We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class b & b”
Review of Avoca Lodge

Avoca Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cahersiveen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avoca Lodge
Ranked #14 of 19 Cahersiveen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband & I were attending a wedding in Caherdaniel, Co. Kerry last month so decided to take a few days out to travel around the area. How fortunate we were to have booked in to Avoca Lodge. We could not have met better hosts and in such a beautiful & very well kept home. The location of Avoca Lodge is just spectacular & not too far out of town. Tea, coffee & wonderful muffins were freely available in the conservatory - which was lovely to sit in & relax after a days touring! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAMEM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Avoca Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

After returning to the Green Isle after a number of years with my husband and two grown children, this was just what I was hoping to find - true family hospitality! A perfect location with most welcoming and obliging hosts. Rooms just like your own home and a wonderful lounge to just sit, relax and enjoy a cup of coffee. Breakfasts more than fillilng and excellent homemade brownbread. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mewa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this house. Carmel and Dermot were so helpful. The area is stunningly beautiful. The location was ideal for touring all the Kerry region. I fel that thetrue test of any place that you stay is "would you stay here again " and our answer would be "DEFINITELY"
Despite having the same surname, we are no relation, ( except of course if they win next weeks 185 million lottery) ??????????

Room Tip: all excellent
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbb960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

The Avoca lodge is situated in beautiful County Kerry with a stunning view of the mountains and sea. I'd say it's worth staying there even just to look out the window! :) The house is very nice and clean and has a higher standard than what you would sometimes see in Ireland. The rooms are with en-suite bathrooms, the bed was comfortable and everything in the room was clean. Parking is available. Breakfast was delicious and the owners are such lovely, friendly people. I highly recommend staying at Avoca Lodge!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller_45680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

after being on the bike for a big day the friendly, warm welcome was very appreciated. the room was very clean and comfortable, the location convenient to town and velencia ferry.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank jackietanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Our family stayed at Avoca Lodge for two nights while hiking the Ring of Kerry. Our hosts (Carmel and Dermot) were wonderful. They were welcoming, gracious and accommodating. Our rooms were spacious, comfortable and nicely furnished. The breakfasts were sufficient to fill a 20 year old for most of the day. Our hosts were very helpful in helping us to organize our hike and on their suggestion we were able to experience a unique sheep dog demonstration. The inn is located in a quiet setting and it is an easy walk into Cahersiveen to many fine restaurants and pubs. We would definitely recommend this B&B to our friends and family.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
Thank 40family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Fabulous break away from the hustle and bustle of our hectic lives. The room was perfect (family room). Cot included. Breakfasts were great with a large choice from full Irish to continental and even catered for coeliac diets. Carmel & Dermot were most welcoming. We will definitely be recommending this B&B to friends and returning ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niajeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cahersiveen hotels
0.4 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 19 in Cahersiveen
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#1 of 19 in Cahersiveen
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
San Antoine B&B
San Antoine B&B
#5 of 19 in Cahersiveen
90 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean View B&B
Ocean View B&B
#4 of 19 in Cahersiveen
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cul Draiochta
Cul Draiochta
#3 of 19 in Cahersiveen
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca Lodge

Address: Avoca Lodge Avoca Avoca Gurraneragh, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cahersiveen
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing