We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous spot”
other travellers have booked this property
Nestle Stones
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nestle Stones
Nestle Stones Main house, view from the lane Views from patio looking over the kenmare bay, and mountains .
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Nestle Stones
Nestle Stones Main house, view from the lane
Views from patio looking over the kenmare bay, and mountains .
Breakfast outside enjoying the mountain views
views from the conservatory of the Beara peninsular
Kitchen/Dinner
lounge and views
Wood Burning Stove in lounge
The Lounge
The conservatory
The hall
Galleried landing
Downstairs double bedroom (2) with Ensuite
Downstairs Double Bedroom (1)with Ensuite
Twin bedroom (3) upstairs
Double Bedroom (4) with 2 twin beds  upstairs
Master bedroom (5) kingsize bed with ensuire jacuzzi bath
Ensuite bathroom with jacuzzi bath
Views from the rear of the house
Our resident pets Charlie and Chester. Thee ponies are kept in the field next to the house.
Views from the back of the house
Sunrise seen from the rear of the house.
Views form the bakc of the property of the Beara Peninsular and Kenmare bay
Views from the rear of the property
Views across the bay
Mountain views from the front of the property.
The long lake at the bottom of the lane ideal for lake fishing for children and adults
Local Beach
Views from our local bar The Tahilla Cove
Local Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Sneem, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
NorthStar...
1 review
“Fabulous spot”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A lovely spacious house with views to die for. Off the beaten track, but as that is what we love it suited us perfectly. Couldn't have had a better spot to watch the Perseid meteor showers as no background lights. Beautiful. Very helpful neighbours when local advice needed too. Would love to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments and really pleased you all enjoyed your stay. The views are stunning and we look forward to welcoming you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajgfamily...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A brilliant house.”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was a brilliant house in a lovely spot lost of space we were a party of 9 everything you need kitchen was well equipped just a lovely place to relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
781marine...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing views”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We were looking for a house large enough to fit 11 people in and this is very good for large groups, child friendly, lots of children's toys and games, the playstation is an Xbox and we took playstation games(for when it rained) and there were no games provided. Couldn't get the Jacuzzi to work but there is ample provision of anything you may need, including weather proof coats and some walking boots. Ponies were lovely and get used to you over the course of the week, came up to the fence when we called them for food. There are extra charges, we paid a further 25 euros for the internet and 74 euros for hot water, but the cost of the rental itself is very reasonable .
Tahilla Cove advertised as the local bar isn't open to visitors only residents, we were informed by the owner of the hotel, so nearest place to eat or drink is Parknasilla hotel or Sneem. The Blue Bull at Sneem has helpful staff and good food. Kenmare has some quaint pubs with live music but large parties need to book, it was very busy when we arrived and we couldn't get in anywhere to eat. We spent a day at Star Outdoors activity centre near Kenmare doing kayaking, paintballing, archery..something for different age groups and friendly staff, good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: scenery and views, range of equipment and games available, child friendly
Liked least: decor could do with updating but that is my personal taste
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGilbert8...
Holmfirth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place, perfect holiday!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We came as a family for a week and had a wonderful time. The house was far better than we could have imagined with views that were breathtaking. John and his wife were really accommodating and helpful. The only downside was having to leave at the end of the week! We will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seddie201...
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Secluded, safe, and quiet, but ….”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We rented Nestle Stones for three weeks in May and early June, 2014, and enjoyed our stay there. It is a large and comfortable 5-bedroom (3 with en-suite bath) house with major advantages, but also with a few annoyances to curb one’s enthusiasm. We have still rated it “Excellent” but would have given it an “Excellent — “, had that rating been available.
Advantages include:
1. Secluded location, safe and quiet, with outstanding panoramic view over the Bay of Kenmare.
2. Large house, well laid-out, with lots of beds -- plenty of room for our group of seven adults, and then some.
3. High standard of furnishings and equipment, especially in the kitchen (except for the knives, which are neither sturdy nor sharp, and an everyday source of frustration).
4. Four and one-half bathrooms, 2 ½ of which are on the ground floor! The half-bath (toilet and sink) near the front entrance is a real convenience. The showers are of excellent quality, and if you turn off the tap as an economy measure while soaping up, the water will come back on to the exact temperature you had before.
5. Lots of counter space, big dining table that seats eight comfortably, lots of space to sit and enjoy the beautiful view, including a solarium with windows on three sides.
6. A separate utility room equipped with both washing machine and clothes dryer, an unusual advantage, in our experience.
Given these important advantages, one should nevertheless keep in mind that the house is in the boondocks: The nearest village, Sneem, is 10.5 km away by road (4 km as the crow flies), a 15-17 minute drive. Getting from Nestle Stones to the standard tourist destinations on winding and narrow – often single-track – roads usually takes considerably longer than expected. That said, this is probably more a general problem of County Kerry than a problem specific to this house. If you plan to stay in Kerry for a longer time, you might consider a week at Nestle Stones, followed by time at other locations, perhaps on the north side of the Iveragh Peninsula or somewhere on the Dingle Peninsula. Also, so far as we could determine, the nearest large supermarket (Tesco) is in Killarney, a full hour’s drive away. Kenmare (half an hour away) has a Super Valu, but it has a limited range of goods.
There are some minor annoyances:
1. Without clothes hooks in the bathrooms, there was no place to hang up pyjamas or clothes when bathing or taking a shower, or to hang up a toiletry kit.
2. The tiny soap plate in the showers holds only a single bar of soap; so there was no place to put shampoo, conditioner, washcloth, sponge, or anything else you use when showering.
3. Even though each bedroom is set up for at least two occupants, there is only a single towel bar in each of the bathrooms, so no place to hang up the generous-sized bath towels to dry after you bathe or shower.
4. The master bathroom has no shower, only a large Jacuzzi tub, so my wife and I always had to shower in someone else’s bathroom.
5. The skylight and the ceiling lamp in the master bathroom throw light toward the mirror in such a manner that seeing to shave or apply makeup is nearly impossible. The light over the medicine cabinet did not work, so it could not alleviate the problem.
6. There is no night table or reading lamp in one of the downstairs bedrooms.

And a couple of things aren’t quite as advertised:
1. Chester and Charlie, the resident Falabella ponies, are supposed to be cute and friendly, and the instruction sheet in the house says to feel free to pet them. They are cute, but they are in fact ill-tempered, fight with each other constantly, and want to bite, so beware. Chester, who is downright vicious, bites Charlie hard enough to draw blood, and both try to bite the hand that feeds them. Chester also likes to kick. Over a week or so, we managed to gain their confidence to the point that they would sometimes let us brush them a bit, although they clearly were not used to such attention, and wouldn’t tolerate it very long. We finally abandoned this project, even though two of our party were experienced horsewomen who had ridden for years.
2. My wife and I always look for a king-size or else two twin beds because we cannot sleep comfortably in either a double or a queen. Therefore the “king-size bed” in the master bedroom was a major deciding factor in choosing to rent this house rather than one of the others we were looking at. Perhaps the term “king size” means something different in Ireland, for to us the bed was, In fact, queen-size (60 inches wide) rather than a king, which is 78 inches wide in North America. Three other bedrooms also have the same queen-size beds. Fortunately, we were able to move one of the single beds from another bedroom into the master bedroom as a second-best solution to the problem.
Finally, whether you consider the lack of wi-fi and the spotty cell-phone reception to be an advantage or disadvantage likely depends more on your age than on anything else, so I will leave it up to you how to classify those issues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of room, lots of bathrooms, and high standard of equipment
Liked least: Resident ponies were advertised as friendly, but they were nasty and ill-tempered
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josie b
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for a large family group”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Nestle Stones during the rarest of events - an Irish heatwave! Everything about the property was just about perfect. We were five couples and enjoyed our best ever family holiday.
The location is remote, but this is a small price to pay for the truly stunning panoramic views across Kenmare bay and to the Beara mountains beyond.
We ate alfresco on the large table provided, while drinking in the view (and copious amounts of sangria!)
We sunned ourselves and swam in the surprisingly warm waters at the beautiful Derrynane beach which is a 40 minute drive away. For those who just want to swim there is a jetty five minutes away, which is best at high tide (see photo taken early morning from adjacent foreshore)
The ten of us had plenty of space and the house is very well equipped and it's hard to think of anything that could have been added to improve our stay.
Charlie and Chester, the little ponies are cute and mischievous and we enjoyed feeding them carrots and apples.
The nearest pubs are in Sneem which is a ten minute drive away. D O'Shea's serves the best food but we enjoyed the Guiness in four or more Sneem bars.
We had no problem organising a taxi home for about ten euro.
This turned out to be our best ever family holiday and I can recommend Nestle Stones to anyone organising a holiday for a large family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Magnificent Views
Liked least: Could be closer to shop,bars and restaurants
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donneville, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Reviewed 25 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything not to mention the view.
Liked least: I don't know
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing