We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great home to relax with family”
other travellers have booked this property
The Stunning Beaches & Coves of South Kerry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stunning Beaches & Coves of South Kerry
Big & Beautiful. A Gem of an Irish Cottage with plenty of space & easy walking distance to town Well appointed Master Bedroom with Walk in Wardrobe and Ensuite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Stunning Beaches & Coves of South Kerry
Big & Beautiful. A Gem of an Irish Cottage with plenty of space & easy walking distance to town
Well appointed Master Bedroom with Walk in Wardrobe and Ensuite
Choose a book, play chess, Relax in our Great Room
Top of the morning in Valentia. Peace & Tranquility
Ballycarbery Castle, 5 minutes from your door
Your Reading Spot
Luke Skywalker's Island. Skellig Michael
Modern Kitchen, fully equipped
Kerry has World Class Golf courses
Very comfortable TV room
Perfect base for visiting the Skellig UNESCO World Heritage site
Have Coffee in the lovely Sunroom
Welcome to the Gathering
We are just over the bridge from the town of Cahersiveen
Upstairs Bedroom with Mountain Views
View from Upstairs
Ground Floor Master Bedroom with EnSuite
Beautiful Ballinskelligs, one of many nearby beaches
Valentia island lighthouse, try it for a picnic
Cahergal, 1000 year old Stone Forts, just around the corner from the house
Views of water & Valentia island at front, view of mountains to the rear
Plenty of Space for friends & family
Land on the Skelligs, just as the Vikings did and visit the ancient monastery. RECOMMENDED
The Monastery 700 feet above the waves, 8 miles /12 kms out in the Atlantic Ocean
Cute Puffin birds abound on the Skellig during the summer months
Your Home from Home in Ireland
The Single Bedroom
All Bedrooms are beautifully appointed
The Anchor in Cahersiveen town
This region is stunning when the sun shines down
Explore nearby Valentia island
Beach riding on Rossbeigh Strand
Hillwalking above Cahersiveen
Ancient, Celtic & Historical monuments are abundant
Our location. We are convenient for countryside and town
Ireland is a child friendly vacation destination. Children are welcome everywhere
Your home from home is the one just below the car.
Come Stay Awhile
Festival Week Recital in the Cahergal Stone Fort
We look forward to Welcoming You to South Kerry
The gorgeous panoramas of the Ring of Kerry
Discover Ireland, at your own pace
Walk, cycle or go on horseback through the Gap of Dunloe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cahersiveen, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kathy W
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great home to relax with family”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I met our daughter, her husband and our 8 year old grandson, who are living in Nigeria, in Ireland and decided to stay at The Gathering for 13 days. We had a wonderful time. The house had plenty of room for all of us and was well equipped with all the necessities. The owner, Vivienne, met us when we arrived and showed up around the house. She also brought us a lovely basket filled with bread, butter, jam, and other treats. There was coffee and milk for us so we didn't need to go to the store for breakfast items.

Vivienne and her husband, Ger, put together a very informative booklet with things to do in the area, restaurants to check out and hikes to take. The location was great for visiting Valentia Island, Dingle Peninsula, the Ring of Kerry and other historical and beautiful sites. When not our touring, we enjoyed just being together playing games or visiting.

I would recommend this home to anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle. The town of Cahersiveen had several god restaurants and cafes plus there are many good places to eat nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home was comfortable,location was great and Vivienne and Ger were wonderful to work with.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
Thank you Ron & Kathy. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the house & your visit to Ireland. You were very welcome guests. Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdev
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Holiday Home”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This spacious house is perfect for a family holiday. We traveled with our four children (aged 2 - 18 years old) and we all had a fantastic time.

There is a homely feel to Vivienne and Ger's house that you don't get in most holiday rental properties. The house has everything you could want - from nespresso coffee and dishwasher tablets in the kitchen to wifi, board games and a nintendo wii in the living room.

The house is very comfortable - clean and well maintained. It is ideal for children of all ages. There is a large garden for them to play in and they can use the bikes and scooters that the owners have kindly made available.

Cahersiveen itself is a great location with plenty of places to eat and drink. I would recommend reading the information book that that has been written for house guests. It contains many recommendations which helped us plan our holiday activities. Our trip to the Skelligs Chocolate Factory was a particular highlight for our family of chocoholics :)

Our only regret on this holiday was that we didn't have longer to stay and explore more of Kerry. We would return to Cahersiveen and this beautiful holiday home without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and comfort in this holiday home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I wish I lived here!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Vivienne and Ger were absolutely wonderful. (And so was their beautiful home!)

I had never rented from a homeowner before, so I wasn't sure of how comfortable I would be about the whole process, but Vivienne and Ger were so easy to work with and responded so quickly to all of our questions before our arrival.

Ger met us at the house and gave us the grand tour. We couldn't believe how spacious and bright it was. My parents stayed in one of the large bedrooms on the first floor and my sister and I each had our own room on the 2nd floor. (Some welcomed privacy after sharing tiny hotel rooms across Ireland!!)

Ger and Vivenne even left us some delicious snacks and eggs, bread and butter which we ate every morning with our coffee.

Before he left, Ger told us about some fun things to do in the area and mapped out some nice walks we could take. My sister and I took advantage of that local intel and went on gorgeous walks every morning.

Overall, the house was perfect for us. We have family in the area and we were able to invite them all over to our "home away from home." It was so nice to live in the town for a little bit and feel like we were one of the neighbors. Next time we head back to Cahersiveen, I'll definitely try to rent this house again.. hopefully it will be available!

Oh and before I forget.. we traveled into Ireland after being in London and I forgot my hat in the London hotel room! The hotel was nice enough to send the hat onto Cahersiveen, but it arrived after we were back in New York. Vivienne and Ger took care of it for me and shipped it to my home in NY. Thanks to them my hat got to experience the same trip I did, just a few weeks behind!

Thank you Vivienne and Ger!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house had so much space and was very comfortable.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the location - easy access to town and day trips
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Izzards
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An ideal family holiday home in a perfect setting!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned home from a truly great weeks holiday here!
8 of our family (ranging from age 7 to 99) fitted very comfortably into this fantastic house. It was well equipped with everything you can think of down to wet suits and bikes! We all felt completely at home there!
There are plenty of living areas and so it felt very spacious. Most bedrooms have en-suites. It’s very safe for the children to play outside. Town is only minutes away down a path to the river and over a picturesque bridge where you can see seals!
Perfectly situated to visit all the beautiful places that Kerry has to offer and surrounded by stunning views.
Thank you Vivienne and Ger for everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alloverth...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family house”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Other reviews have said it, but the place is great, and Viv and Ger are as well. They go over and above to make sure you have everything you need, and the tips and suggestions they made were great too. We travelled with two teenagers and having all the space to spread out we needed and wifi made this the best stop on our 16 day tour of England and Ireland. We're wondering when we can manage to get back there. You won't be sorry you booked it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location. Nice walks right from the door.
Liked least: Took us several days to find the hair dryer.... not a big problem at all....
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing