warmth of your hosts. Dierdre and James were magnificent and informative. The only drawback I had initially was the isolated location and having wine with dinner or Guinness at the pub and driving home. No worries there, enchanting view with a first rate dinner is served here with a nice selection of wines. I would recommend advanced notice, but we were accommodated graciously with much less. And the cozy little pub, is a scene out of a black-and-white film.(Honestly one of my favorite pubs in all of Ireland). Breakfast was excellent and as a real treat the proprietors even served up some fresh mackerel my son had caught the night before. The only caveat I found in this five star location is that it is difficult to make it to the boats in Portmagee for the Skellig Michael tour if you have breakfast at the usual time, so they offered to serve us early, and we still cut it close. This location is a seasoned travelers delight.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HerbUttsmelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent two wonderful nights as guests of Deirdre and James at their one of a kind B&B Tahilla Cove Country House. It's situated on a secluded cove with their own private dock. We stayed in the room with a balcony which was very peaceful and serene. The rooms are very large and the beds extremely comfortable. We had drinks in the bar area both evenings which was very nice as you got to meet and converse with the other guests and locals. One evening we stayed there for dinner and we couldn't have had a better dinner if we were at a five star restaurant. From soup through dessert Deirdre out did herself. The B&B was started by James parents and today he and Deirdre carry on the tradition with warmth and graciousness. We would highly recommend Tahilla Cove to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a couple of days over Easter where we could get away, we wanted to take the dogs with us and do a bit of walking. We found very few places that will take dogs, but eventually stumbled upon Tahilla Cove and we're so pleased that we did!
James and Deirdre were the most gracious and attentive hosts, with maps and ideas on where to go walking and sightseeing. Breakfast was superb and we had dinner beautifully cooked by Deirdre, delicious fresh fish on both nights. The bar was great too with guinness on tap- that made my husband very happy! The location is second to none- just sublime, with walks along the seashore right on your doorstep.
The dogs stayed with us in our room which was on the ground floor and had patio doors leading outside- this is the door we used while we stayed here. Our dogs are crate trained, so we put the crate right inside the door, so the mucky paw prints wouldn't run all the way through the room. The weather was good, so we didn't have to worry too much but I would have felt a little better if the room had hard flooring-not carpet, still, we absolutely LOVED our stay and we hope to go back again soon :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaisceMireille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sneem
21.8 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
20.9 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
8.3 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
7.9 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahilla Cove Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahilla Cove Country House

Property: Tahilla Cove Country House
Address: Ring of Kerry | Sneem/Kenmare, Sneem, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sneem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tahilla Cove Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahilla Cove Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing