We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Home from home...”
Review of Avoca Lodge

Avoca Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cahersiveen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avoca Lodge
Ranked #13 of 18 Cahersiveen B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Home from home...”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed there with a friend during a cycling trip around the Ring of Kerry. The welcome we received was very warm (including tea and biscuits!).
The room was clean and comfortable with an en-suite and had all mod cons including a hairdryer.
Our hosts Carmel and Dermot were lovely welcoming people who recommended restaurants and even gave us a lift to town when they saw we were walking!
Breakfast was delicious with the option of fruit & yogurt if you can't quite manage the full fry up.
I would recommend this place to anyone who values comfort! I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My wife and I recently returned from a weekend stay in Avoca Lodge,Cahersiveen.What a gem,Kerrys best kept secret.!! Carmel and Dermot are a mine of information,showing us beautiful peaceful walking/bike routes,.They talk from experience and know how.The location is so close to all beauty spots.From the conservatory at night you can see the Valentia lighthouse,how romantic!!!They cater well for all visitors,a home from home,so relaxing.
Their wholesome breakfast included a very special porridge with a secret Dermot ingredient !! not to mention the full irish, with beautiful homemade brown bread and jam.enough to last us for most of the day.This is our second visit to this special location,and we will return again,as soon as possible.Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendancorkCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband & I were attending a wedding in Caherdaniel, Co. Kerry last month so decided to take a few days out to travel around the area. How fortunate we were to have booked in to Avoca Lodge. We could not have met better hosts and in such a beautiful & very well kept home. The location of Avoca Lodge is just spectacular & not too far out of town. Tea, coffee & wonderful muffins were freely available in the conservatory - which was lovely to sit in & relax after a days touring! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAMEM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

After returning to the Green Isle after a number of years with my husband and two grown children, this was just what I was hoping to find - true family hospitality! A perfect location with most welcoming and obliging hosts. Rooms just like your own home and a wonderful lounge to just sit, relax and enjoy a cup of coffee. Breakfasts more than fillilng and excellent homemade brownbread. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mewa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this house. Carmel and Dermot were so helpful. The area is stunningly beautiful. The location was ideal for touring all the Kerry region. I fel that thetrue test of any place that you stay is "would you stay here again " and our answer would be "DEFINITELY"
Despite having the same surname, we are no relation, ( except of course if they win next weeks 185 million lottery) ??????????

Room Tip: all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbb960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

The Avoca lodge is situated in beautiful County Kerry with a stunning view of the mountains and sea. I'd say it's worth staying there even just to look out the window! :) The house is very nice and clean and has a higher standard than what you would sometimes see in Ireland. The rooms are with en-suite bathrooms, the bed was comfortable and everything in the room was clean. Parking is available. Breakfast was delicious and the owners are such lovely, friendly people. I highly recommend staying at Avoca Lodge!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_45680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2010

after being on the bike for a big day the friendly, warm welcome was very appreciated. the room was very clean and comfortable, the location convenient to town and velencia ferry.

Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jackietanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahersiveen
0.8 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#1 of 18 in Cahersiveen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 18 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cul Draiochta
Cul Draiochta
#3 of 18 in Cahersiveen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.6 mi away
Atlantic Villa
Atlantic Villa
#2 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Antoine B&B
San Antoine B&B
#4 of 18 in Cahersiveen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca Lodge

Property: Avoca Lodge
Address: Avoca Lodge Avoca Avoca Gurraneragh, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cahersiveen
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing