We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic relaxing break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sneem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sneem Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic relaxing break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Sneem Hotel. The location is stunning right on the water, but within walking distance to sneem (you can walk by road or on a woodland trail.) It is incredibly peaceful.

Bedrooms are all new, fresh, clean and beds are sovery comfortable. Lovely fire in lobby and relaxing ambience. Hotel is pet friendly, this was brilliant for us as we brought our dog with us, but because they are not allowed in lobby/ bar areas it shouldn't put off non - dog lovers.

We took out the complimentary hotel kayaks, and went for a fab paddle down to sneem harbour. We ate there one night and food was nice and reasonably priced. Hotel seems to be family run and owners are always about which is rare these days and a nice touch.

All in all a fabulous find if you want a clean modern hotel in a spectacular location at a reasonable price.

Only flaws i would have (and i'm really nit-picking to find these) are no face cloths or shower caps in ensuite, and the bar is in no way cosy. Also I got french toast on the 3 rd morning as we were handed a breakfast menu, there was a hot buffet there the other 2 mornings and no mention of french toast ( now i may have got it if i asked, but as there was no menus handed out, i didn't realise it was an option.

Also with the unbelievable views they have, i can't understand how they haven't put in an outdoor hot tub to capitilise on it. The hot tub is in a tiny basement room, that just wouldn't entice you in.

But all in all 9.5/10. I'll be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back have fabulous views but are dearer. We had one to the front, no views but no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    283
    56
    19
    14
See reviews for
271
517
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here on Sat 6th Oct bed and breakfast and dinner, not our first time availing of the Supervalu breaks here .I really must compliment the staff of the Sneem hotel, from the moment we checked in our stay was enhanced by the very friendly helpful staff a credit to the management. The bedroom was spotless, spacious with crisp white linen and soft white towels. We had coffee and scrummy scones with jam and cream served out on the deck in glorious Oct sunshine. Dinner was most enjoyable and when we retired to the bar after we had a very entertaining night in the company of a group of truckers who were on the Ring of Kerry charity drive. After our tasty buffet style breakfast next morning we watched the truckers leave the Sneem hotel to the sound of the blare of about 25 horns! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodnwine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and I just spent a very enjoyable weekend at this hotel. The room we stayed in was very large, clean and comfortable with a beautiful view of the mountains and lake. We had breakfast and dinner on both nights and found the quality and variety of food very good. The staff in all areas were extremely helpful and very welcoming. The owner of the hotel seemed to be present at all times. We have stayed here many weekends since it opened in 2007 and the standards are as good now as they were on our first visit. Looking forward to another weekend break at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains and lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend on 27th Sept 2012 in one of the 2 bed apartments. We took one of the bedrooms & friends of ours came to stay for 2 nights & used the other bedroom - we also took our dog as the hotel is pet friendly which is great. Apartment was clean, well kept & modern, no complaints at all - great value accommodation @€225 for 3 nights. We were celebrating our friends buying their new home & went to the 4 star restaurant on Sat night. ALL of us had the same impression on entering - LEAVE, quick! The place looked just like a canteen, with no character or warmth & pretty much an open room with chairs & tables. We were informed that 2 of the starters on the menu were finished & were offered no alternatives - the remaining choice was pretty dim & even at that, one of the starters we did order arrived without the parma ham described. On questioning this, we were told simply, that ' they were out' (yet they were still happy to charge full price). The mains were ok - not the worst I have eaten, reasonably presented with fresh veg etc, but all in all the standard of the food is NOWHERE NEAR 4 STAR, in fact I have had better pub meals. This hotel is in the wedding market & does not focus on it's restaurant trade & in fact I would be concerned about the standard of the food it serves even for weddings.
In summary, great location & value for good quality accommodation just don't eat here!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magairle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I had a 2 night stay and could not fault it.It was wedding venue for a work colleague. Great place for reception. Stunning scenery and within walking distance of Sneem village. Rooms are massive, double and single bed in my room. Had lunch in the Bar which was excellent and reasonably priced as were the drinks. Very friendly staff. Would highly reccommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights with a friend. The room was very nice, massive and with a beautiful lake view. The room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable!
Fantastic food both breakfast and dinner. SPOT ON!

The deal we got included 2 cocktails with demonstration. The bartender Niall was really friendly and helpful! The owner of the hotel Louie was extremely friendly and offered us free coffee in the bar chatted to us like we were his friends.

Room Tip: Rooms with the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC_Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

just return from a midweek brake.its a remote location but the scenery is breathtaking.the bedroom are quite big a nd very clean but the rough towel are a let down!the quality of the food in the restaurant is top notch and the dining experience was enhanced by
a great service by KATRIONA who was very friendly and efficient.the grounds are well mantained.the dining room lacks character.in general had a really relaxing and enjoyable stay and would definately go back. ARNIE from YOUGHAL.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnaudmilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sneem
1.6 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
13.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
14.6 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
13.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sneem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sneem Hotel

Property: Sneem Hotel
Address: Goldens Cove, Sneem, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sneem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sneem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing