We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than just a coffee it's great craic!!!”

Helen's Coffee House
Cuisines: Cafe, Irish
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“more than just a coffee it's great craic!!!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Helens coffee house was not only quaint but delicious! we came in November and it was chilly, so we stopped in for some soup. it not only warmed us but it warmed our soul! It's a tiny shop with local feel. Helen is a great woman with a passion and interest in her guests and even sat down with a few people just to ask about how there day was going. I would EXTREMELY recommend this place and it will be a consistent stop on our further trips to Ireland!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dpellerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hueckeswagen, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“chocolate cake, coffee, hot chocolate and so much more”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Every year when I spend my holidays in Ireland I have to visit Helen`s Coffee House in Cahersiveen. She has so great cakes and scones, one of the best hot chocolate with little marshmallows (my kids like it so much) in the hole area of Ballinskelligs. One year, as we stayed 2 weeks in Cahersiveen we had every day a stay in her House, but she hasn`t got a choclate cake and we asked every day and then on our last day she said that she has made a cake only for us - how great.

The Helen`s Coffe House is a little restaurant in the middle of Cahersiveen settled in the Main Street. The service is excelent and friendly. The food is awesome and all drinks are tasty. You need a sandwich or a vegetable soup with the best bread ever? If you are ever here in this area you must visit Helen. In my opinion this Coffee House must announce in every touristic information.

I say it again : This is a "MUST DO" place, make a STOPP at Helen`s

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rene_Lederle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Craic!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We called in here one day whilst on holiday recently on Valentia Island. Helen is a very bubbly and funny host. Lovely food and a good craic. We WILL be back!!

Karen & Ian

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThatNiceCouple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Had a light lunch here, was a little over priced for a toasted sandwich & filling was very disappointing, more onion than chicken but it filled until dinner time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nancydrew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I've been in nicer places”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The toilet in this cafe were so old it was scary, you had to go to an outdoor part to go to the bathroom, i felt the place needed a good clean it felt grubby. I really enjoyed the staff they were lovely and friendly but the building seemed filthy and i felt uncomfortable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kate993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helen's Coffee House also viewed

Cahersiveen, County Kerry
 
Cahersiveen, County Kerry
Cahersiveen, County Kerry
 

Been to Helen's Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing