We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“*****This property deserves a five star rating”

Review of Valley of the Hare

Valley of the hare is a luxury holiday cottage overlooking Kenmare Bay on the Ring of Kerry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Valley of the hare is a luxury holiday cottage overlooking Kenmare Bay on the Ring of Kerry
The cottage is south facing so all the rooms are bathed in plenty of natural light and warmth. Wherever you are in the house you will catch sight of the mountains or the Kenmare Bay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Valley of the hare is a luxury holiday cottage overlooking Kenmare Bay on the Ring of Kerry
The cottage is south facing so all the rooms are bathed in plenty of natural light and warmth.
Wherever you are in the house you will catch sight of the mountains or the Kenmare Bay.
Our kitchen is large, well equipped and well stocked to help you show off your culinary skills.
The dining area is open plan and enjoys stunning views. It is perfect for both large small groups.
The light, bright living room provides beautiful views throughout the day.
Enjoying the views from the patio.
The cottage is furnished to a very high standard.
The study. Unlimited wireless broadband is available throughout the property.
Bedroom 3 set up with two luxury single beds.
Bedroom 3 made up with a luxury super king size bed.
Looking through to the living room.
Our resident hare will always pose for the camera.
All our bathrooms have lovely powerful showers.
Bedroom 2 made up with two luxury single beds. The room can also be made up as a super king size bed
One of our large and luxurious en suite bathrooms.
The master bedroom suite is arranged over the entire first floor of the cottage.
The bathroom in the master bedroom suite is large and luxurious.
Sit back and enjoy the lovely views from the patio.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sneem, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
irishtrav...
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“*****This property deserves a five star rating”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is a fantastic holiday home, we would highly recommend it. We have stayed in a lot of holiday homes in Ireland, I've never reviewed them as they were all grand but nothing special however at last we have found a truly special place. It different due to the lovely details that the owner have added, the fantastic view and the fact that its so remove its really peaceful. Susan, the owner was lovely to deal with. I doubt there's a better holiday home in Ireland for the price we paid for "Valley of the Hare"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The really well stocked kitchen, sky tv and internet coverage
Liked least: The narrow road from sneem to the house but the views compensate for this!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary M
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A first class holiday in every way.”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Pleasant owners, superb decor throughout the premises,excellent visitor facilties, stunning views especially from the living room window.
The surrounding area must be visited to make the most of all that County Kerry has to offer.
In short, the house and the whole package lived up to its description on the website.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything that the property and area has to offer
Liked least: Difficult to pinpoint anything without being supercritical
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarianCoK...
Co Kildare
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking.”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I have been booking holiday cottages in Ireland twice a year for many years and stayed in many wonderful places. Then along comes Valley of the Hare which took my breath away. Outstanding cottage, outstanding location. The pictures while stunning really only give a hint of what to expect. Many thanks to the Tucker family for this beautiful renovation and the level of comfort provided.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Top Class Kerry Holiday Rental”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Valley of the Hare far exceeded our expectations which were already high having seen pictures - it was a five star experience staying there. The quality of everything was excellent including kitchen appliances, towels, dressing gowns, underfloor heating, flat screen TV, the list goes on. It's situated in a spectacular part of Kerry with a lake in the mountains just a short hike away. The owners were great to deal with and were just a phone call away if we needed anything. We've been telling everyone about the place since we left and we're planning on returning for another stay very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself, we didn't want to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bebinasol...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with exquisite attention to detail, in stunning surroundings”
Reviewed 8 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Valley of the Hare is a stunningly renovated farmhouse in a beautiful part of the Ring of Kerry with dramatic mountain backdrop. The owners have put enormous effort into the renovation - use of natural materials, exceptionally high quality fixtures and carefully designed rooms which maximise comfort, ease of use and those amazing views. For example, the master suite has a window over the valley so that the sunrise can be seen from the bed. There is huge generosity to guests with lovely thoughtful details - a faux fur throw in the living room, a woodburning stove already set, ipod speakers, a larder stocked with all the basics and the most well-equipped kitchen I have ever seen in a rental property. It felt like we were staying at a friend's place rather than a rental.

If you are looking for true luxury, comfort and relaxation in a beautiful place then this is for you. The owners were a delight to deal with and are on hand at the other end of the lane (though very careful to never intrude) should anything be needed. I cannot suggest anything which could be improved, we had a fantastic stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the view from a cosy, beautiful living room in front of a wood-burning stove
Liked least: There was nothing I did not like!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin W
Aarwangen, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dietmar E
Schorndorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$167
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing