We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying here was a highpoint of our time in Ireland”
Review of Cul Draiochta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cul Draiochta
Ranked #3 of 18 Cahersiveen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staying here was a highpoint of our time in Ireland”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We felt like family guests instead of tourists at this warm, friendly, comfortable guest house. Hosts Ian and Ann couldn't have been nicer. Our room was large and comfortable, the housekeeping was immaculate. And the meals were unforgettable! For dinner we were served amazing fresh Hake just off the boat, fabulous roast local lamb, salmon chowder (I begged for the recipe), and delicious stuffed chicken breast wrapped in bacon, always with fresh vegetables. Scones with glorious Kerry butter graced afternoon tea in the conservatory, and breakfasts were cooked to order, with all the traditional Irish breakfast choices and more. This is an authentic experience of the best of Ireland.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a view of the sea. Rooms at the front have a view of the lovely flower garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AG-and-DO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann801, Owner at Cul Draiochta, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will return at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
38
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reinbek, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I have known a couple of B&Bs, but this has been the best so far. Booking via the website was absolutely hassle-free. When we arrived Ian made us feel welcome and served us tea and home made Banana-bread. The room was spacious, absolutely clean and well-kept and the view was fantastic. The bathroom was very tidy and had a great shower. We enjoyed a good sleep. The beds were very comfortable and fitted with duvets, which I really prefer to blankets.
In the morning we had a lovely Irish breakfast. There were also things like salmon and scrambled eggs on offer, but we decided to go for the traditional option, which was lovely. The brown bread was especially delicious!
There was a lot of happy family-life going on around the kitchen and conservatory and we met Ann (she had been out when we arrived) and found her a very nice and cheerful lady.
If I ever need accomodation around Cahersiveen again I will definitely return to Cul Draiochta.

Room Tip: The ocean view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristophStempel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann801, Owner at Cul Draiochta, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

On our trip round the Kerry Way we stayed here for three nights. Everything was perfect!
Our room was very comfortable and clean with an amazing view of the sea. The breakfast was delicious with a wide range of food. Our hosts, Ian and Ann, were very warm and welcoming. They organized our unforgettable boat trip to the Skelligs and gave us support and advice to make our stay as much comfortable as it could be.
All the best wishes to Ian, Ann and their family.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge_Andre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann801, Owner at Cul Draiochta, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit to Cul Draiochta. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had a room with sea view! Absolutely beautiful. The room was very very clean and cosy, shower was good. Everything was good in every detail. The landlord was super kind and helpful,she seems really enjoy running her business and especially like taking care of her guests. The breakfast was great too. All in all,we had a super pleasant experience here, and absolute recommend it.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jing G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We (4 adults) spent 3 nights at the Cul Draiochta (magic place/nook?) for a family reunion and loved it. Ann and Ian greeted us at the door and we always felt at home. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. If you are visiting the Ring of Kerry, or Valentia Island or Skellig Island, visit the town of Caherciveen and stay at the Cul Draiochta.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vgiari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We and our friends stayed at some lovely B&B during our recent walk of the Kerry Way, but Ann and Ian's hospitality rises to the top. We stayed here two nights and found them most helpful and accommodating. Food was delicious, conversation stimulating, rooms very nice, grandchildren delightful, and Ian was a very generous chauffeur given the fact that we arrived on foot. This kind of connection is certainly one reason why we find travel so enjoyable.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lehman Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann801, Owner at Cul Draiochta, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We hope to see you again at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed one night and the owners were so friendly and welcoming and really made our stay easy and comfortable. We were travelling with our 10 month old baby and they provided everything we needed for him and we all had a good nights sleep. We had an amazing view from our room it was very well appointed and clean and there was a great selection for breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann801, Owner at Cul Draiochta, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for kind remarks. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Cul Draiochta. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahersiveen
0.5 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.0 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#1 of 18 in Cahersiveen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 18 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.3 mi away
Atlantic Villa
Atlantic Villa
#2 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cul Draiochta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cul Draiochta

Property: Cul Draiochta
Address: Gurranearagh | Co Kerry, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cahersiveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cúl Draíochta Bed & Breakfast, Caherciveen, Kerry is fully equipped with every modern convenience to make your stay with us as comfortable. This includes: - Ensuite bedrooms, available in twin, double or family occupancy- Extensive breakfast menu, evening meals and packed lunch on request- Laundry and drying facilities- Private parking, shed available for fishing and golfing gear- Large landscaped gardens to the front and rear- Wireless Internet access- Spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean and surrounding mountains- Trips to the Skellig Islands arranged- Irish tourist board approved All the rooms are spacious with ensuite facilities. Each room is equipped with power showers, orthopaedic beds, TV, clock/radio alarm and hair dryers. Each room is tastefully furnished and command panoramic views of either the Atlantic or the Beenatee Mountain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cul Draiochta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing