We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mary is very friendly”
Review of Sive Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sive Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I wasn't sure about where to go while I was in the area, but Mary had some great advice about where I should visit. She also helped my to plan transportation to the harbor in PortMagee, where the ferries to Skellig Michael depart. The bathroom on the top floor is a bit small, and the slanted ceiling in the top floor room that I had was very low (watch your head if you happen to get a room like that!), but the house was kept clean, and my bed was very comfortable. She allows travelers to stay in the double bed rooms without paying a two person occupancy, so the prices were very reasonable. Breakfast is the typical sort of continental ordeal that one might expect, but there is a fully functional kitchen if you want to cook your own hot breakfast. The best part is that you don't need to wash your dishes: there is an electric dish washer : )

Room Tip: If you're travelling solo, you might as well spend a bit extra for a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

The Seive Hostel is a lovely place to stay in Kerry. Mary, the hostess, is wonderful and a joy to be around. The sitting common room is very nice, with comfortable furniture and a warm fireplace. As for location, the bus station is right across the street, with buses going to and from many places in Kerry. My only complaint was that the house tended to be cold, but the duvets were thick and the fire on, so I wasn't fussed. Anyone visiting in the summer wouldn't have to worry.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Sive hostel. Had a warm welcome from Mary, the owner. She was very nice and gave us directions and advise us what to see. The room was in a beautiful little stone house, loved it very much. Very clean and comfortable. The bus station is across the hostel. Cahersiveen is a great little town with a lot too see. Ring forts, Ballycarberry Castle, Old Barracks. We went to the Beach. I would stay here again and again :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

The hostel was very cozy but a little tight on space. The location is unbeatable if you like smaller towns with rural attractions. The ballycarberry castle and two forts are great visits and the ring of Kerry runs right through the area. Pretty reasonably priced and very friendly service.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhpston12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We are two motorcycles and we found it on our way, we must say that we have been very lucky because it' s a very nice place, rooms are very cozy, kitchen not very big but comfortable and it' s very easy to get to know the other guests from all over the world. last but not least the owner Mrs Mary is very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiccAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My two daughters and I travelled the Ring of Kerry and stayed four nights in Sive Hostel. We were very happy there. The room was clean and the hostel is cosy and comfortable. Every afternoon when we arrived back from a wonderful day walking and exploring the beautiful area aroung Cahersiveen, we felt like coming home. We will return in the future, for sure! My daughters missed it after we had left, it was truly nice!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The stay in this hostel was the best in all of Ireland.
The location was very good, great rooms, the bathroom clean.
The kitchen was very good and I could even sprinkle fresh basil in my cooking. I still had not something like that in any hostel!
Value for money very well!
In the hostel were two very charming ladies, who were to be cuddled.
Pefekt stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaLinetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cahersiveen hotels
9.2 mi away
Caitins
Caitins
#2 of 2 in Cahersiveen
46 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#2 of 20 in Cahersiveen
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kerry Coast Inn
Kerry Coast Inn
#13 of 20 in Cahersiveen
60 reviews
7.3 mi away
Kells Bay House and Gardens
Kells Bay House and Gardens
#10 of 20 in Cahersiveen
108 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean View B&B
Ocean View B&B
#5 of 20 in Cahersiveen
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sive Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sive Hostel

Address: 15 Newmarket Street, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Cahersiveen
Price Range: £34 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the unforgettable friendliness of Sive hostel on the famous ring of Kerry, near the Kerry way. Whether you are exploring the rugged south coast, or visiting the many ancient and early Christian monuments in the area, we will make your stay with us one to remember. We have private/family rooms and dormitories with all modern conveniences. We are located in the picturesque town of Cahersiveen on the southwest coast of Ireland. With beautiful scenery and wonderfully friendly local people the town is an attraction in itself, add onto that its convenience to the vast wealth of amenities, places of interest and magnificent unspoilt countryside that Kerry has to offer. Located on the east end of the town, Sive hostel is just a short walk from shops, petrol station, restaurants, church, post office, bureau de change, bank machine, taxi service and pubs with live music. Also in the locality are a tourist information office, local heritage centre and a regular bus service to and from Killarney train station. In our hostel we have many facilities for you to use, a warm and welcoming atmosphere and scenic views of the sea and hills. We will arrange on request boat trips to the Skellig islands, which are famous for their 5th-century monastic settlement and extensive wildlife sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Sive Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing