We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect pet-friendly cottage”

Review of Valley of the Hare

Valley of the hare is a luxury holiday cottage overlooking Kenmare Bay on the Ring of Kerry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Valley of the hare is a luxury holiday cottage overlooking Kenmare Bay on the Ring of Kerry
The cottage is south facing so all the rooms are bathed in plenty of natural light and warmth. Wherever you are in the house you will catch sight of the mountains or the Kenmare Bay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Valley of the hare is a luxury holiday cottage overlooking Kenmare Bay on the Ring of Kerry
The cottage is south facing so all the rooms are bathed in plenty of natural light and warmth.
Wherever you are in the house you will catch sight of the mountains or the Kenmare Bay.
Our kitchen is large, well equipped and well stocked to help you show off your culinary skills.
The dining area is open plan and enjoys stunning views. It is perfect for both large small groups.
The light, bright living room provides beautiful views throughout the day.
Enjoying the views from the patio.
The cottage is furnished to a very high standard.
The study. Unlimited wireless broadband is available throughout the property.
Bedroom 3 set up with two luxury single beds.
Bedroom 3 made up with a luxury super king size bed.
Looking through to the living room.
Our resident hare will always pose for the camera.
All our bathrooms have lovely powerful showers.
Bedroom 2 made up with two luxury single beds. The room can also be made up as a super king size bed
One of our large and luxurious en suite bathrooms.
The master bedroom suite is arranged over the entire first floor of the cottage.
The bathroom in the master bedroom suite is large and luxurious.
Sit back and enjoy the lovely views from the patio.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sneem, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Paul A
Celbridge, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect pet-friendly cottage”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in March 2016

The location is amazing, set in a idealistic location on the Ring of Kerry, with fantastic views. This is a great family and pet friendly cottage. The cottage is very spacious and extremely clean. Susan (the owner) was very welcoming and very helpful in recommending locations to visit. I highly recommend a visit to Derrynane beach.
We'll visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Restful, luxury retreat in an awe inspiring landscape”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Valley of the Hare - wow! What a place! It was fitting that we even saw a large hare racing through the back garden on our last morning. On the rainy days my whole family, from 74 year old Gran to my youngest 7 year old bouncing bean, all loved just chilling out at the house; videos galore, curling up on comfy sofas, playing card games, baking in the really well equipped kitchen and, above all, watching the changing landscape as the mist rolled in and out of the valley and the mountains crept in and out of view until the sun shone on the peninsula across the sea. Breathtakingly beautiful. I loved walking down the picture perfect valley into Sneem for a late breakfast, my husband and I climbed the big mountain behind the house meeting not a soul for 5 hours and being greeted with a rainbow on the way back down, seeing the working sheepdogs keeping their quarry in order on the hill behind the house was pretty special, picking blackberries in the hedgerows, exploring the Ring of Kerry further afield was one of our aims, (especially Derrynane Beach, the Skelligs and Valentia Island) and many other lovely memories and experiences. We loved the magic hour of soft evening light where my husband took advantage and filmed a video with the kids in the garden, which will no doubt pop up on youtube at some point. The house is immaculate and everything has been thought of from extra cutlery and plates so you don't have to keep washing up, to fluffy dressing gowns and towels, superb toiletry supplies, luxury bedding and a generous food pack when you arrive. Nothing is skimped on and everything thought of. It's definitely the best equipped and most comfortable holiday home we've rented for a long time. My Irish in-laws are used to the beauty of their country but they were impressed by this house and its enviable setting. The flexibility of the beds and rooms and generous bathrooms also meant we could accommodate extended family as they came and went during the week, which was such a bonus. I especially enjoyed the picture windows from every room which encompassed every aspect of the changing weather and light around the house at different times of the day. Sitting on the garden bench with a cup of tea listening to the songbirds and watching the sun rise on the mountains, whilst everyone else was still snoozing, was my golden moment. The house looks like a cottage from the outside as it just sits unobtrusively in the landscape but the exciting architecture is from the inside; in the layout, the exposed walls, the space with windows and light everywhere. It's clearly a much loved family home full of comfort and space and nooks and crannies to curl up in with a good book. My only regret in writing this review is that others will come and rent it and diminish our chances of returning! I wish we had booked two weeks, one just wasn't enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeyPaula7...
Amelia Island, FL
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing week during Lambing season”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our second visit to Valley of the Hare. This time we brought friends to share the experience. Amazing views, country setting. Clean home, wonderful bathrooms and bed linens. Everything you need to base your day trips or just relax and take long walks into town and the surrounding countryside. Walk with the sheep, if you are lucky, see the babies when it is the season. The place to cleanse your soul and refresh your senses. People in town are amazing and Mary at Dolly O'Shea's is a fantastic cook! Heaven.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyavia...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Cottage with the Wow factor!”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Valley of the Hare really does top the ratings when it comes to holiday cottages. Not only is it fabulously designed ( spacious, wonderful views, great layout, tastefully furnished ) Susan, the owner, has thought of absolutely everything to make her guests feel comfortable and really well looked after ( welcome food pack, well stocked cupboard for basic provisions, lovely toiletries, extensive collection of up to date videos, quality linens, fabulous king sized comfortable beds, BBQ, outdoor chairs and more). We enjoyed a week in this wonderful cottage and would not hesitate to recommend it. Cottages of this quality at this price are rare and the next cottage we rent has a hard act to follow. Thank you Susan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sheer quality of everything in the cottage
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeinzM_nc...
Mönchengladbach
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“.... a wonderful home in a great and peaceful environment”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

the house is absolutely top equipped with a great atmosphere. You feel at home as soon as you close the front door behind you and have the beautiful view out of the windows. Small details such as a well stocked fridge for a first full breakfast made our stay an outstanding one. We found a lot of material / information for trips around. Finally Susan and her husband where available when ever needed. Thanks a lot for the time we could spend in Valley of the Hare.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding house in an breathtaking location”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here with friends and a small baby. The location was totally breathtaking - absolutely stunning scenery and just the tranquillity that we were looking for. We were blown away by the house and the care that had been taken with the building and furnishing.
It was incredibly easy to relax and feel at home here. I found it very difficult to leave after our stay!
It was also very baby friendly, and easy to bring a 12 week old for her first trip to Ireland.
There is plenty to do in the area, with trips to the beach and the mountains within easy reach, but equally easy to get lost with relaxing days in the house itself. There are also some really stunning walks we went on directly from the house, meaning we never had to leave at all.
The owners had set up the house perfectly for us, and it felt very welcoming.
I cannot recommend this house enough, although I almost wish I could keep it a secret just for us! We very much hope to visit again and show the area to our family next time.
Perfect for anyone wanting a true break away from it all, to then make their break as busy or relaxing as they would like it to be.
Thank you for introducing us to the valley of the hare!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling warm and at home in a stunning location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible home in the most amazing setting”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Valley of the Hare is a fantastic home, immaculate and beautifully decorated, comfy beds and sheets and even robes, we truly felt like we were at a five star spa resort! The house has an expansive uninterrupted view of the valley and mountains in the distance, we sat for hours just enjoying the peaceful setting and views. We were so fortunate to stay during lambing season and the working farm that the property shares was fully of gorgeous babies to watch. The house is designed so well with three separate very private suites each with en suite bathroom, we had young and old in our group and the house was perfect for us all! Enough privacy and also togetherness too! The kitchen was well stocked and Susan even provides a few basics to make cooking at home easy ( we actually only ate out once as we enjoyed being at the house so much!). Susan was a delight to work with and I highly recommend staying here you will not be disappointed! We cannot wait to return, hopefully soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;