We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home-style atmosphere in a beautiful location!”
Review of Cul Draiochta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cul Draiochta
Ranked #3 of 18 Cahersiveen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful home-style atmosphere in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Ann & Ian are exceptional hosts. Their B & B is truly lovely, offers excellent views, and is quite peaceful. Rooms are decorated nicely, en suite bath is a nice size, with plenty of hot water. Breakfasts are delicious, omelettes are fabulous, especially for vegetarians! This was our second time staying here, and we look forward to our next visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Wanderer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
38
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

After a long, tiring walk with boots that I discovered weren't waterproof, we were warmly welcomed by Ann and Ian, by the fire in a living room, with tea/ coffee and homemade cake. I soon learned that this was not a special treat for new guest, but an everyday occurence culminating in freshly baked scones! There is good range of breakfast, cooked and continental. Depending on the length of the walk we found ourselves having porridge, full Irish accompanied by homemade soda bread! There are pubs and restaurants walking distance but if you want a night in, you feel like a guest at their dinner table: Ann also cooks dinner as well as she bakes bread! Just remember to pick up your alcohol from the nearby supermarket.

Room Tip: The back of the house has the view. (There is obviously no fitness centre - I can't unclick it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaInIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at Cul Draiochta for five nights from September 18-23, 2013. I really enjoyed myself at this Bed & Breakfast. The house was very clean. The Breakfast was fantastic with lots of food and choices. The location was great being on a straight road from downtown. I came to Cahersiveen to cycle, and they were helpful to me in giving me directions to rent a bike, routes to go biking, and letting me store the rented bike in their shed. Cahersiveen was the perfect town for me because I was able to cycle some of the best routes I found in Ireland, and listen to some great Irish Music in the pubs at night especially Mike Mutts. I ate some great evening meals at the Ring of Kerry Hotel thanks to the suggestions from Cul Draiochta. I will always suggest to people going to Ireland to visit Cahersiveen, and to stay at Cul Draiochta. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our stay at Cul Draiochta was wonderful! Ann and Ian are very gracious hosts of this B & B set in the picturesque community of Cahersiveen. Our room was more than sufficient in size and the view was amazing! This served as our starting point of our 2 week adventure in Ireland and became the measure of our future accommodations while on the Emerald Isle. I highly recommend this special place as you enjoy the beauty of County Kerry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view - you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We felt like family guests instead of tourists at this warm, friendly, comfortable guest house. Hosts Ian and Ann couldn't have been nicer. Our room was large and comfortable, the housekeeping was immaculate. And the meals were unforgettable! For dinner we were served amazing fresh Hake just off the boat, fabulous roast local lamb, salmon chowder (I begged for the recipe), and delicious stuffed chicken breast wrapped in bacon, always with fresh vegetables. Scones with glorious Kerry butter graced afternoon tea in the conservatory, and breakfasts were cooked to order, with all the traditional Irish breakfast choices and more. This is an authentic experience of the best of Ireland.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a view of the sea. Rooms at the front have a view of the lovely flower garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AG-and-DO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann801, Owner at Cul Draiochta, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will return at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinbek, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I have known a couple of B&Bs, but this has been the best so far. Booking via the website was absolutely hassle-free. When we arrived Ian made us feel welcome and served us tea and home made Banana-bread. The room was spacious, absolutely clean and well-kept and the view was fantastic. The bathroom was very tidy and had a great shower. We enjoyed a good sleep. The beds were very comfortable and fitted with duvets, which I really prefer to blankets.
In the morning we had a lovely Irish breakfast. There were also things like salmon and scrambled eggs on offer, but we decided to go for the traditional option, which was lovely. The brown bread was especially delicious!
There was a lot of happy family-life going on around the kitchen and conservatory and we met Ann (she had been out when we arrived) and found her a very nice and cheerful lady.
If I ever need accomodation around Cahersiveen again I will definitely return to Cul Draiochta.

Room Tip: The ocean view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristophStempel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann801, Owner at Cul Draiochta, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

On our trip round the Kerry Way we stayed here for three nights. Everything was perfect!
Our room was very comfortable and clean with an amazing view of the sea. The breakfast was delicious with a wide range of food. Our hosts, Ian and Ann, were very warm and welcoming. They organized our unforgettable boat trip to the Skelligs and gave us support and advice to make our stay as much comfortable as it could be.
All the best wishes to Ian, Ann and their family.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge_Andre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann801, Owner at Cul Draiochta, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit to Cul Draiochta. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahersiveen
0.5 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.0 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#1 of 18 in Cahersiveen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 18 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.3 mi away
Atlantic Villa
Atlantic Villa
#2 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cul Draiochta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cul Draiochta

Property: Cul Draiochta
Address: Gurranearagh | Co Kerry, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cahersiveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cúl Draíochta Bed & Breakfast, Caherciveen, Kerry is fully equipped with every modern convenience to make your stay with us as comfortable. This includes: - Ensuite bedrooms, available in twin, double or family occupancy- Extensive breakfast menu, evening meals and packed lunch on request- Laundry and drying facilities- Private parking, shed available for fishing and golfing gear- Large landscaped gardens to the front and rear- Wireless Internet access- Spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean and surrounding mountains- Trips to the Skellig Islands arranged- Irish tourist board approved All the rooms are spacious with ensuite facilities. Each room is equipped with power showers, orthopaedic beds, TV, clock/radio alarm and hair dryers. Each room is tastefully furnished and command panoramic views of either the Atlantic or the Beenatee Mountain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cul Draiochta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing